Old 11-12-06, 17:39   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
Scotty Brown - Colin Stein of the 21st century

It seems that young Scotty has his hert set on turning out in royal blue, rather like Stein did almost 40 years ago. I mind my old man telling me that Stein could have signed for top English clubs such as Everton but wanted to sign for the huns. And then he scored a hat-trick against us in his second game for them.

I don't think there is much we can do to prevent him from going to the DodgeLodge in January if last weekend's petulant Jim'll Fix It note is anything to go by.

Shame he's no called Scotty Green.
Old 11-12-06, 17:45   #2

Re: Scotty Brown - Colin Stein of the 21st century

It seems that young Scotty has his hert set on turning out in royal blue, rather like Stein did almost 40 years ago. I mind my old man telling me that Stein could have signed for top English clubs such as Everton but wanted to sign for the huns. And then he scored a hat-trick against us in his second game for them.

I don't think there is much we can do to prevent him from going to the DodgeLodge in January if last weekend's petulant Jim'll Fix It note is anything to go by.

But only for the right price ST

Old 11-12-06, 17:47   #3

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

HOW???

Do you think even if the huns had £3million they would pay a rival club that sort of money?
They dont wan't to spend anymore than they did on Clement - £1.4 million.

Remember last January? The huns offered £500K for Riordan but Petrie rejected that, he knew he was off in the summer (out of contract) but didn't give into them.

Worst case scenario is that he goes to the Huns, ah well it will be annoying but we will get £3million!!!
Old 11-12-06, 17:53   #4

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

But only for the right price ST

Him and Kev aren't really twins!!

Old 11-12-06, 17:57   #5

If the Huns want Brown so badly that they're willing to meet Rod Petrie's valuation of him, then he can go with my blessing. Personally though, I don't think he's worth anything like £ 3m and I doubt whether Money Bags Murray would pay that price either. Still, it will be interesting to see how SB performs now that he has put himself in the shop window. (Dick Dastardly moustache-twirling smiley)

Old 11-12-06, 18:11   #6

If he doesn't want to play for Hibs any more (and I don't think there's any doubt about that) and he is causing problems in the changing room (again, I don't think that's open to question) then I would rather he got hissel to phuck, sooner rather than later. I take your point about the Riordan fiasco just days before the cup tie back in February but I don't think it's an entirely fair comparison as:
- McLeish was temporary huns boss and therefore unlikely to be given large sums to spend on the team that he would only be in charge of for another three months
- Brown's own affection for and desire to join Rangers, whereas Riordan is (despite what Stuart Cosgrove says in the Retard) a Hibbie.

'I could be wrong, I could be right' as Mr Lydon sang round about the last time we knocked Celtic out the Scottish Cup. However, if he doesn't end up there in January it will not be for the want of trying and dirty tricks orchestrated by Silly McPie.

We'll see.
Old 11-12-06, 18:24   #7

greencol will become famous soon enough

Time for Brown to go methinks. Regardless of the brave face JC is putting on, this caper must be making his life difficult. The guy wants to go & as long as Hibs are happy with the price ,then its time they parted company.

Thomson i'm not so sure about. I reckon he has been used as the front man because he is a little more articulate than SB.I have a feeling he has joined up with Mckay & realises he has made a mistake. Could be wrong there but its how it looks to me.
Old 11-12-06, 18:26   #8

If he doesn't want to play for Hibs any more (and I don't think there's any doubt about that) and he is causing problems in the changing room (again, I don't think that's open to question) then I would rather he got hissel to phuck, sooner rather than later. I take your point about the Riordan fiasco just days before the cup tie back in February but I don't think it's an entirely fair comparison as:
- McLeish was temporary huns boss and therefore unlikely to be given large sums to spend on the team that he would only be in charge of for another three months
- Brown's own affection for and desire to join Rangers, whereas Riordan is (despite what Stuart Cosgrove says in the Retard) a Hibbie.

'I could be wrong, I could be right' as Mr Lydon sang round about the last time we knocked Celtic out the Scottish Cup. However, if he doesn't end up there in January it will not be for the want of trying and dirty tricks orchestrated by Silly McPie.

We'll see.

I completly agree with that. I know 3 million has been thrown about as a figure but would anybody actuall be surprised if Brown was sold for 2 Million. I reckon if the Huns offer us 2 Million Rod will take it. Theres no point in him being here anymore as it is clearly affecting his performance and affecting the team.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-06, 18:30   #9

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Colin Stein was all set for a move to Everton for £90,000, but a day or so later the board got an offer from the Currant Buns for 100 grand for him so THEY chose the latter. Stein was a Rangers fan, but he gave good goalscoring service to Hibs whilst at ER. Anyway I've painful memories of the 6-1 tanking at Ibrox. But significant thing in this game was that Hibs goal was scored by Joe McBride, Stein's replacement, a steal at £12,000 and such was Joe's goalscoring prowess in the next couple of games ( 3 goals v Lokomotiv Leipzig and then 4 against Morton) that the anger about Colin Stein's tranfer evaporated.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-06, 18:46   #10

Benji's Barnet is on the way to a first team debut

Colin Stein was all set for a move to Everton for £90,000, but a day or so later the board got an offer from the Currant Buns for 100 grand for him so THEY chose the latter. Stein was a Rangers fan, but he gave good goalscoring service to Hibs whilst at ER. Anyway I've painful memories of the 6-1 tanking at Ibrox. But significant thing in this game was that Hibs goal was scored by Joe McBride, Stein's replacement, a steal at £12,000 and such was Joe's goalscoring prowess in the next couple of games ( 3 goals v Lokomotiv Leipzig and then 4 against Morton) that the anger about Colin Stein's tranfer evaporated.
That's a pretty good point - this season doesn't just hinge on SB and KT leaving, it hinges on who, in that situation, JC replaces them with.
Benji's Barnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-06, 19:26   #11

I have no doubts that Scott Brown wants to join Rangers, but I don't think Petrie and Collins will sell him or Thomson in January.

The manager has already made it plain that none of these players will be leaving in January, so they will just have to knuckle down and get on with the job of winning matches and trophies for Hibernian. As a club we cannot allow ourselves to be pissed around by agents trying to act the hard men and dodgy newspaper journalists who have a damaging agenda. Petrie has shown nothing but contempt for McKay and Jackson, and rightly so. This double-act have been trying to get one of our best players away to a rival club for months now.

Hibs will sell Brown and Thomson when Hibs are ready to, and when an offer comes in which matches their valuation. I doubt Hibs will be ready to sell either of them in January. They will be made available for transfer in the summer when the season is over. Until then they are paid to give 100% for Hibernian, and I am sure Collins will be emphasising that to them in no uncertain terms.

BTW I don't agree that Brown and Thomson are causing unrest within the squad. I see no evidence of this whatsoever. We lost on Saturday because the tactics and attitude were wrong for the occasion, and we played into Rangers hands from the start. Michael Stewart got in spot-on with his summary in todays papers and on the club web-site.

Look forward to Hibs getting back on track this week-end.
Old 11-12-06, 20:35   #12

BTW I don't agree that Brown and Thomson are causing unrest within the squad. I see no evidence of this whatsoever.

That's the point I was going to query, but you beat me to it.
The transfer demand letters were supplied to KT and Broon, but only Broon did what was suggested to him by McCock.
Other than that act of stupidity, I am unaware of any 'unrest' fomented by either of the pair.

Frankly I could quite easily administer a skelping to both of them because of their crass actions and transparent greed.
Both have gone down in my estimation, not as players but as Hibs men.

If they both just STFU and screw the nut then I'll get back to giving them my support.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 12-12-06, 13:17   #13

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

I don't think TweedleDee has neccessaily have his heart on signing for 'Scotland's Shame' though there is no doubt 'Scotland's Shame' have him as their number one draft pick

He just wants out of Hibs in order to maximise his earning potential at whatever club pays him the most and was only ever a part time worshiper of 'Scotland's Shame' as if that matters at all where poond's shillings and pence are concerned.

When Mr Petrie decides to sell (with July still my shout) then TweedleDee is as likely to go to the EPL* as he is to 'Scotland's Shame' and a bidding war would be the ideal bargaining chip for Saint Rodney.

*Source
(Dunfermline Mafia
)

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-06, 13:41   #14

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

It's been rumoured for nearly 2 years that brown would want to go to the huns, and if he is a hun himself and is indeed from the same village as jim baxter then perhaps its understandable that he would want to go there, especially after so many of his team mates have left for pastures new and better money.

assuming we're still paying him peanuts then we've had a damn good deal the last few years as he certainly put the effort in. how much would it have cost us to pay a journeyman or foreigner with his ability? same goes for all the others who have left recently, other than caldwell.

if he does go to them though, needles to say, he'll get it tight
Old 13-12-06, 00:11   #15

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

It's been rumoured for nearly 2 years that brown would want to go to the huns, and if he is a hun himself and is indeed from the same village as jim baxter then perhaps its understandable that he would want to go there, especially after so many of his team mates have left for pastures new and better money.

assuming we're still paying him peanuts then we've had a damn good deal the last few years as he certainly put the effort in. how much would it have cost us to pay a journeyman or foreigner with his ability? same goes for all the others who have left recently, other than caldwell.

if he does go to them though, needles to say, he'll get it tight
Jim Baxter was a Hibs supporter.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-06, 00:27   #16
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

Spot on amigo. Try telling that tae Huns though.That dueling banjos look comes over their coupons.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-06, 00:50   #17

Och I wanted to say that.

The irony eh?

A Hibs man starring for the Huns...............

And a Hun starring for the Hibs.

But on a more serious note, I heard what Sam heard.

Broonaldo is merely Huninterested.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 13-12-06, 06:51   #18

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

I doubt 2m will be enough for Rangers to secure him, because it's likley there will be other bidders willing to go higher. On Brown being a hun, well not according to Scott Fisher who said on Real Radio that Brown would just as happily sign for Celtic.
Old 13-12-06, 10:44   #19

As I've posted before, during the spring of 2004 (when I was worked at TSPL) I worked with a girl whose boyfriend was Broonie's best mate. She described Essbee as a 'big-headed, ugly bastard who supports Rangers'. Incidentally, GOC had asked her mate out.

Dinnae blame him, her mate was a total ride!
Old 13-12-06, 11:02   #20

I was in conversation with a Yam customer of mine yesterday.. He was being quite reasonable about the whole KT & SB issue and he said something along the lines of "Aye but you'll need KT & SB in the team to win the CIS Cup.." and without thinking it through i said "I'd prefer not to win it than win it with they two.."

Did i really mean that?
Old 13-12-06, 11:05   #21