Collins or Mowbray
After a lenthy discussion in the pub I'm still at wits end over the two.
Collins obviously doesnae have a lot of time under his belt but seems to have a better understanding of a clean sheet mowbray's football and philosophy was par wi the best but aren't we playing just as good football now??? JC or TM?? What do you think? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation. - Plato Fear is the path to the dark side... fear leads to anger... anger leads to hate.. hate leads to suffering. - Yoda DAVID McLETCHIE, THE THEN TORY LEADER, SAID HE OBJECTED TO MR.McKAY'S APPOINTMENT, AND NOT JUST BECAUSE THEY SUPPORTED RIVAL FOOTBALL SIDES. HOWEVER, HE PROMISED TO MONITOR THE FREQUENCY WITH WHICH THE NUMBERS 6 AND 2 APPEAR IN ANGUS'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THAT WAS A REFERENCE TO A FAMOUS SCORELINE FEATURING MR, McKAY'S TEAM (HIBERNIAN) OVER McLETCHIE'S TEAM (HEARTS). FOR THOSE OF YOU OUT OF THE LOOP ON EDINBURGH SOCCER MATTERS ALLOW ME TO FURNISH THE FOLLOWING IMPARTIAL EXPLANATION: HEARTS ARE A DARK AND DINGY OUTFIT, REDOLENT OF THE 1950s IN THEIR GRIM MAROON SHIRTS. HIBERNIAN, ON THE OTHER HAND, ARE A TEAM OF POETS AND PHILOSOPHERS FROM THE SUNNY UPLANDS OF LEITH, DRESSED IN A SHIMMERING EMERALD GREEN TOPS THAT SPEAK OF FREEDOM AND WORLD PEACE. ...........the scotsman oct 2001. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
Re: Collins or Mowbray
John Collins!
btw what does ditto mean, cause if it means agree then Ditto! :YAYYY:
vCash: 500 Thanks: 9
John Collins for me....You always have to support the man in charge not someone who is away down with WBA.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We are hibernian fc , we hate jam tarts and we hate dundee we will fight wherever we will be, because we are the mental HFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The only team to sing about, the only team to see, the only team in Edinburgh, HibernianFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. In your Gorgie slums, you rake the bucket for something to eat, you find a dead rat and you think its a treat, in your Gorgie Slums To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Capital Greens Needs You
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
always wondered that To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. hopefully we can get n answer soon then. :YAYYY:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
I'll go with Collins, I think for the most part the football is every bit as good and there are a few games we have won under collins that I feel we would have lost under Mowbray, we are starting to learn how to grind out results when we have to. One thing that really annoyed me about Mowbray was that statement of his about it not mattering about losing as long as the performance level was good. I prefer the way we press the ball more when we don't have it instead of sitting back, also the way JC isn't scared to make changes during the game, there were a lot of times were Mowbray left it far too late to make any difference. Mowbray was also to willing to stick with players who were not performing. There will be games like inverness but we had those under Mowbray too.
I think JC is already getting more out of the players than TM did. Probably this is partly due to greater focus on physical fitness but I also believe JC has instilled a bit of "grit" in the side. Whilst I wouldn't want to give JC all the credit, Ivan Sproule and Benji, to name but two, have toughened up and added much more to their repertoires since Collins arrived. Whittaker is also, IMHO, a vastly improved player who seems to have an added bit of "dig" about him recently. We seem to be losing the "We'll win more games than we lose" mentality of Mowbray's reign and replacing it with the fortress mentality. Collins is renowned throughout the game and the media as "a nice guy" but I think he has shown recently he is not afraid to make tough decisions and, given time, will stamp his authority on the side. I am confident he will bring silverware to Easter Road this season and improve on our league performance next season. So it's Johnny Be Good for me although credit must go to Tony Mowbray for laying the foundations and rekindling interest in the side.
Poker radge Sitting With Pocket Aces
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Mowbray just used us a stepping stone collins is a hibs man so it has to be collins for me.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2006
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
Exactly! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
John Collins but Mowbray transformed us from a bottom 6 team to a top 6 team so you have to respect him for that.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. WELCOME HOME DEEKS |
but to play devil's advocate, was hibs under tony not more than just results? it was a whole footballing philosophy a scheme inplanted in all hibbys that despite win lose or draw we turned up and played the best damn football the world has ever seen??
Fast Flowing, attack minded football anyone??
You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation. - Plato Fear is the path to the dark side... fear leads to anger... anger leads to hate.. hate leads to suffering. - Yoda DAVID McLETCHIE, THE THEN TORY LEADER, SAID HE OBJECTED TO MR.McKAY'S APPOINTMENT, AND NOT JUST BECAUSE THEY SUPPORTED RIVAL FOOTBALL SIDES. HOWEVER, HE PROMISED TO MONITOR THE FREQUENCY WITH WHICH THE NUMBERS 6 AND 2 APPEAR IN ANGUS'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THAT WAS A REFERENCE TO A FAMOUS SCORELINE FEATURING MR, McKAY'S TEAM (HIBERNIAN) OVER McLETCHIE'S TEAM (HEARTS). FOR THOSE OF YOU OUT OF THE LOOP ON EDINBURGH SOCCER MATTERS ALLOW ME TO FURNISH THE FOLLOWING IMPARTIAL EXPLANATION: HEARTS ARE A DARK AND DINGY OUTFIT, REDOLENT OF THE 1950s IN THEIR GRIM MAROON SHIRTS. HIBERNIAN, ON THE OTHER HAND, ARE A TEAM OF POETS AND PHILOSOPHERS FROM THE SUNNY UPLANDS OF LEITH, DRESSED IN A SHIMMERING EMERALD GREEN TOPS THAT SPEAK OF FREEDOM AND WORLD PEACE. ...........the scotsman oct 2001. |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
defo Collins
What a stupid thread. Both for me.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Mowbray had the harder task, pulling the club back up from the position that Moonface left us in.
Ask the question again once Collins has built his own team and judge him on that.
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Exactly. Collins has only continued the good work that Mowbray started. We were p!sh until Mowbray came here. Collins has started well. Let's hope it continues To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JC has a bit to go before he makes the impact on us that Mogga did in the second half of 2004..
A Cup win though would go far JC!! |
It is too early to make such a call to be honest. How can we really compare them when JC has only really just gotten his feet under the table?
Mogga turned our listing club around. JC seems to have something special about him in everything he does. He is the man who had the baws to take a penalty and score against Brazil in an opening match in a WC Finals. He is the man who actually made a successful transition when moving abroad adapted, absorbed and flourished. Fluent in football and French. Team mate of Henry, Tigana, Trezeguet and Papin...and not out of place. An increasing bit of me is now beginning to believe that he will be equally intelligent, sophisticated and successful as a manager. I think he has certain attributes Mogga does not - his presentation of JC the Person is absolutely immaculate. Underneath the calm, sophisticated charm lies a steely mentality of a winner, the experience and confidence of a former Henry team mate and a toughness that seems more determined than his predecessor (see his comments about people who are not Hibs players playing for Hibs being unacceptable to him. Caldwell's captaincy would not have continued under JC the way it did under Mogga I suspect) Too soon to judge imho. Win silverware next month and this thread suddenly becomes very relevant though.
Get it up ye ya radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Superb post that man. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.