Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,353 | Posts: 597,912 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby
ET lays it on the line
7 December 2006
YOU TWO AREN'T HALF AS GOOD AS YOU THINK Ex-Hibs boss Eddie tells Brown and Thomson to stay at Easter Road and learn to become REAL football stars Exclusive by Gary Ralston HIBS great Eddie Turnbull has handed out a stark warning to Kevin Thomson and Scott Brown and told them they are not half as good as they think. The former Easter Road boss, a member of the Famous Five forward line that terrorised defences at home and abroad during the forties and fifties, has not pulled his punches on the contract row stars. In a Record Sport exclusive, he told them: Drop your wage demands because you are worth nowhere near £3million. You aren't good enough to play for Scotland yet, nevermind in the Premiership. You're only being hyped because the standard in the SPL is so poor. Advertisement Show your team-mates and club more respect by sticking with John Collins and Tommy Craig - who will turn you into big-money stars. Turnbull may be 83 but his football brain is alert as ever and he follows Hibs everywhere every week. He has seen both players develop in recent seasons and believes they have the potential to go all the way, so long as they finish their education at Easter Road. Turnbull said: "I hope they don't think I'm picking on them but these are my honest opinions of the standards I expect to see in players. "They are still apprentices learning their trade and the sooner they recognise that the better it will be for all concerned. "I've read this figure of £3m a player Hibs chairman Rod Petrie allegedly quoted to interested clubs but I don't believe he would negotiate in such a manner. "Besides, if anyone came to my office with a £3m offer for either player I'd lock the door behind them and slap them in handcuffs until the deal was done. "Thomson and Brown are worth only a fraction of that amount at this stage as they have still to fully blossom, so they are probably being paid what they're worth. "I was astonished when I heard they wanted to renegotiate their deals. When they were injured and couldn't play I didn't read of meetings being demanded so they could discuss a pay cut. "Players want it all their own way these days and while they undoubtedly have potential to go far in football, they still have an awful lot to learn. They must show greater discipline and self-control, for a start. Who disputes every decision that goes against Hibs? Thomson and Brown. "Who was first on the scene to argue when Brown had his incident with Neil Lennon a couple of weeks ago? Thomson. He might be captain but it doesn't mean he's allowed to discuss every decision with the referee. "They must also learn to stamp their authority on games more convincingly. "I watched a Dundee United side do everything to frustrate Hibs at the weekend and if Thomson and Brown were so good they'd have had agreater influence on the match." Thomson, 22, and Brown, 21, are regulars with Scotland Under-21s but only Brown has made the step up to full international level with a 17-minute appearance as a substitute against the USA at Hampden 13 months ago. Turnbull takes their lack of full cap experience as another indicator they are far from the finished article and not yet ready for the Premiership. He added: "The Premiership lags behind La Liga, Serie A and the Bundesliga in terms of quality but, even then, Thomson and Brown are still not in that class at this stage. "It's the same with Scotland - neither is a regular in the full squad and they should be B level performers at the moment as they are still learning the game. "I watch SPL football every week and the quality of football is so poor if a young player emerges who looks half decent we're hyping him to the heavens. That's what's happening with Thomson and Brown. "The sooner they realise this the sooner they'll become better players. They have potential but they must show more patience. "They must show greater respect to their team-mates because everything at the moment seems to be revolving around Thomson and Brown when there are nine others helping bring success to the club. "They might also show a little bit more understanding to Hibs and its history as a club that toured Europe and South America every season after the war to help spread football and won admiration for the way it played the game." Turnbull admits he wants an expupil to succeed in his new job with the best players available. Turnbull turned Aberdeen midfielder Craig, now No.2 to Collins, into the first £100,000 teenager in British football when he signed for Sheffield Wednesday in 1969. Turnbull added: "Tommy had a magical left foot and was a terrific midfielder who hung on to every word said on the training pitch. "I've never met John Collins but if Thomson and Brown end up half as good midfielders as the pair coaching them they'll be doing well. "John and Tommy have such knowledge of that position and if their two players would only settle down and show common sense they could learn so much. If that happens, I'm sure they would have their pick of clubs in a couple of seasons." Hibs could leapfrog Rangers in the SPL with a victory at Ibrox on Saturday but Turnbull, who will take in the game, says Thomson and Brown are jeopardising the chances of the current Easter Road side going down in history with the great HIbs teams he played for and managed. He said: "The current side has the potential to be the next quality Hibs team adored by the public and if Thomson and Brown screw the nut they could play a big part in helping that become reality. "It could happen in the next couple of seasons - and only then would the time be right for them to ask for meetings with Rod Petrie to discuss their futures." |
![]() Join Date: May 2006
Re: ET lays it on the line
Well said legend Turnbull "take note Thomaldo & broonaldo he is right you's only look pure quality cos the rest of the spl is Sh7te you's will develop into quality players just be patient. also Turnbull right again there wasn't any meetings held when you's where out injured, Does that come down to loyalty mmmmmmmm HUN JUDAS MURRAY was the same payed wages for a player on the treatment table for a year one season backm won't renew a contract then off to the Huns.
Anyway rant over come on the CABBAGE on SATURDAY DISAPPOINTED IF ITS NOT AN AWAY VICTORY. |
I particularly liked this part "I was astonished when I heard they wanted to renegotiate their deals. When they were injured and couldn't play I didn't read of meetings being demanded so they could discuss a pay cut.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Ned Turnbull is one hell of a man. Would give anything to spend a night in the boozer listening to him. The amount of money, greed and avarice that exists in modern football probably makes him want to puke.
Unfortunately, with the amount of shite that McSpiv has put into their not very bright heads, I can't see the Greedy Two paying any heed to ET's sage words. However, it is good to see that the negative media storm initially instigated by McSpiv, JacksHun, Euan Yamfud and the Daily Retard seems to have abated and that more and more folk with meaningful credentials are speaking out and supporting Hibs / Petrie's stance.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame. |
Spot on comments from a real legend - Brown and Thomson may have the potential to be legends, but not for a long while yet.
Sir Ned is an absolute hero - I agreew with Greenman, what a quote this is: ""I was astonished when I heard they wanted to renegotiate their deals. When they were injured and couldn't play I didn't read of meetings being demanded so they could discuss a pay cut."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
well said that man. though he coulda left out the bit about them not being worth 3 million!
Ned's little finger knows more aboot fitba than B & T and their pirhana agent put together.
I'm heading up there during my lunch-break today. I got ET's book for my brother, but i'm hoping to get a copy at Christmas for myself as a pressie ! Turnbull is a genuine Hibernian legend whose contribution to the clubs history is second to none.
great words from a great man.
those two dafties would do well to listen. might pop along to that book signing today, got the book for my old boys birthday a while ago and he's been raving about it, nice wee mention for the Northern Ireland Hibbies as well To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Big Jessie Radge
I agree with every word he says. It is time they showed much more respect for Hibs.
Dumb and Dumber... Get that article roooooooooooooooond ye's To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.