Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,349 | Posts: 597,895 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 06-11-06, 19:21   #1

A big decision

Heard a few folk commenting that Collins will have to make a big decision about Zibby, and it got me wondering. Is it really a big decision to drop someone who is patently costing you points, is causing his defenders nerves to be shredded every time the ball is anywhere near the box, and causes the fans to get even more nervous than the defenders? IMO it's not a big decision, it just simply one that has to be made.

The options as far as I can see are; a) persist with Zibby till the transfer window and sign someone at 12:01am on January 1st to replace him. b) put Andrew McNeil in now and see how he does in the 10 games before the transfer window opens because we might not need to sign someone. c) see if you can get a few performances out of Simon Brown before January.

Option a) would be a ludicrous decision imo. Zibby has had more chances than a Monopoly factory, and he has never shown any signs of wiping out the absolute elementary errors he makes.
Option b) would be the way ahead for me. You might as well see what we've got, and any keeper who comes in will get a lot of leeway from the fans. It's always hard for a young keeper to come in, but I genuinely think the support will have patience which could make it easier. At the very least I think McNeil can't lose any more feckwitted goals than Zibby, and we can still sign someone in January if he isn't up to it.
c) He's pretty close to being as bad as Zibby imo...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 06-11-06, 19:25   #2

Re: A big decision

No contest. Option B.
Old 06-11-06, 19:28   #3

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Option B for me, I can't possibly see how anybody could be worse than Coco unless they were doing it deliberately.

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-06, 19:33   #4

Option B,

I reckon if you recycled Zibi and Brown you still wouldny get a half decent goalkeeper out of that pile of shecht

Old 06-11-06, 19:35   #5

Is there absolutely no circumstances where we can bring in a loan player before January 1st?
Old 06-11-06, 20:02   #6

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

Is there absolutely no circumstances where we can bring in a loan player before January 1st?
We can sign a player who is registered as an amatuer. Barca have there reserves playing in amatuer leagues, and we all know about John Collins and Frank Rijkaard.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-06, 20:09   #7

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

I reckon If Mcneil lost a bad goal he'd be beating himself up over it , Malcowki just shrugs as if it's not really his fault.
That alone would make my mind up
Old 06-11-06, 20:17   #8

Malkowski is a nervous goalkeeper, who is jittery and plays with no confidence at all. This spreads through the rest of the team IMO, and I have noticed Jones and Martis looking less assured in recent weeks. I actually don't think he was totally at fault for Killies second goal having seen it on TV again. Jones and Martis were too deep and neither of them attacked the ball as it came in, as you would expect two huge central defenders to do. They both failed to win the ball, and I think Malkowski just re-acted insticttively and it fell fortunately for Naismith who took the chance well TBH.

Zibbi looks particularly nervous when we are playing Hearts, and that is why I hope Collins plays Simon Brown on Wednesday. I don't think he is much better than Zibby either, but he is less prone to errors. We can't afford any on Wednesday, it's too important a game. Only problem with this is Brown's lack of games.

I don't think Andy McNeill is ready to play in the first team yet. I know a lot of people don't agree with that, but it's just my view. Having seen him in the reserves, he has not convinced me that he could come into the first team just now, and cure our goalkeeping ills. I'm sure he will be a decent keeper given time, but I wouldn't throw a young untried keeper into a big important Derby match such as the one on Wednesday.
Old 06-11-06, 20:44   #9
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

I thought you could sign a keeper at any point in the season (?)

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-06, 20:48   #10

Bairn_the_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

I thought you could sign a keeper at any point in the season (?)
i think that only applies if you have injured keepers

is being crap an injury
Bairn_the_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-06, 20:53   #11

Kill Stick Figures Champion!

Malkowski will be in goals against Hearts. Pisses me off so much that this erse is still playing for us.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-06, 21:09   #12

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

My suggestion for a new gk, go doon the docks, next boat of Polish due in 9am Tues, grab the first guy of the ramp, stick a Hibs goalie top on him, tell him hes now a Hibs goalkeeper, and hes playing on Wed night. Fuck, maybe we'll have a chance then.
Quite sure thats how Mowbs got Slippy Malcowskate!
Old 06-11-06, 21:13   #13
Spaktacuradge

i think that only applies if you have injured keepers

is being crap an injury
Could be arranged...

Old 06-11-06, 23:50   #14

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Just say Zibby gets up tomorrow morning and drops his bowl of coco pops on his foot,scenario is he is out for 3 weeks with a gash in his toe.
This forces JC to play McNeill as he is our reseve keeper,the boy does good we win the game.
Hibs are in the semis,our young keeper is buzzin from his debut,Zibby gets a rest and some thinking time about how he will have to buck up his ideas,fans are happy and the yams are greetin:YAYYY:

Im not wishing a cereal related injury on Zibby but if McNeill is good enough to be on the bench then surely he is good enough to start
beefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-06, 00:11   #15

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

if an outfield player is having a nightmare, you take him off during that game and replace him with a substitute. why don't managers do that with keepers?

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-06, 00:18   #16

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

A big decision

Malkowski will be in goals against Hearts. Pisses me off so much that this erse is still playing for us.
Come back Simon Brown all is forgiven (almost) . It's got to be either him or the laddie McNeill. NO WAY should ZM be be keeper for Wednesday. No fucking way !
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-06, 00:49   #17

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Did you ever see Cool Hand Luke?

Bartok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-06, 01:13   #18
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Just say Zibby gets up tomorrow morning and drops his bowl of coco pops on his foot,scenario is he is out for 3 weeks with a gash in his toe.
This forces JC to play McNeill as he is our reseve keeper,the boy does good we win the game.

Im not wishing a cereal related injury on Zibby but if McNeill is good enough to be on the bench then surely he is good enough to start
That a cereal killer.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-06, 20:06   #19
Spaktacuradge

Did you ever see Cool Hand Luke?
Nope, but having read the synopsis it looks good. Cannae see why you mentioned it though (?)

Old 08-11-06, 03:16   #20
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

Christ you lot are milk sop babies when it comes tae our goalie. Just been on Hibs.net and it's like a fuckin lynching mob over there concerning him.Abusive tae the point of being non Hibernian in my patronising opinion. Twats. Anyway my thoughts for what they are worth...... Collins as I have said here before is used to superior coaching, one to one which he never experienced at Hibs or Celtic. That will be put into place , including the defensive shambles that lead to the second goal against Hertz or the second against Killie. Fatboy Broon or the youngster.......sorry we will have tae have the Polish felly in goals. Do not think that he is bad as eveyrone on the Bounce/Hibsnet/Record/Sun/Star/DailyfuckinMail/thinks. Oh I should also include every Celtic/Rangers/et al expert that I work with.

I'm there to give the guy a chance under new leadership.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-06, 07:57   #21

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Christ you lot are milk sop babies when it comes tae our goalie. Just been on Hibs.net and it's like a fuckin lynching mob over there concerning him.Abusive tae the point of being non Hibernian in my patronising opinion. Twats. Anyway my thoughts for what they are worth...... Collins as I have said here before is used to superior coaching, one to one which he never experienced at Hibs or Celtic. That will be put into place , including the defensive shambles that lead to the second goal against Hertz or the second against Killie. Fatboy Broon or the youngster.......sorry we will have tae have the Polish felly in goals. Do not think that he is bad as eveyrone on the Bounce/Hibsnet/Record/Sun/Star/DailyfuckinMail/thinks. Oh I should also include every Celtic/Rangers/et al expert that I work with.

I'm there to give the guy a chance under new leadership.

When it comes to escaping the rope Zibi is more impressive than Babbacome Lee.

I repeat the guy is a liability, he might be a reasonable shot-stopper, but overall his judgement - such as when to go for a cross - is poor. He was a lucky barsteward to remain with the club after his display in the semi. OK it looks like he will be wearing the gloves tonight...no doubt the y*ms will be delighted with that prospect
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-06, 09:04   #22
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

When it comes to escaping the rope Zibi is more impressive than Babbacome Lee.

I repeat the guy is a liability, he might be a reasonable shot-stopper, but overall his judgement - such as when to go for a cross - is poor. He was a lucky barsteward to remain with the club after his display in the semi. OK it looks like he will be wearing the gloves tonight...no doubt the y*ms will be delighted with that prospect

and me.....''Zibby played guitar,watch me now........' and right on tae Suffragette City...kick on....

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-06, 10:55   #23
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge

wehateharry is on the way to a first team debut

Heard a few folk commenting that Collins will have to make a big decision about Zibby, and it got me wondering. Is it really a big decision to drop someone who is patently costing you points, is causing his defenders nerves to be shredded every time the ball is anywhere near the box, and causes the fans to get even more nervous than the defenders? IMO it's not a big decision, it just simply one that has to be made.

The options as far as I can see are; a) persist with Zibby till the transfer window and sign someone at 12:01am on January 1st to replace him. b) put Andrew McNeil in now and see how he does in the 10 games before the transfer window opens because we might not need to sign someone. c) see if you can get a few performances out of Simon Brown before January.

Option a) would be a ludicrous decision imo. Zibby has had more chances than a Monopoly factory, and he has never shown any signs of wiping out the absolute elementary errors he makes.
Option b) would be the way ahead for me. You might as well see what we've got, and any keeper who comes in will get a lot of leeway from the fans. It's always hard for a young keeper to come in, but I genuinely think the support will have patience which could make it easier. At the very least I think McNeil can't lose any more feckwitted goals than Zibby, and we can still sign someone in January if he isn't up to it.
c) He's pretty close to being as bad as Zibby imo...

Cracking post wee 162

Option B for me without a fucking doubt.
What worries me about all this is what if JC does play him and it all goes tits up (which tbh we all expect).
There's only going to be one person to blame for playing him

For the life of me I cant understand why we even have to have this conversation. If any outfield player played as bad as this he would be out the team faster the Ivan goes down that wing. If we play Zibi tonight i rekon that's as good as a goal start to the Yams