Are we as good as we think?
I'm beginning to think that we are kiddin' ourselves on a wee bit!
I mentioned in an earlier thread re 2nd place in the league that it was interesting to note the way different people perceive our chances, many believe that we are a great team who's major failing is the inconsistency, I don't actually agree with this! We aren't a great 'team' we are a team with a few great individuals and we have lost too many games that should've been won, bad luck hasn't really figured much this season, we have been done over too often! We are struggling! tonight our defence was terrible, Jones who everyone thought was a god proved his mortality tonight and with that Martis lost the plot! Our goalkeeping problems are well documented but the 'team' doesn't function on many levels. We only have one true attacking midfielder in Scott Brown and he's exciting, direct and frequently suspended! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. we have several holding midfielders and a couple of creative ones but the problem is blending them into a cohesive unit, people will argue that we have the best midfield in Scotland, I'll agree that we have the best collection of midfielders in Scotland but we lose games to shit midfield 'units'! Sproule strikes fear into anybody he comes against, people get booked so give him the ball at his feet and let him run at them! many times he will lose out but the odd time he'll do the job and that's what he's there for, no need to over elaborate no need to play him in with the killer ball, just play the ball to his feet and let him run!!! We want every move and every goal to be a classic, tonights goal was simplicity itself and was excellent to see pity about the umpteen first half chances that didn't materialise due to wanting to spend ages on the ball and score the 'wonder' goal. you're not going to score unless you have a dig, ask Scott Severin! Contrary to many peoples ideas, our discipline is a problem, FFS don't kick the ball away, don't pick the ball up and show it to the dick with the whistle, he knows what it is, he brought it oot under his arm! back chat just gets the prick annoyed and then we suffer like against Falkirk and tonight! Are Zemmama's talents being best utilised, is he really a winger, if he is he's a slow one that doesn't like to get to the bye line and cross a ball! surely he's a midfielder to sit just behind a front man or two! Our Strikers are a bit of a worry still, Killen is being used as a ram, and he's doing well, he's a big solid guy who puts his weight around and is punished for his over exuberance! Fletch, Benji and Shiels aren't getting enough time on the park due to the system we're playing! they need games to get in the groove and get scoring goals. Apart from hammering a poor Dunfermline side last week when did our current system last win us a game?, too long ago! We need a major improvement in attitude and discipline to have any success this season, we're not going to finish in a particularly lofty position imo unless things change, there are so many supporters who now think we have a right to win games as a matter of course just because we play nice football sometimes! pish that's a Yam attitude and that's not us! we've had a couple of decent seasons back to back but won nothing! oh, one last thing.... Stephen Glass To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Re: Are we as good as we think?
After that performance we really do need a quick reality check. Fair enough we have 3 or 4 future Premiership players, but there is no consistancy to our games. We really dont look like a team that is capable of going on a 6-9 game run being unbeaten. Hopefully the new gaffer will get rid of some dead wood at the club an bring in some drive and a bit more leadership to the club. Hate referring to other teams, but we really need an Henry type player, someone to follow the example of.
Overall we have to be aiming for cup success and maybe get in the top six. |
Excellent post - I agree.
#4 | ||||
Saintee's Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
||||
Gie Dan another slap tomorrow if you see the yam fud....please
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Last edited by Dub; 31-10-06 at 01:01. Reason: Drunk and in charge of a keyboard, there should be a law against it. |
Dub,
The post was meant as an overview! Zibby didn't have a great deal to do other than pick the ball out the net twice! a couple of decent stops and a couple of heart flutter moments as well! The reference to the Yams was in relation to their belief that they have a right to win every game and not anything to do with football style! Obviuosly! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Specky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
Hibs are a great passin team but if you snuff that out wi a physical side(hertz, falkirk an the night wi a/deen) then as said afore we have no plan B
shan keeper in malkowski the clown (play mc neill fur fuck sake) an wi nae scott brown oor midfield looks like a mogadon miller side at times (maybe boozy can help wi this) lets face it even tho its no sheer youngsters now, where is the experience or steel that we need tae get tae a grip of games To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. SAOR ALBA To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
We're not a great team but all we need is that consistency to be one. The talent is definetly there imo just needs the right manager to hammer that into them. Jose Mourinho doesn't let his team treat any game less important than another.
I dont know whether before playing the likes of Falkirk, Inverness etc the players need to be fired up to boiling point or kept calm and told to relax and just express themselves. Thats something that if the new manager can sort out I think we can acheive 2nd place. Decal you said it right that there is a belief that they have the right to win games and that is not the case. They are young boys who have been allowed to keep their heads in the clouds where in reality they're living down in the gutter(feck knows if thats the right saying but I like the sound of it). If the players keep beliving in their own hype then they'll never be anything but a flash in the pan.
Hibs are the best footballing side in the country, when we play teams who want to open out and play football against us. Dunfermline committed football suicide last week by playing only three in midfield and three up front. It was a case of how many we were going to win by. When teams such as ICT, Falkirk, and Aberdeen get in our faces and stop us playing, we lose the plot completely. This usually means we lose our shape and the game. This will continue to plague us this season unless the new boss can instill a disciplined attitude into the side, and create a strong winning mentality.
Our away record since November last year is an absolute disgrace, but it is quite clear to me why we do so badly away from home. A team playing in it's own ground will want to play their natural game, and attack the opposition. They have to in front of their own fans. Unless you can match the work-rate shown by the home team and win the midfield battle you will lose the game as Hibs have done frequently in the last 12 months. Our work-rate tonight against Aberdeen was shocking. Too many players just did not apply themselves properly to the job in hand, and instead started kicking Aberdeen players. One of the reason we look so vulnerable away from home as well, is due to the total absence of any proper defensive midfield players. Mowbray didn't believe in them, so he didn't sign any. I think the new boss will sign one, either in January or at the end of the season. Not enough protection is given to the back four, and that always shows up more in away games. I still think we have a very good team in the making, but we are too indisciplined and inconsistent. We really could do with one or two more experienced players in the team, and I hope this is forthcoming in the next two transfer windows.
Specky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
one nil up then lose game to injury time winner (fae an ex hertz cant) seem familiar anyone????
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. SAOR ALBA To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I was having a talk with the wee man last night and had a thought that perhaps Hogg could have been utilised as a defensive midfielder, also providing cover for Whitts and Murphy(when fit) to make the forward runs. The only problem being who he would replace in the midfield, possibly Mikey or we have to sacrifice either Ivan or Zemmama to fit in the defensive midfielder.
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Konde played games in a defensive midfield role under Mowbray!
Not suggesting he would stop us having to purchase a player to do this job 'well' but he is an option! |
I don't think the problem with this team is ability: I think it's in their heads.
This season already, we've been up at Killie, Parkhead and now Pittodrie and ended up with zero points. That's absolutely rubbish. I think the last 4 games at Parkhead we've been ahead every time, and won once. 4 wins out of 6 against Rangers...We are as good as we think we are, maybe even better. There's something missing though.
In the last 2 seasons we've become a sort of bogey team to the Huns, that's all, our record against Celtic is shit, and we are poor against teams we should be on a par with ie Yams, Kilmarnock, Aberdeen etc. Our results against the Dons are piss poor we have raely beat them home or away for a while 2-1, 1-1, 1-0, 4-0, 1-2 etc etc it's not good enough are Aberdeen to us what we are to Rangers? It's your kind of train of thought that's giving our squad and support delusions of grandeur! We're not that good! We shouldn't fall into the trap of 'believing'! I do agree with you on one point, there is something missing! I would suggest it's points on the league table! |
wELL said Davie! Also many good points made by GM, KH n Bobby S.
Hibs are not a good team. We are an inconsistent team with two outstanding players (Broonie n Thommo), the rest are over-rated (Stewart, Whitty etc), competent (Jones, Martis), past it (Glass) or plain shite (Zibi). On our day (huns, first 25 mins v hertz) we are a joy to watch, but our inability to hold onto leads and capitalise on pressure and our apparent penchant for throwing matches away: Killie Celtic hertz last night means that this Hibs team really reminds me of Blackley's during 85-86. I would say that we've largely got better players than that team (with the obvious exception of John Collins) but if we continue to mirror them then we'll have one mofo of a topsy-turvy season. If you could up the work 'schizophrenia' in the dictionary it defines it as 'Hibernian FC's current form'. And for those of us who believe we're gonnae finish second, dream on. Sure you've no been inhaling that Lithuanian Lithium? Clearly, the new manager and his methods and team selections and possible changes of personnel in January will be absolutely crucial to our progress (or not this season) but with the tims virtually guaranteed the title, the huns likely to improve, hertz (as long as the three shaggy rebels remain) stronger and more consistent than us, killie and aberdeen the same then we'll do well to finish in sixth place. That is the sad and unpleasant reality. And the first thing that the new boss should do is punt that feckin' useless eejit Zibi cos having an uncommunicative clown like him not commanding his area, nor communicating effectively with his defence leads them to make errors. He's got to go!