Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,349 | Posts: 597,898 | Members: 11,627 | Latest Member : Forreshibby

Old 01-11-06, 11:15   #1
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Planet Hibs

Heard that this may soon be hitting the shelves of the newsagents. Similar format to the Scumbo's version. What do you think? Is there a market? Will you buy it?
Old 01-11-06, 11:33   #2

Bogie is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Planet Hibs

I'm sure it would do okay & I'd definitely buy it.
Bogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-06, 11:35   #3

Decal Joe is a jewel in the roughDecal Joe is a jewel in the rough

NO!!!

I think it's a terrible idea, we don't want to sink to the depths of that mob! as far as I've heard Planet Hearts is full of propoganda and ridicule aimed at Hibs players, management and supporters, surely we're above that!

There's no need for this medium, between Newspapers, TV, internet sites (including forums such as this!) surely transfer of information to supporters is at an all time high!
Old 01-11-06, 12:07   #4

KerPlunk will become famous soon enough

Je suis d'accord avec le Decal Joe type.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-06, 12:11   #5

cant see the gap in the market really? what will it cover that isnt covered by Broadsheets tabloids matchday programmes and fanzines?

Old 01-11-06, 12:35   #6

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

There are still plenty of people who aren't on the internet for whatever reason, there aren't as many fanzines these days, newspaper coverage of any club but Rantic is poor (even the EN is all just opinion from the man on the street). Presumably they are making money from the Yam version if they are going to expand. Personally I wouldn't buy it but it could do okay.

Blog
Old 01-11-06, 12:35   #7

Hiberni-mum will become famous soon enough

Cannon Champion! Crazy Shooter Champion! Load of Croc Champion! Snow bomb battle Champion!

Je suis d'accord avec le Decal Joe type.
Me tae!
Hiberni-mum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-06, 12:44   #8

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

NO!!!

I think it's a terrible idea, we don't want to sink to the depths of that mob! as far as I've heard Planet Hearts is full of propoganda and ridicule aimed at Hibs players, management and supporters, surely we're above that!

There's no need for this medium, between Newspapers, TV, internet sites (including forums such as this!) surely transfer of information to supporters is at an all time high!
Spot on mate.

The Planet Gunt rag is Sickbag in paper form.

They took every opportunity to throw shite at Hibs anyway they could.

They were running a comp for tee-shirts with "Spank the Monkey" in a Hibs top, and references to Mowbray were always "Monkey-Heid" this or that.
And this is meant to be so-called "professionals" that were running it.

Made me sick when "sponsors" of this rag were contributing to it but were also doing the same at Easter Road, Talk 107. Bit of hypocrisy if ye ask me.

And officials of the Gunts were regular contributors too.

Only good for wiping yer feet on as you go to pay for your petrol at service stations like BP @ Calder Road, Sainsbury's Blackhall, Shell @ PC world, etc. Well, they will leave them lying on the floor!

Old 01-11-06, 12:54   #9

There are still plenty of people who aren't on the internet for whatever reason, there aren't as many fanzines these days, newspaper coverage of any club but Rantic is poor (even the EN is all just opinion from the man on the street). Presumably they are making money from the Yam version if they are going to expand. Personally I wouldn't buy it but it could do okay.
TBF is there much on the internet thats worth reading that wont appear in some other publication... news papers rumour monger like crazy - every official hibs release is issued verbatim in all the broad sheets and rags - fanzines are rare but fanzines (if that is the target market) should be independant.

I used to read "black and white" the newcastle mag for a while, I think the key is a quality well written well produced publication not a slaging rag.

I'd be more likey to buy something that showed respect and had an adult approach to other clubs and there relationship with hibernian (* inc. Hertz and OF) rather than a juvenile effort that makes up names.

Like it or not alot the key incidents in hibs history involve either Hertz or the OF and as such these clubs deserve some respect (their fans dont tho - inbred mother feckers!)

Old 01-11-06, 13:00   #10
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Just a slightly different slant: IF we do go ahead with such a beast (and I hope not, because the market for good, free Hibs information is already at saturation point in my opinion) then the club needs to make sure that the quality of the journalism needs to be expotentially higher than currently provided by the in-house team, or we'd become a laughing stock.

Whoever thinks there's a gap in the market for such a publication has got it completely wrong in my opinion.

Would I buy it? Probably
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-06, 13:01   #11

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

I'd be more likey to buy something that showed respect and had an adult approach to other clubs and there relationship with hibernian (* inc. Hertz and OF) rather than a juvenile effort that makes up names.

Like it or not alot the key incidents in hibs history involve either Hertz or the OF and as such these clubs deserve some respect (their fans dont tho - inbred mother feckers!)

It would have to done with a level of quality and respect.

It would lose all that if it concentrated on just slagging off our soon-to-be ex-neighbours.

Old 01-11-06, 13:03   #12

IMO there is a gap in the market for an official club publication (Perhaps a Monthly) that involves the talents of the Hibernian support.

As a Publisher i would love to get involved.
Old 01-11-06, 13:16   #13
Hibsterical Radge

IMO there is a gap in the market for an official club publication (Perhaps a Monthly) that involves the talents of the Hibernian support.

As a Publisher i would love to get involved.
Nah, a professionally edited matchday programme would fill said gap. Vulture
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
Old 01-11-06, 13:27   #14

Just a slightly different slant: IF we do go ahead with such a beast (and I hope not, because the market for good, free Hibs information is already at saturation point in my opinion) then the club needs to make sure that the quality of the journalism needs to be expotentially higher than currently provided by the in-house team, or we'd become a laughing stock.

Whoever thinks there's a gap in the market for such a publication has got it completely wrong in my opinion.

Would I buy it? Probably
definatley key to this operation - Very difficult to write articles about hibs with occasional being critical of past or present players, managers boards and would that be acceptable in a club sponsored venture? We dont have a lithuianian dicator at the helm so it might be possible?

Having said that there is 131 years of history to write about if it was done well I'd buy it.

Old 01-11-06, 13:31   #15

Right now there are 98 guests on this board reading about Hibs. Proof i'd say of a demand to read about the Hibs..
Old 01-11-06, 13:43   #16
Hibsterical Radge

Right now there are 98 guests on this board reading about Hibs. Proof i'd say of a demand to read about the Hibs..
That demand is being met by a free at the point of service Internet site though, Kenny. I'm no marketing expert and would never claim to be one, but if someone is available free of charge and essentially the same product is available at cost, it disnae take Einstein (or Adam Smith for that matter) to work out what option people will take.

I think a lot of thought needs to be put into what direction such a publication would take.

If it's an extension of the club's propoganda, then it defintely won't work.

If it's independent in the style of Planet Yamboidski then it has to be bloody good because of what's currently available.

If it's to be fanzine style, then good as I think there is a huge gap in that market. I'm hugely disappointed that MHHM is the only fanzine that regularly appears on the streets.
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
Old 01-11-06, 13:49   #17

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

TBF is there much on the internet thats worth reading that wont appear in some other publication... news papers rumour monger like crazy - every official hibs release is issued verbatim in all the broad sheets and rags - fanzines are rare but fanzines (if that is the target market) should be independant.

I used to read "black and white" the newcastle mag for a while, I think the key is a quality well written well produced publication not a slaging rag.

my pishy jokes. only found on the bounce and a n other website which is non football related and under another name.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-06, 13:59   #18

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Re Smurf's comment: as an advertising salesperson with experience of managing projects, pageplanning etc I'd love to get involved! And, as an exiled supporter, if (as others have suggested) it is written in an adult, objective, non-offensive manner with an emphasis on the club's history, i.e. focuses on certain seasons, certain matches, certain players, our many club crest changes, different away strips, different grounds at which we've played our major rivals, e.g. I've seen Hibs play the huns at 4 different venues, Aberdeen at five, indepth coverage of our youth and reserve teams then I would certainly buy it. That is a significantly big 'if' though, is it not?

And I would not be too enamoured if we aped the inbreds by calling it 'Planet Hibs', why not something a bit more unique, a bit more inventive, with a bit more pizazz such as The Hibstorian or The Easter Road Oracle?

Perhaps they sound a bit corny, surely the innovative chaps (and chapesses) on here can come up with something better?
Old 01-11-06, 14:11   #19

That demand is being met by a free at the point of service Internet site though, Kenny. I'm no marketing expert and would never claim to be one, but if someone is available free of charge and essentially the same product is available at cost, it disnae take Einstein (or Adam Smith for that matter) to work out what option people will take.
True but there are more Hibby's i meet who don't look at Hibs websites than do. I think 98 visitors on this website in a 30 minute period gives an indication of the interest and potential.

I think as long as it's a reasonable price then there's absolutely a market.

I think a lot of thought needs to be put into what direction such a publication would take.
Agreed.

If it's an extension of the club's propoganda, then it defintely won't work.
Agreed. It needs to be an independent '..in Association with..'

If it's independent in the style of Planet Yamboidski then it has to be bloody good because of what's currently available.
Much more highbrow than that..

If it's to be fanzine style, then good as I think there is a huge gap in that market. I'm hugely disappointed that MHHM is the only fanzine that regularly appears on the streets.
Are you forgetting the Match Programme..

I think in a Fanzine style with serious Club content '..produced in association with..' them perhaps with subscription tied into some Premium Bond style lottery with proceeds to the East Mains project..
Old 01-11-06, 14:31   #20

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Personally I wouldn't buy it and I doubt it will sell in big numbers. Plus I want nothing to do with those fuds in gorgie.

Old 01-11-06, 14:51   #21