Old 17-12-06, 06:55   #1

windsorhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Easter road

there was some talk of an addition to easter road and someone posted a picture up quite a while ago. Just wondering if there is any new news bout this and if anyone has that picture can u plz post it thanks
windsorhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 17:23   #2

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough
Re: Easter road

The Manna House patisserie has been the best addition to Easter Road in recent times (try their olive bread) although Cornelius (off license) is pretty decent too. Sorry no pics.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 17-12-06, 17:33   #3
The lewis Stevenson Radge

01Deeks is on the way to a first team debut

there was some talk of an addition to easter road and someone posted a picture up quite a while ago. Just wondering if there is any new news bout this and if anyone has that picture can u plz post it thanks

is this the pic aye

El Nino
01Deeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 18:15   #4

windsorhibby is on the way to a first team debut

yea thats the one thanks! any new information bout this??????
windsorhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 18:23   #5

yea thats the one thanks! any new information bout this??????
Yes, it was done by a teenager on photoshop. There are no plans to redevelop ER in the near future.

Old 17-12-06, 20:42   #6

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Yes, it was done by a teenager on photoshop. There are no plans to redevelop ER in the near future.
With season ticket sales where they are in my view Hibs should be redeveloping the east stand.

One thing to keep in mind, Hibs managed to apply and receive planning permission many years ago for the East Stand. This ran out after five years and was reapplied for and granted again almost two years ago.

To use the phrase we use for our friends along the road, the clock is ticking.

I understand it will be much more difficult to get planning permission in the future with the new flats behind us.

Put simply it is a case of redevelop or more than likely lose the potential to do so.

I believe Hibs will redevelop and not allow the planning permission to expire.

I would expect an announcement to this effect sometime in 2007.
Old 17-12-06, 21:07   #7
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

is this the pic aye
If easter road was built like that it would be a waste of money..we struggle to get fans threw the gates at half the time and think how empty it would look if we got the attentions numbers we have atm..would look a little stupid

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 21:12   #8

With season ticket sales where they are in my view Hibs should be redeveloping the east stand.

One thing to keep in mind, Hibs managed to apply and receive planning permission many years ago for the East Stand. This ran out after five years and was reapplied for and granted again almost two years ago.

To use the phrase we use for our friends along the road, the clock is ticking.

I understand it will be much more difficult to get planning permission in the future with the new flats behind us.

Put simply it is a case of redevelop or more than likely lose the potential to do so.

I believe Hibs will redevelop and not allow the planning permission to expire.

I would expect an announcement to this effect sometime in 2007.
Hopefully Hibs will take in to account the noise generated by the current East Stand. The low roof has a lot to do with this IMO and it would be sad if it was re-developed the same as the West.

Old 17-12-06, 21:27   #9

we struggle to get fans threw the gates
11,000 ST holders

Old 17-12-06, 21:38   #10

I'd be in favour of a new single tier East Stand being built but anything bigger than that I dont see much point in.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 21:48   #11

11,000 ST holders

how many non-season ticket holders come

Old 17-12-06, 21:59   #12

Between 2-3,000

How many would a new ER hold

Old 17-12-06, 22:04   #13

Between 2-3,000

How many would a new ER hold
would be about 22,000?
would be nice to have it built and be able to sell it out at the big games tho

Old 17-12-06, 22:18   #14

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

Hibs cannot attract walk up fans because the place is too busy and you can't sit with neutral mates. If there was more space to guarantee flexibility the punters are there to take them.
Old 17-12-06, 22:22   #15

Hibs cannot attract walk up fans because the place is too busy and you can't sit with neutral mates. If there was more space to guarantee flexibility the punters are there to take them.

The south stand always looks pretty empty to me
On Hibs kids day it looks busier but still probably only half the stand being used.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 22:25   #16

I'd be in favour of a new single tier East Stand being built but anything bigger than that I dont see much point in.

The east stand "the terracing" is where the singing,chanting etc comes from and if it was made bigger it would lose it noise level wouldnt it?

Old 17-12-06, 23:35   #17

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

Yup completely agree with that.
Old 18-12-06, 13:55   #18

The south stand always looks pretty empty to me
On Hibs kids day it looks busier but still probably only half the stand being used.
Thats the away end. Hibs were talking about opening the top tier up for hibbies when wee teams like Falkirk, Hertz, St Midden etc come calling, dont know if they have done though.

Anyhow, a new East Stand would make the ground look better, allow more people in and stop that infernal racket that comes from there on match days. (Only kidding about the noise, I love it). New East stand is a good idea though.

Old 18-12-06, 14:05   #19
Sex, Vodka n Football Radge

Swoosh is on the way to a first team debut

We may lose a little bit of atmosphere if we redevelop the east stand.
To counter if tho, We would need to fill in the corners of the ground so the noise stays in the stadium. Does not have to be more seats in the corners.
Could always connect all the stands with plastic walls so the sound bounces and echos around.

Browse the web in style with Google Hibernian!

Swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-06, 14:27   #20
Ama Dou Dou Dou Radge

18grigson75 is on the way to a first team debut

we've also got to take into account the fact that we have been doing really well in recent seasons ... what happens if things go tits up again and we're left with 5/6,000 S/T holders in a 22,000 seater stadium
it wasn't long ago that we were getting about 9,000 to an old-firm game ... the atmosphere would be absolutely dire in a larger stadium!!!!!!!

HIBERNIAN F.C 05/06

Hibernian F.C - Edinburgh's FOOTBALL team
Heart of Midlothian F.C - Edinburgh's HOOFBALL team
I've never seen such a one sided game in all my life.

One team trying to play football, the other team constantly lumping the ball up the park, to no avail.

Pathetic. Sickening. Embarassing.
(Copyright 2006 - some gunt off keeckback)
18grigson75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-06, 14:33   #21
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

No need to redevelop east stand, except to get the pillars moved and the roof suported via other means.

Saying that - it's all part of the experience, especially before / during & after pumping rangers and hertz....the "you're no unbeatable" derby ranking as my best derby atmosphere yet (missed 6-2 game, was laid up in plaster