Old 19-11-06, 17:46   #1

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

Thumbs down "Like a Russian submarine"

Call me over sensitive if you like but I find this song more sickening than the skacel number from last year.

Before Hibs fans think about singing it they should read this:

Maybe many of the singers are too young to remember the Kursk disaster - August 2000 - but even though it was over six years ago the thought of these sailors spending days on end knowing they were totally phucked and having such a slow death is not something I'd mock.

Romanov isn't even Russian so its just phucking stupid if you ask me. But there was a Russian boy over with his wife at Fir Park yesterday - wonder what they thought about it? How would you feel if you went to Russia and heard fans singing about, say, Lockerbie?
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 17:55   #2

Kill Stick Figures Champion!

Re: "Like a Russian submarine"

Here we go again

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:01   #3

Call me over sensitive if you like but I find this song more sickening than the skacel number from last year.

Maybe many of the singers are too young to remember the Kursk disaster - August 2000 - but even though it was over six years ago the thought of these sailors spending days on end knowing they were totally phucked and having such a slow death is not something I'd mock.

Romanov isn't even Russian so its just phucking stupid if you ask me. But there was a Russian boy over with his wife at Fir Park yesterday - wonder what they thought about it? How would you feel if you went to Russia and heard fans singing about, say, Lockerbie?

He was born in Russia apparently but you're right it's very sick same as other death mocking songs
Old 19-11-06, 18:08   #4

James.g is on the way to a first team debut

He is Russian, but your right it is a bit sensitive.

good 2 b

James.g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:12   #5

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

When I read the song, I didn't even think of that incident.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:13   #6

Blast The Enemy Champion! Fucking Killer Champion! Power Driver Champion!

When I read the song, I didn't even think of that incident.
Likewise.

Old 19-11-06, 18:13   #7

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

There are far too many people that read too much into these songs and chants!

I thought Romanov served in the Soviet Navy
we always used to refer to this alliance by the name of it's largest member state ie the Russians!

I don't associate a song about a Russian Submarine going down as a reference to the Kursk!, I was always under the impression that a submarine by nature and design 'went down' as part of its normal operation.

So to summarise I think the song is as offensive as singing something along the lines of 'Hibs are going up like a Scottish Jumbo Jet!'
Old 19-11-06, 18:18   #8

I personaly dont find it offensive but why call it a russian submarine
if no reference to the kursk.

good 2 b

Old 19-11-06, 18:22   #9

Kill Stick Figures Champion!

I personaly dont find it offensive but why call it a russian submarine
if no reference to the kursk.

Maybe because Hertz have russian folk involved in their club, Romanov was born there and it fecking rhymed
Plus every single submarine every built goes down.

I wonder if everytime someone says something like they're a sinking ship folk stop to say, feck me thats insensitive to anyone whos ever been on a ship that has sank.

Wheres the threads standing up against the gorgie and glasgow slums song? I'm sure its no laughing matter for the folk with relatives who died of disease and lived in hardship in slums?

Last edited by GloryGlory; 19-11-06 at 20:11.
GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:31   #10

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Good grief

You're over sensative. Why is that people always try to link things to other things that are totally irrelevant just to make a stink abouit it, soon we'll no be able to speak without somebody taking offense for some reason or other

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:33   #11

like a said i dont find it offensive in fact i find it funny
but like it or not it is a bit sensitive and some people will
fucking hate it

good 2 b

Old 19-11-06, 18:36   #12
RmR
Prozac and Stella makes everything OK Radge

RmR is on the way to a first team debut

IMO the song has nothing to do with the Kursk incident. I never even thought of that when the song first appeared. Maybe if every Russian sub ended up sinking with massive loss of life or we started singing " your going down like the Kursk submarine" it might be inappropriate. I'm sure you could deconstuct most football songs and find some group or incident that could find offence. Maybe we should stop singing "we are the mental Hibees", after all mental health issues are very serious.

RmR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:38   #13

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

I don't associate a song about a Russian Submarine going down as a reference to the Kursk!, I was always under the impression that a submarine by nature and design 'went down' as part of its normal operation.
Its the first time I've really paid attention to be honest. But rather than the literal interpretation of a submarine going "down" as in underwater, the Kursk was the first thing that sprung to my mind.

Maybe thats just me having a melancholy Sunday though!
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 18:50   #14

Its also what came to mind when i heard it too, maybe thats
because i know of no other submarine that went down

good 2 b

Old 19-11-06, 19:15   #15

craigyboy692003 is on the way to a first team debut

i think the phrase we're all lookin for is "PC gone mad", its just a phukin song at the end of the day im sure that it wasnt intended to offend anyone who died in a russian submarine,but these days it seems no matter wat u say or sing seems to offend someone its this stupid age that we're living in !!! rant over lol
Beattie
Miller
Mcgeady

You've no chance Derek!
craigyboy692003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 19:15   #16

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut

Cricket Challenge Champion! Funky Pong Champion! Sumo Soccer Wedgy Champion!

Load of pish. He was a russian submarine commander. They go "down" under water.

Why dont we change history to "Hisorherstory" btw???
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 19:24   #17

So how come so many moan constantly about Rantics songs ? they are only songs too are they not ?
Old 19-11-06, 20:02   #18

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

So how come so many moan constantly about Rantics songs ? they are only songs too are they not ?

Songs that Rangers and Celtic fans sing have blatant references to things that have happened in the past. For example, "We're up to our knees in fenian blood" is pretty self explanatory, and it's not as if it can be misinterpreted by some poor innocent wee Hun, who doesn't really know what they're on about. There's no doubt about the subjects of these songs, whereas the submarine song isn't blatantly about people dying in a sub. It seems to me, and to others, that it's just another way of taking the pish out Hearts, and pointing out how bad their current situation is.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-06, 20:05   #19

Blast The Enemy Champion! Fucking Killer Champion! Power Driver Champion!

I demand a Pole!

Sorry. I mean a poll.

Admins??

Old 19-11-06, 20:25   #20

Songs that Rangers and Celtic fans sing have blatant references to things that have happened in the past. For example, "We're up to our knees in fenian blood" is pretty self explanatory, and it's not as if it can be misinterpreted by some poor innocent wee Hun, who doesn't really know what they're on about. There's no doubt about the subjects of these songs, whereas the submarine song isn't blatantly about people dying in a sub. It seems to me, and to others, that it's just another way of taking the pish out Hearts, and pointing out how bad their current situation is.

Yes but to quote the guy above "they are just songs" I doubt anyone was ever up to their knees etc in the past either .
The sub song isnt the sort of thing i'd sing i don't think but the stuff Rantic sing doesn't bother me either to be honest
Old 19-11-06, 21:11   #21

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

How dare you have in your avater " Michael Palin Radge " I personally find this very insulting to a very clever man, who has brought great entertainment on tv through the years to so many thousands of people! Not to sure how other people will react to this but im disgusted!!!!!