Old 26-11-06, 21:15   #1

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Impartiality of the BBC?

Okay we all have a go at the Daily Record etc but ultimately it's a free press. We're not forced to buy or read their utter shite that they report as they masquerade as a 'Newspaper'..

However, i am forced to pay a £131.50 license fee for the BBC.

We've had 'BBC Sport understands Derek Riordan will be a Rangers player by lunch time tomorrow..'

We've had 'BBC Sport understands Derek Riordan is close to resigning a new contract for Hibernian..'

Now today as part of my £131.50 service i'm subjected to a Kheredine Idessane BBC Radio Scotland interview of John Collins..

Link is on this page to the interview..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/6178212.stm

John Collins makes it abundantly clear on where he stands on the possible departure of any of our players but despite this he returns again and again to the topic.

The agenda of the BBC Glasgow Mafia is made pretty damn clear when John Collins says he says he wants to make additions to the squad and not departures the interview is very quickly concluded.

Surely the BBC has a duty as the publicly funded broadcaster to imartiality?

Anyone feel the same?
Old 26-11-06, 21:17   #2
Brafur Radge

Casino cash: £630
Rep Power: 4 BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Impartiality of the BBC?

Aye, he also asked Strachan if hed like to sign Thomo and Broon. What a tosser!!
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-06, 21:19   #3

Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
Aye, he also asked Strachan if hed like to sign Thomo and Broon. What a tosser!!
Exactly it's a BBC Glasgow Mafia agenda.

Only listen to BBC Radio Scotland when it's the excellent Jim Spence.
Old 26-11-06, 21:30   #4
Hibsterical Radge

Casino cash: £808

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Kenny, your debating point had considerable substance to it until putting the words "excellent", "Jim" and "Spence" in the same sentence. He's no better than the rest of them, the only difference being he's no OF apologist. Now if you'd said Richard Gordon...
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-06, 00:16   #5

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

So do you turn the radio off in between when he is on then? If you do, how do you know when he is back on again?

Who gies a feck what any of them are saying? I like Richard Gordon, I dinnae mind Jim Spence, the rest are arseholes, but I wouldn't give any single one of them any more credit for agreeing or disagreeing with my viewpoint than someone randomly posting on here. What difference does it make? As you have pointed out, masses of stuff they have said has turned out to be utter shite, there is the occasional true thing but it's like throwing infinite monkeys at infinite typewriters and one of them will come up with the entire works of Shakepeare eventually (I personally reckon you could come up with the collected wisdom of Jim Traynor in about five minutes with one thalidomide monkey with repetitive strain injury in about 5 minutes, but that's not really the point).

Basically what I'm trying to say is that if the media offends you, ignore it, and use alternative media, such as the Bounce for example, which you seem perfectly capable of doing. Radio Scotland is one of about 20 radio stations available which is funded by your license money. I'm no that partail to Radio Nan Gaidheal if truth be told but I'm hardly about to declare a fecking fatwa on it because they said something which I think is wrong.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 27-11-06, 00:26   #6

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
So do you turn the radio off in between when he is on then? If you do, how do you know when he is back on again?
I poorly worded it. What i meant to say was that Jim Spence midweek (On till 10 PM is generally quite good) He's a football man and has been very pro Hibs recently.

Who gies a feck what any of them are saying? I like Richard Gordon, I dinnae mind Jim Spence, the rest are arseholes, but I wouldn't give any single one of them any more credit for agreeing or disagreeing with my viewpoint than someone randomly posting on here. What difference does it make? As you have pointed out, masses of stuff they have said has turned out to be utter shite, there is the occasional true thing but it's like throwing infinite monkeys at infinite typewriters and one of them will come up with the entire works of Shakepeare eventually (I personally reckon you could come up with the collected wisdom of Jim Traynor in about five minutes with one thalidomide monkey with repetitive strain injury in about 5 minutes, but that's not really the point).
Aye Richard Gordon is not too bad.

Basically what I'm trying to say is that if the media offends you, ignore it, and use alternative media, such as the Bounce for example, which you seem perfectly capable of doing. Radio Scotland is one of about 20 radio stations available which is funded by your license money. I'm no that partail to Radio Nan Gaidheal if truth be told but I'm hardly about to declare a fecking fatwa on it because they said something which I think is wrong.
Have you never criticized the BBC?

What other publicly funded radio stations can i get Scottish Football?

Why can't Radio Scotland be like Five Live? Excellent coverage where pundits discuss the issues and don't look to pretend to be high-brow tabloid journalists.

The fact that i contribute that arsehole Young's salary sticks in my throat.
Old 27-11-06, 00:38   #7

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

The fact that i contribute that arsehole Young's salary sticks in my throat.
I contribute towards Eastenders, Songs Of Praise, and fecking Newsnight Scotland.

And Andrew Marr.

Deal with it.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 27-11-06, 00:43   #8

I contribute towards Eastenders, Songs Of Praise, and fecking Newsnight Scotland.

And Andrew Marr.

Deal with it.
Eastenders and Songs of Praise are within content to appeal to some and not others..

Newsnight Scotland is pathetic. (Bastards always break up in the middle of some interesting piece of film to go north and interview something of no importance..)

Andrew Marr is imartial.

It's the impartiality of the fuds on BBC Radio Scotland that pisses me off.

Oh and also the £131.50.

Scrap the license. (You knew that was coming)
Old 27-11-06, 01:02   #9

Casino cash: £5405
Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Now today as part of my £131.50 service i'm subjected to a Kheredine Idessane BBC Radio Scotland interview of John Collins..

Link is on this page to the interview..

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...em/6178212.stm

John Collins makes it abundantly clear on where he stands on the possible departure of any of our players but despite this he returns again and again to the topic.

The agenda of the BBC Glasgow Mafia is made pretty damn clear when John Collins says he says he wants to make additions to the squad and not departures the interview is very quickly concluded.

Surely the BBC has a duty as the publicly funded broadcaster to imartiality?

Anyone feel the same?
So Idessane, picks up on what's been a big story in the press (which is called 'doing your job') and instigated by the players via their agent, asks Collins how he'll hold onto the players. He asks that question once. Fair do's.

He then asks a straight forward question which we'd all like to know - has there been any bids made? Again he asks only once.

He then asks another question of interest to us all - would they be allowed to go if the price was high enough? Again fair enough.

He then says "They were fantastic today. Congratulations to you and the team on the football you played, fantastic."

And you consider this the dirty underhand work of the BBC Glasgow mafia? Is it also the work of the BBC Glasgow mafia when they titled their link to Strachan's radio interview as "Strachan commends Hibernian spirit against Celtic"?

Is that the same BBC Glasgow mafia who say in the match report

"Ivan Sproule slammed in a brilliant opener for Hibs in the 12th minute. Captain Kevin Thomson then added a superb solo second after 63 minutes to put the home side firmly in command against Gordon Strachan's visitors. "

or

"The encounter lived up to its pre-match hype as the home side - and Scott Brown in particular - set about Celtic with vigour. And it was no surprise when the home side took the lead in fantastic fashion."

or

"....it was the last chance that Hibs passed up after their excellent play for most of the afternoon."

Aye they seem to really hate us up at the Glasgow BBC.

By the way, can I assume that since you feel the BBC should be impartial, you were deeply upset when Mark Lawrenson described Hearts on the BBC as "Jongleurs" because they're a comedy club? Or was that different?
Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-06, 01:08   #10

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
So Idessane, picks up on what's been a big story in the press (which is called 'doing your job') and instigated by the players via their agent, asks Collins how he'll hold onto the players. He asks that question once. Fair do's.

He then asks a straight forward question which we'd all like to know - has there been any bids made? Again he asks only once.

He then asks another question of interest to us all - would they be allowed to go if the price was high enough? Again fair enough.

He then says "They were fantastic today. Congratulations to you and the team on the football you played, fantastic."

And you consider this the dirty underhand work of the BBC Glasgow mafia? Is it also the work of the BBC Glasgow mafia when they titled their link to Strachan's radio interview as "Strachan commends Hibernian spirit against Celtic"?

Is that the same BBC Glasgow mafia who say in the match report

"Ivan Sproule slammed in a brilliant opener for Hibs in the 12th minute. Captain Kevin Thomson then added a superb solo second after 63 minutes to put the home side firmly in command against Gordon Strachan's visitors. "

or

"The encounter lived up to its pre-match hype as the home side - and Scott Brown in particular - set about Celtic with vigour. And it was no surprise when the home side took the lead in fantastic fashion."

or

"....it was the last chance that Hibs passed up after their excellent play for most of the afternoon."

Aye they seem to really hate us up at the Glasgow BBC.

By the way, can I assume that since you feel the BBC should be impartial, you were deeply upset when Mark Lawrenson described Hearts on the BBC as "Jongleurs" because they're a comedy club? Or was that different?
It wasn't a slur on Scotland's second city.

It was the hacks employed by the BBC Radio Scotland team.

Notice you never picked up on my point of the interview ending immediately when JC said he wanted to add to the squad?

Interview was terminated their and then as that didn't suit the agenda.

Mark Lawrenson is a prick who uses any opportunity to knock the Scottish game.
Old 27-11-06, 01:27   #11

Casino cash: £5405
Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

It wasn't a slur on Scotland's second city.
Somebody better tell wikipedia to alter their table in the "other countries" section

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_city
Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-06, 01:28   #12
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Bear in mind, those interviews are expected to fill a short slot, they have to call time at some point.
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-06, 10:37   #13

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
Somebody better tell wikipedia to alter their table in the "other countries" section

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_city
Outrageous! I blame the Beeb..