Old 03-11-06, 20:21   #1

Casino cash: £5147
Charlie Nic in Fridays Express

Don't know if anyone else saw Charlie Nicholas's article in todays Express.

He reckons Hibs have taken too big a gamble appointing John Collins as manager, as he has not served his dug-out apprenticeship. He also says that Tommy Craig does not communicate well with players, so JC will have to do most of the motivating talk. He finishes by saying that Jeffries could be set to hand out a lesson on Saturday, and that Hibs fans are going to have to be patient. Unbelievably, he reckons that Hibs should have appointed Davie Hay or Craig Brewster.

Whilst I do think Collins is a risk, I would rather have him in charge than some journeyman or yesterdays man. Petrie must think Collins is the real deal because after interviewing him and checking references, he has given him a longer contract than he gave Mowbray when he first started out in management at Hibs.

Nicholas is like so many Glasgow based pundits, like McNee, Chick Young, and Provan. They talk up their mates in the game, while undermining anybody who they have either fallen foul of over the years, or just plainly don't like. The other reason for being so negative about the appointment of Collins of course, is that they can't get their heads round the fact that such an esteemed name in British football would want to manage a club outside the Old Firm.

All the best Johnny boy, we are all behind you.
Old 03-11-06, 20:32   #2

Re: Charlie Nic in Fridays Express

a bit of a shock he hasn't mentioned his "old pal" jim duffy
nicholas is a clown he's only on sky sports to arrange the nights out!
champagne charlie the last slaver in town
ME YA HA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-06, 20:34   #3

Casino cash: £5865
vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 16 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

I'm certaintly behind JC and i feel that if the fans give him a reception he will never forget tommorow when he walks out onto the park then he will grow in encouragment and will want to help the team even more, with Nicholls comments which i read earlier today, i feel that we have taken a big gamble with the appointment and it may not pay off or it may pay off, so lets hope it pays off as its not often that a manager who previously played for the club is successful in management at the same club....so come on everyone lets get behind him and the team tommorow and lift them all up.
Old 03-11-06, 20:47   #4

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

I remember getting into an arguement with the Fud in a bar in Newcastle on a stag weekend (For the record he wasn't with us...) way back in the year 1999 when he was praising Jim Jeffries and saying GJP was a "Crap manager"..

Of course he was right..
Old 03-11-06, 21:20   #5

Casino cash: £5499

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post

He reckons Hibs have taken too big a gamble appointing John Collins as manager, as he has not served his dug-out apprenticeship. He also says that Tommy Craig does not communicate well with players, so JC will have to do most of the motivating talk. He finishes by saying that Jeffries could be set to hand out a lesson on Saturday, and that Hibs fans are going to have to be patient. Unbelievably, he reckons that Hibs should have appointed Davie Hay or Craig Brewster.

Whilst I do think Collins is a risk, I would rather have him in charge than some journeyman or yesterdays man. Petrie must think Collins is the real deal because after interviewing him and checking references, he has given him a longer contract than he gave Mowbray when he first started out in management at Hibs.

Nicholas is like so many Glasgow based pundits, like McNee, Chick Young, and Provan. They talk up their mates in the game, while undermining anybody who they have either fallen foul of over the years, or just plainly don't like. The other reason for being so negative about the appointment of Collins of course, is that they can't get their heads round the fact that such an esteemed name in British football would want to manage a club outside the Old Firm.

Charlie may well be right. It is a gamble, but i haven't seen Davie Hays name mentioned in connection with the Dundee Utd job or the Pars job, or the Raith Rovers job for that matter.
Brewster i feel may, in time, turn out to be a decent manager. He let his heart rule his head by going to Utd at what was/is a really bad time.
Old 03-11-06, 21:45   #6
Everybody is a Radge

Casino cash: £7415
Rep Power: 17 snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

I'd rather have JC than anyone else mentioned here including Charlie "Mullet" Nicholas.

Davie Hay ma ****.
Old 03-11-06, 22:02   #7

Casino cash: £5126

Thats the same guy who said Maccabi Haifa were one of the best teams in Europe when the UEFA Cup groups were drawn.

He should stick to the champagne .
Old 03-11-06, 22:57   #8

Casino cash: £410

Originally Posted by ME YA HA View Post
a bit of a shock he hasn't mentioned his "old pal" jim duffy
nicholas is a clown he's only on sky sports to arrange the nights out!
champagne charlie the last slaver in town
Strangely enough he did mention Duff Jimmy's name in a separate article when he said he thought Duffy was a good Premier League manager and that Dunfermline should consider appointing him!
LOANARRANGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-06, 09:56   #9

Casino cash: £1674

Originally Posted by LOANARRANGER View Post
Strangely enough he did mention Duff Jimmy's name in a separate article when he said he thought Duffy was a good Premier League manager and that Dunfermline should consider appointing him!

The Duffman let Chico take the team for training FFS!
Dracula in charge of the bloodbank?
Old 04-11-06, 10:49   #10

Casino cash: £2850

In as short a sentence as possible.

Nicholas does have a tendency to slaver some unadulterated pish.

note: the (pejorative intensifier)
Greenman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-06, 10:58   #11

Casino cash: £337

I was in a Dublin bar back in April (The Temple Bar in Temple Bar I think ); anyway Charlie boy turns up talking to everyone like he owns it and with a glass of white wine in hand! He spent about an hour talking on his mobile, loudly. It was the night that Arsenal qualified for the European Cup final (or whatever it is called now), so he proceeded to shout and jump about. I did my best to ignore him, but couldn't help thinking he was a fud

And of course he is 100% wrong about JC, probably just pissed that John is a model professional whilst he is not
SAUZEH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-06, 11:38   #12

Casino cash: £1411

Possibly still smarting from the time when he made his Aberdeen debut at ER and JC totally overshadowed him.
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-06, 14:55   #13

Casino cash: £5821

Scottish Football and Scotland in general is a fucking boys club. Totally unprofessional.

Some blame the Masons, I dunno, I just think it's pure ignorance & ineptitude.

The twisted brainwrong of a one-off man mental.
Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-06, 19:04   #14

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by PaddyBarry View Post
Possibly still smarting from the time when he made his Aberdeen debut at ER and JC totally overshadowed him.
Wow. I remember that performance! Fantastic JC.
Old 04-11-06, 19:17   #15
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23286
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

If he's such a friggin expert how come he hasn't put something back into the game that made him a millionaire.
Thick tosser
Old 04-11-06, 22:40   #16
The Biggest Baddest Bounciest Radge

Casino cash: £810
Rep Power: 4 BigBadBouncer is on the way to a first team debut

Too much champagne, Charlie?