Old 14-01-07, 20:10   #1

Stanton function in Belfast - final details added

Bigger than ever Hibby celebration for Belfast:YAYYY:

**FINAL DETAILS:

- Special guests likely to be attending are Billy Hunter, Alan Gordon, Jackie MacNamara and Stan Vincent. Please note that the list of special guests attending can change. Guest of Honour Mr Pat Stanton is, of course, confirmed as attending.

- A five aside match is being arranged for the Saturday (on an outdoor all weather pitch or indoor hall depending on the weather). All guests welcome.

- A pub crawl is likely to be held for all guests still in Belfast (and still standing!) on the Saturday, meeting at 7.30pm. Listen out for confirmation of details on the night or speak to Conor.

- Some tickets for event are still available. Please spread the word to anyone you know who was thinking of coming across but has not booked theirs yet.

Raffle and auction prizes are very welcome, just bring them along on the night.

See you in Belfast!

Hibs legend Pat Stanton is bound for Belfast as part of a Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters’ Club celebration in his honour.

The Tribute to Pat Stanton event, to be held on Friday June 1st, will draw Hibs fans from across the UK and Ireland to the city.

Thanks to Hibs’ increasing profile in Northern Ireland, a growing supporters’ club membership and the success of previous local events, ticket sales have passed all expectations and organisers expect to sell out their 175-capacity social club function hall.

This will make the celebration Northern Ireland Hibs’ biggest annual event to date. It follows a Tribute to Lawrie Reilly function last year, and a Tribute to Eddie Turnbull event in 2005. The celebration in Eddie Turnbull’s honour raised £800 for the Hibernian Former Players' Association.

The informal event starts at 7.30pm in a social club close to Belfast city centre and will feature entertainment including a live band, a raffle/ auction of Hibs items in aid of Northern Ireland Hibs funds and a collection in aid of the Dnipro orphanage appeal.

Guests will also have a chance to meet a number of very special guests, with more details to be announced closer to the event.

Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters’ Club Chairman Ned Kelly urged those who want to attend to buy their tickets while they are still available: “We noticed that advance orders, from those who had been across to our previous functions, were pouring in before our tickets were even printed.

“We certainly appreciate the support, and would point out that, due to the buzz which is surrounding this year’s event, there’s never been a better time for a Hibby to make the first trip across.

“Of course, it’s an incredible honour for us to pay tribute to Pat. We’ll be working hard to make sure that he - and all our guests - have a night to remember,” he said.

The HSA-affiliated Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters’ Club - or nihibs.com - was founded in 2001 and meets regularly for TV games, trips to Easter Road, player presentations and social events.

Tickets cost just £5 and are now available, contact [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] for details. Raffle/ auction prizes are very welcome.

Last edited by Northern Ireland Hibby; 15-05-07 at 10:49.
Old 15-01-07, 00:05   #2
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Big Hibs night in Belfast - book early

Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters' Club is proud to announce that the one and only

St. Pat Stanton

will be Guest of Honour at this year's NI Hibs functionin Belfast on Friday 1st June, 2007.

By popular demand, the event will again be held at the Cyprus Street social club, Grosvenor Road (which offers social club drink prices), and we hope to welcome back Belfast's only Hibs-sympathising band - Saffron!

Further special guests are likely to be confirmed at a later date: previous guests include Sir Eddie Turnbull, Lawrie Reilly, Alan Gordon, Tommy Preston and Jackie Macnamara. A pub crawl is also likely to be held on Saturday 2nd for those who haven't visited some of Belfast's fantastic pubs yet.

This event looks set to break our previous record of bringing 150 Bouncing Hibbys together in 2005 for a great night of Hibby excess!

Bouncers should book their flights early before prices rise. Tickets for the event will cost just £5, and will be available soon.

* Our sincere thanks to all those Hibbys who have already booked their flights to come across - to you, and all those who attend - we appreciate your support.

There are pics from previous NI Hibs dos in the Bounce gallery dos to show first time travellers what to expect!

Bump........Conor get one of the admins tae sticky this mate. Looks great.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-07, 00:32   #3
The Sober Radge

Boozy Lynne is on the way to a first team debut

What hotel is everyone going for?

We're going for the Days Inn, same as last year. £65 a night, bar stayed open a wee bit later for us last year as well. Flybe flights are £50 each from the Friday to the Sunday. Flights are free! Just need to pay the tax - that's to City as well!

Getting booked as I speak

Last edited by Boozy Lynne; 15-01-07 at 00:47.
Boozy Lynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-07, 01:04   #4
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

We're going for the Days Inn, same as last year. £65 a night, bar stayed open a wee bit later for us last year as well. Flybe flights are £50 each from the Friday to the Sunday. Flights are free! Just need to pay the tax - that's to City as well!

Done!

£103.92 for the flights once they'd stuck a charge on for using switch (more with credit card) ... but done all the same!:YAYYY:

Lix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-07, 01:18   #5

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Myself,TattooedHibee,Gunner and Mrs Gunner are booked on Easyjet,£57 to the impresive sounding International airport.£5 each in a taxi to city center.
No hotel as yet.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
22 days 5 hours 29 minutes

Last edited by PILTONSTANY; 15-01-07 at 01:25.
PILTONSTANY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-07, 06:48   #6

Thanks for the early bookings all - really appreciate the support. Anything you can all to do spread the word would be appreciated as well - we'd like the place to be packed for Pat.

(Although, I reckon this year's function is going to be the biggest and baddest yet in any case
)

And thanks for the sticky admins

Last edited by Northern Ireland Hibby; 15-01-07 at 07:14.
Old 15-01-07, 07:11   #7

That's a good find Boozy - and the beautifully named George Best City Airport is much closer to the city centre than the international airport.

It's also in the same end of town as Georgie's grave and some of the murals dedicated to him if anyone wants to ask their taxi driver to go past them on the way into town

BTW, cheers to a couple of Bouncers for the PMs asking for advice about different hotels, things to do etc - keep them coming, I'm happy to help

And mind and keep the Saturday night free for a Hibby pub crawl all.

Old 15-01-07, 18:38   #8

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Heres the options flight wise

Flybe flights on the friday

Depart 07:10
Arrive 08:05

Depart 09:50
Arrive 10:40

Depart 16:15*
Arrive 17:10

Depart 18:55
Arrive 19:45

Sun 03 Jun 2007

Depart 11:00
Arrive 11:50

Depart 17:35*
Arrive 18:30

Depart 20:10
Arrive 21:00

Easyjet flights on the Friday

dep. 06:25, arr. 07:15

flight 486
dep. 13:50, arr. 14:40*

flight 488
dep. 16:50, arr. 17:40

flight 492
dep. 19:55, arr. 20:45

Sunday

flight 485
dep. 11:20, arr. 12:10

flight 487
dep. 15:25, arr. 16:15*

flight 489
dep. 18:15, arr. 19:05

flight 493
dep. 21:40, arr. 22:30

*The flights we're booked on

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
22 days 5 hours 29 minutes
PILTONSTANY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-07, 18:53   #9

Heres the options flight wise

Flybe flights on the friday

Depart 07:10
Arrive 08:05

Depart 09:50
Arrive 10:40

Depart 16:15*
Arrive 17:10

Depart 18:55
Arrive 19:45

Sun 03 Jun 2007

Depart 11:00
Arrive 11:50

Depart 17:35*
Arrive 18:30

Depart 20:10
Arrive 21:00

Easyjet flights on the Friday

dep. 06:25, arr. 07:15

flight 486
dep. 13:50, arr. 14:40*

flight 488
dep. 16:50, arr. 17:40

flight 492
dep. 19:55, arr. 20:45

Sunday

flight 485
dep. 11:20, arr. 12:10

flight 487
dep. 15:25, arr. 16:15*

flight 489
dep. 18:15, arr. 19:05

flight 493
dep. 21:40, arr. 22:30

*The flights we're booked on

Cheers M

For the busier Sleazyjet flights there should be plenty of Hibbys around for taxi-sharing.

The Flybe flights into the George Best City airport leave you much closer to Belfast city centre but can be dearer. Boozy Lynne mentioned that flights with FlyBe are going at the moment for £50, which is a bargain.

Old 20-01-07, 18:06   #10

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

im turning 30
on 31st may so my other half is booking this weekend up to go to this. priced £100 for flights for 2 which is good with flybe from fri morn/sun afternoon and travel lodge for £135 for 2 nights. should be a good one. is there a pub crawl on the saturday then.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-07, 23:38   #11

im turning 30
on 31st may so my other half is booking this weekend up to go to this. priced £100 for flights for 2 which is good with flybe from fri morn/sun afternoon and travel lodge for £135 for 2 nights. should be a good one. is there a pub crawl on the saturday then.
Thanks for booking up

In previous years we've had a pub crawl on the Saturday and, as long as the committee agree, I'd be keen to have one this year. Belfast has some class wee pubs after all

Old 21-01-07, 00:08   #12

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

this all sounds great. is the travel lodge quite central. ?. i was going to go to prague but a weekend in belfast with a bunch of hibbys sounds much better im lucky the other half is into hibs otherwise im sure i wouldnae be going. not booked up yet but will next friday. cant see there being much change in the prices. i was in belfast in 95 with my work at the time and loved it. whats the licensing hours like over there and can you smoke lol

cheers conor

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-07, 09:52   #13

this all sounds great. is the travel lodge quite central. ?. i was going to go to prague but a weekend in belfast with a bunch of hibbys sounds much better im lucky the other half is into hibs otherwise im sure i wouldnae be going. not booked up yet but will next friday. cant see there being much change in the prices. i was in belfast in 95 with my work at the time and loved it. whats the licensing hours like over there and can you smoke lol

cheers conor
The Travelodge is as close to the venue as you can get, and is almost in the city centre. It's very well located and surrounded by decent boozers in all directions!

Like you say, I'd book ASAP - Lynne found a cracking deal with FlyBe of £50 return into City Airport, which won't last long.

The licensing hours are 1am for pubs/ clubs and 3am for most clubs BUT if you've got a bit of a thirst on just come and see me and we'll find you somewhere

The smoking ban doesn't come into effect until March/ April I'm afraid, but at first it might not be 100% observered (especially after-hours) outside the city centre in the locals spots.

Thanks for the support
You'll have a great night.

Mind and stick about for the Saturday night too if you can, since (subject to the planning committee giving me the OK), I was going to take a few people to some of the better wee pubs around Belfast.

Old 22-01-07, 12:07   #14

Here's a few lines I've put together as wee taste of what's to come for those coming across to Belfast (and hopefully persuade a few more to get booked up as well
)

‘Mon on over: a Hibby’s guide to visiting Belfast

For many people visiting Dublin is a treat to really look forward to: good boozers, great craic, relaxation, excess and an escape from it all.

But if you happen to find yourself in Temple Bar you’re more likely to find soul-less pubs, poor service, Icelandic prices, petty rules, swarms of tourists and snarling bouncers on pub doorways. Hardly the postcard image of Ireland.

Belfast will, very soon, start to look like a ‘Nordie’ version of Temple Bar. Which is why the clued-up among the Cabbage support should consider Belfast as the destination for their next drinking weekend or wee family break. Come to think of it, many supporters have already done so.

And that’s why you should get your flights booked while Belfast is still, well, Belfast.

For one very good reason, us Belfast people like to play host. And that goes for the members of our beloved Northern Ireland Hibs Supporters’ Club too: we like to help out with pub/ club/ things to do recommendations, cheap digs if needed and maybe a lift or two. At worst, you can usually find a thirsty NI Hibs member in Belfast city at any given time, and he or she wil be happy to lift and jar and welcome you to our fine city.

In fact, if you are in town for one of our monthly get-togethers on the first Wednesday or each month, or a TV game, you might get to start your holiday with a Hibby drinking session.

The next day, we’ll help you find a good few decent pubs in Belfast city centre where they’ll be happy to service and maintain your hangover. And we’re talking about good, old pubs which haven’t been bought over and cloned yet. And you might even find a streetwise local or NI Hibs member to take you to the bad, old social clubs. Just make sure your guide really is streetwise and trustworthy. Otherwise stick to the city centre.

A much safer way to rubber-neck at Belfast’s murderous past comes in the form of a local black taxi tour (there’s a great irony in this if you scratch the surface). These can be organised by contacting the Belfast Welcome Centre near the magnificent City Hall.

There’s plenty of sport to watch, too: from the local teams (you’ll get a warm welcome to Cliftonville’s wee ground) to GAA sports at Casement Park and Norn Iron games at Windsor Park.

Like most Scottish cities, club colours and shouting about the Cabbage can’t be recommended unless you’re pretty sure of your location and company. Bear in mind that many NI folk only just learning to separate politics from football, and they’ve a long way to go. They’re also surprisingly ignorant about Scottish football despite the countless Old Firm shirts.

This aside, the absolute great-big-thing number one tip is to keep your views on local politics to yourself. Yes, you might bump into Yanks who struggle to do this. And, yes, we know you’ve been reading for years all about how us muck savages have been knocking lumps out of each other. But if the solution was that easy to find, do you not think it would have occurred to us by now. It is more likely that your grand revelation is likely to cause offence, or worse, when you inadvertently announce it to the whole pub.

There are also any number of decent restaurants and new hotels in Belfast, as well as plenty of ’West End’ type bars for trendy people with three haircuts in one. Not to mention a load of decent nightclubs to boot.

Once you’ve drunk Belfast dry, you’ll find plenty to do elsewhere in Northern Ireland, from a visit to the Giant’s Causeway and Antrim Glens to a trip to unspoilt Donegal. Although, to be honest, Donegal isn’t officially part of Northern Ireland, but no one lives there to object so I’m claiming it.

So next time you’re planning a trip to Dublin, or even Ballingarry, stop off for a night or two in Belfast and the North first - and make sure you drop us a line to let us know you’re on your way.

Last edited by Northern Ireland Hibby; 22-01-07 at 15:15.
Old 29-01-07, 21:12   #15
The Sober Radge

Just checked the FlyBe website and the flights have gone down by a fiver each! Typical.
Old 29-01-07, 21:16   #16

Just checked the FlyBe website and the flights have gone down by a fiver each! Typical.

Unlucky Lynne!

You can try and cover your losses by buying loads and loads of NI Hibs raffle tickets at the do

Old 29-01-07, 21:33   #17
The Sober Radge

Unlucky Lynne!

You can try and cover your losses by buying loads and loads of NI Hibs raffle tickets at the do

I bought about £25 worth last year
I had so many they wouldn't all fit on the table so I had to start using the seats

Still, at least I won a bottle of Jack Daniels, which I subsequently lost!
Old 29-01-07, 22:25   #18

k.manson is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Big Hibs n