Old 06-11-06, 11:56   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

OnThisDateInHIBSTORY (drink n drugs n callcentre mugs)

13 years ago today: Saturday 6 November 1993, Dundee 3-2 Hibs. So after losing the league cup final to Sally McCoist's spectacular late winner and then losing the derby to two spawny Joy Division Colquhoun's goals we travelled to Albert Kidd Stadium to take on the relegation threatened homesters.

I went up on the Glasgow minibus and I think it was Stewart that drove it. All the usual suspects were there: Ian, Kevin, Michael, Jack etc. We arrived in Dundee a good couple of hours before kick-off and headed to the Centenary Bar on Clepington Road. They always had a couple of burly looking bouncers on the door and pointed you upstairs to the sizeable function suite which soon became fool of pished Hibbies. The pies were nice though!

It was a horrible phuckin' day and were sat on their windswept Cow Shed and Dundee scored after about two minutes, before Hibs equalised with an og soon after. However, almost straightaway the Dark Blues regained the lead. Into the second half and Dundee made it 3-1 with a breakaway goal before they got a man sent off. Keith Wright's goal well into injury time merely halved the deficit.

After the match our bus had been vandalised and it was a subdued trip back to La Weege before a silly session in the Parky on Hope Street. Cannae even mind leavin' there, just mind findin' masel in the back of a joe baxi going to posh Bearsden, where I was on the dole at the time.

7 years ago today: Saturday 6 November 1999, Killie 0-2 Hibs. Two Kenny Millar goals in the second half gave us all three points, our first away win since the 4-3 epic at Dens on the second day of the season.

I was working in a call centre in Cardiff that day and I'd arrived straight from a rave night at Apocalypse. Anyway, it was strange working in that office that day while the rest of Cardiff partied and Rolf Harris sang 'Walting Matilda' as the Wallabies beat the French to live the Webb Ellis trophy at the recently completed Millennium Stadium.

Despite Kenny Miller's rich vein of form that wee failed geography teacher, boring smug weegie Craig Brown would select a Celtic reserve (Mark phuckin' Burchill) ahead of him for the Euro Championship play-off the following week against England.

2 years ago today: Saturday 6 November 2004, Hibs 1-0 Motherwell. A late Ian Murray goal gave us the points. I missed this game as I'd been out til 10am from the night before (Jaynes, the Dalmeny, Mood and then a party on Easter Road) and fell asleep thinking I'd wake up about 2ish. What a tool. I was really annoyed with myself because I knew I was moving back down to Wales ten days later and it turned out to be our last win while I was still resident in Leith.

When I look in the mirror every morning the mad-eyed gormless bald radge I see is My Own Worst Enemy.

Worked in the Alhambra that night and the boys told me all about it.