Old 04-01-07, 18:09   #1

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut
fao blue toon

which pub in peterheid would you recommend to watch the cup game next week? i don't want to cause a riot when hibs score.
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 18:11   #2

Re: fao blue toon

which pub in peterheid would you recommend to watch the cup game next week? i don't want to cause a riot when hibs score.
The Palace Hotel

Old 04-01-07, 18:12   #3

The Palace Hotel

there's obviously a story. please enlighten. going from experience, pubs with 'royal' names were never a good idea.
Old 04-01-07, 19:50   #4

greencol will become famous soon enough

there's obviously a story. please enlighten. going from experience, pubs with 'royal' names were never a good idea.

Ah yes.

The Greenman & the 147 break!:YAYYY:

Amazing what 2 gallons o' Guinness can do!

Old 04-01-07, 20:26   #5

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Ah yes.

The Greenman & the 147 break!:YAYYY:

Amazing what 2 gallons o' Guinness can do!

Screw right back min

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 20:30   #6

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Jimmy, If you're in Peterheid, why no just go to the game?
The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 20:32   #7

Jimmy, If you're in Peterheid, why no just go to the game?
cos i'm working. i won't get finished 'til about 7. do you not think i'd already thought that.
Old 04-01-07, 20:34   #8

cos i'm working. i won't get finished 'til about 7. do you not think i'd already thought that.
Sneak away early man. The boss will never know!
Old 04-01-07, 20:37   #9

Sneak away early man. The boss will never know!
he might. it's me.
Old 04-01-07, 20:40   #10

he might. it's me.
Ah ken, that's why I said it!!
Old 04-01-07, 20:43   #11

Ah ken, that's why I said it!!

Old 04-01-07, 21:29   #12

Jimmy,

Peterheid has its fair share of nutters but not too many St Johnstone supporters so you should be ok in the Palace as Paddy says - aye that's the same Palace Hotel and the same Paddy who, at the top of his voice, called Henrik Larsson a "divin' bassa" in a lounge full of Celtic supporters and lived to tell the tale. Full story of his visit below (reprinted by kind permissiion, blah blah):

The North East town of Peterhead was placed firmly on the map yesterday when, hard on the heels of Bartok’s tour, another Hibernian legend graced the Northern Abyss with his presence. During a visit to inaugurate the new Burnside Business Centre, Sir Patrick Meehan OMS threw caution to the wind and risked life and limb to avert a potential disaster, the scale of which had not been seen since Aunt Mabel caught her left tit in the mangle in 1972.

Workers at the site stared in disbelief as Sir Patrick threw himself on top of a live gas main in an attempt to stop a leak which threatened to wipe out the town. Even the Skivin Cooncil Radge himself, Greencol, was impressed by Sir Patrick’s knowledge of the industry as he dispatched workers in all directions in search of a specialist tool. “He kept shoutin’ for this tool, but ah’ve been a plumber for thirty years and ah’ve nivver even heard o’ a Getty Fork!”

Several hours later, Sir Patrick stepped out and declared the area safe. As the emergency services stood down, he calmly told a grateful Site Manager “Nae borra, son. If all else fails, batter feck oot ay it wi’ a 24 inch stilson.” When asked for his opinion on the cause of the gas leak, Sir Patrick blamed inferior pipe fittings supplied by a little-known Italian firm, Foc di Fano.

In the evening, Sir Patrick shunned the offer of a Civic Reception at the Council Chambers, preferring to spend the evening in the Palace Hotel, watching 10-man Anderlecht gubbing Sellick in the company of his son Craig and the local HibeesBounce contingent, known locally as “The Three Heiders”. After several pints of Probably The Best Lager in the World, they adjourned to the Snooker Room where he enthralled his fans with an impressive array of trick shots such as the famous “Slipped Disc Double Kiss.” When asked whether the day’s events would put him off visiting the town again, he replied “No way. Ah’ll be back when Hibs win the Scottish Cup.”

As the hero quietly slipped out of town the next morning, Council workers could be seen erecting a new sign on the outskirts of town which reads “WELCOME TO PETERHEAD – NO SMOKING”. Meanwhile the manager of the Palace Hotel was himself erecting a plaque in honour of the Great Man, bearing the legend “CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE”.

Old 04-01-07, 21:37   #13

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

Jimmy,

Peterheid has its fair share of nutters but not too many St Johnstone supporters so you should be ok in the Palace as Paddy says - aye that's the same Palace Hotel and the same Paddy who, at the top of his voice, called Henrik Larsson a "divin' bassa" in a lounge full of Celtic supporters and lived to tell the tale. Full story of his visit below (reprinted by kind permissiion, blah blah):

The North East town of Peterhead was placed firmly on the map yesterday when, hard on the heels of Bartok’s tour, another Hibernian legend graced the Northern Abyss with his presence. During a visit to inaugurate the new Burnside Business Centre, Sir Patrick Meehan OMS threw caution to the wind and risked life and limb to avert a potential disaster, the scale of which had not been seen since Aunt Mabel caught her left tit in the mangle in 1972.

Workers at the site stared in disbelief as Sir Patrick threw himself on top of a live gas main in an attempt to stop a leak which threatened to wipe out the town. Even the Skivin Cooncil Radge himself, Greencol, was impressed by Sir Patrick’s knowledge of the industry as he dispatched workers in all directions in search of a specialist tool. “He kept shoutin’ for this tool, but ah’ve been a plumber for thirty years and ah’ve nivver even heard o’ a Getty Fork!”

Several hours later, Sir Patrick stepped out and declared the area safe. As the emergency services stood down, he calmly told a grateful Site Manager “Nae borra, son. If all else fails, batter feck oot ay it wi’ a 24 inch stilson.” When asked for his opinion on the cause of the gas leak, Sir Patrick blamed inferior pipe fittings supplied by a little-known Italian firm, Foc di Fano.

In the evening, Sir Patrick shunned the offer of a Civic Reception at the Council Chambers, preferring to spend the evening in the Palace Hotel, watching 10-man Anderlecht gubbing Sellick in the company of his son Craig and the local HibeesBounce contingent, known locally as “The Three Heiders”. After several pints of Probably The Best Lager in the World, they adjourned to the Snooker Room where he enthralled his fans with an impressive array of trick shots such as the famous “Slipped Disc Double Kiss.” When asked whether the day’s events would put him off visiting the town again, he replied “No way. Ah’ll be back when Hibs win the Scottish Cup.”

As the hero quietly slipped out of town the next morning, Council workers could be seen erecting a new sign on the outskirts of town which reads “WELCOME TO PETERHEAD – NO SMOKING”. Meanwhile the manager of the Palace Hotel was himself erecting a plaque in honour of the Great Man, bearing the legend “CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE”.
It's Aberdeen we're playing.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 21:41   #14

It's Aberdeen we're playing.
Sorry I thought he meant the other cup game. Well most of the sheep fans from here will be at the game so the advice stands.

Old 04-01-07, 22:30   #15

Sorry I thought he meant the other cup game. Well most of the sheep fans from here will be at the game so the advice stands.
aye, but if we win i'll not be able to get the smirk off my face as i'm there all week.

or if we lose, i might have to find a non aiberdein lovin' boozer.
Old 04-01-07, 22:55   #16

aye, but if we win i'll not be able to get the smirk off my face as i'm there all week.

or if we lose, i might have to find a non aiberdein lovin' boozer.
You won't find Aberdeen fans in Peterhead getting into fights about fitba - we leave that to the Blue/Green and White bedecked tribes, most of whom haven't been to a game in their puffs. Just tell them you know Larry "Slasher" Boyes the cooncil plumber (Greencol) and you'll be safe.

Unfortunately I'll be offshore, otherwise i'd have invited you out to the ranch to watch it.