Old 06-02-07, 10:04   #1

Kenny will become famous soon enough
Unhappy ON THIS DAY: 5yrs ago Yogi again....

ON THIS DAY:

Wednesday 06 Feb 2002

Hibernian vs Ayr United (0 (0) - 1(0)) : [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

Old 06-02-07, 10:10   #2

Re: ON THIS DAY: 5yrs ago Yogi again....

ON THIS DAY:

Wednesday 06 Feb 2002

Hibernian vs Ayr United (0 (0) - 1(0)) : [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
5 years ago but i still feel the pain..

Killed Sauzee as manager this result IMO..
Old 06-02-07, 10:11   #3

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Aye, but it was a cracking afternoon in the horsehoe bar

FRANCK SAUZEES GREEN AND WHITE ARMY

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 10:41   #4

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

One of THE worst Hibs performances ever. Those of us who braved the freezing cauld to watch that complete cowpat of a game were robbed. And as usual, the pishy team who eliminated us got a severe hiding in the final. pointless
Old 06-02-07, 10:50   #5

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

This was one of Hibs worst result's ever, to lose a cup semi against a team we should have blown away, particularly with the players we had. A shocking evening.
Old 06-02-07, 11:26   #6
The Sober Radge

Boozy Lynne is on the way to a first team debut

ON THIS DAY:

Wednesday 06 Feb 2002

Gonnae no dae that
Boozy Lynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 11:33   #7

Hogg4Captain is on the way to a first team debut

hibs support to that game was terable aswell...
Hogg4Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 11:34   #8

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

hibs support to that game was terable aswell...

I don't recall any significant singing after the first hour from us, those Ayr lads put us to shame in that respect.
Thanks again to GJP for insisting the semi be played there while he was still our boss.
Old 06-02-07, 11:49   #9

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Unquestionably the worst Hibs game I've ever been to and that includes losing to the scum. After my mate Dave - who being born in Paisley reckons he knows Glasgow better than me even though I lived there for a year and had been to Hampden at least a dozen times before - takes us for a 2 hour detour around various streets that "look familiar, it's this way lads", we arrive 10 minutes into the most inept display imaginable. Seriously if you thought minutes 4 to 80 against St Johnstone were as bad as you can get then you never saw this "game". Why we never left at 90 minutes is a bit of a mystery as it was clear to all that Hibs couldn't muster three passes let alone a decent shot on goal.

Would Le God have made a decent manager in the long run? I think if he'd stayed Hibs would have improved but I also think he'd have brought in players that would have bankrupted us. Still think the whole episode shows Hibs at their worst - terrible boardroom decisions, players who didn't seem too bothered, fans following their heart over their head and a piss poor support at a Semi-Final. All part of the joys of following the cabbage though.
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 22:53   #10

PaddyBarry is on the way to a first team debut

Aye, but it was a cracking afternoon in the horsehoe bar

FRANCK SAUZEES GREEN AND WHITE ARMY
Sure was Bobby- do you remember the random woman (who happened to be my hairdresser when I lived through there) claiming that her distant relative played for the last Hibs team to win the Scottish Cup?! Bonkers.

This was the coldest I have ever been at a football match. Hibs wore that manky purple monstrosity and had as many chances to score as a hermit has names in his address book.

Train journey back to Edinburgh would have been deadly were it not for the fact that my brother told me the funniest story ever and I almost had a hernia laughing at it. Got back to Edinburgh and went to the blinking Subway on Lothian Road, gave myself a huge hangover and I woke up the next morning to the sound of my Dad falling out of the attic!

Truly radge.

P
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 23:23   #11

This was undoubtedly the worst performance I have ever seen from a Hibs team in a big match, and probaly in any match. A terrible night all round. It was bloody freezing for one thing, there were hardly any fans there, and I doubt whether Hibs managed to string three passes together all night.

A Yogi inspired Ayr United played out of their skins, and well into extra time got the penalty which deservedly took them through to the inevitable OF humping in the final. Franck Sauzee was quoted after the game as saying he felt like he was watching a "ghost team", and praised the fitness, inspiration, and determination of the then 38 year old John Hughes as an example to his own team.

I was absolutely gutted after that game, and it definately spelt the end of Franck Sauzee's ill-fated reign as Hibs manager.
Old 07-02-07, 00:30   #12

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Sure was Bobby- do you remember the random woman (who happened to be my hairdresser when I lived through there) claiming that her distant relative played for the last Hibs team to win the Scottish Cup?! Bonkers.

This was the coldest I have ever been at a football match. Hibs wore that manky purple monstrosity and had as many chances to score as a hermit has names in his address book.

Train journey back to Edinburgh would have been deadly were it not for the fact that my brother told me the funniest story ever and I almost had a hernia laughing at it. Got back to Edinburgh and went to the blinking Subway on Lothian Road, gave myself a huge hangover and I woke up the next morning to the sound of my Dad falling out of the attic!

Truly radge.

P
Paddy, I do remember that. I seem to think it was Bossie & Mikey G who got her life story.

I had forgotten how cold it was though. I remember now.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote