Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,405 | Posts: 598,678 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat
Is it Really Such A Great Loss???
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. . Lets look forward................. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Re: Is it Really Such A Great Loss???
yes, but life goes on. Jones and Martis are good acquisition. The midfield he inherited is one of the best in Scotland.
We are not the finished article up front, but we have talent that can be worked on, improved and definitely supplemented. As the songs says it's good to be a Hibee.
![]() Join Date: Sep 2006
We must stand tall in the face of adversity, that's part of supporting this wonderful club, if you can't take the lows as well as the highs, I suggest you bugger off and join the glory hunters from Gorgie, cos this isn't the club for you.
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
Well put People Look At Our Team , One Of If Not The Best Midfield In Scotland, Jones and Martis Solid, Wing Backs On the Day Sublime! Goalie And Up Front Need Work But Fletcher Will Be Good!!
<a href=" To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. src="http://r1.fodey.com/1f0d95c61b45946ad872fc2ee2039b07e.1.gif" border=0 width="402" height="146" alt="Ninja!"></a> |
I agree that Tony Mowbray has been wonderful for us and I will wish him well. Increased gates, attacking flair and respect.
However, I also believe his judgement in the transfer market can be questioned...For every Boozy, Murphy and Zemanna there has been a Malkowski, Simon Jones, Konte and Konde. Defensively, we have been really weak for the last two seasons. Okay we've got Jones and Martis now...but we need to start winning more 1-0 games, if we are going to really achieve. It is pointless gubbing the Huns, if we are going to lie down to Falkirk and St Mirren. |
Great loss? Kinda is and isnt. Heres the guy that enherited Williamson's squad and moulded into what we see today, for that he (Mowbray) deserves applaudits (sp).
Perhaps his inexperinace at being the 'main man' at a football club rather than a coach prevented us from going onto the next leval and showing such aspects as consistancy on the pitch. Now that Moggas away and we have a team used to playing a particular way of football the next manager could be able to take Hibs up another level and turn this great football into results week in week out. Just my two cents though To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Tony did do a good job for us, but being honest maybe it was time for him to leave as we got a bit of money out of it and we could well have a manager, i feel that the team that he has developed over the last couple years are one of the best teams we have ever had, and i mean you can tell, as we have been beating teams like Rangers and Celtic under Mogga while in the past we have failed to compete with these teams so i am pleased with what Mogga has done with the club but i feel maybe it is time to move on.
One worry for us is that maybe in the transfer window Mogga will come in for some of our star players that he has brought up, in the likes of Thommo and Brown but i think this depends if WBA do well up to the transfer window or not....I hope that anyone that the board brings in brings the club forward like Mogga has done as i am sure we all do, but if the board make the wrong descion then it could be disasterous with things like maybe the new manager will not bring throo the talent like Mogga has and play a different type of football which could once again see crowd attendances drop (i hope not).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We are hibernian fc , we hate jam tarts and we hate dundee we will fight wherever we will be, because we are the mental HFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The only team to sing about, the only team to see, the only team in Edinburgh, HibernianFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. In your Gorgie slums, you rake the bucket for something to eat, you find a dead rat and you think its a treat, in your Gorgie Slums
Yeah he's a loss. If we want to go for results at all costs then Yogi's the man for us. But I prefer to remember the positive attractive football Mowbray's teams played or aspired to play. Football that should be the tradition at ER.
Disnae always work oot like that though ...Bertie Auld.....the interminable, grim decade of Miller......Mr "If you want entertainment go to the pictures"..... So with memories of that anti-football trio, Mogga's Hibs were a breath of fresh air. |
I just hope the new boss can bring us the final piece of the puzzle....consistency
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
I wouldnae have chosen for him to leave now...but he has...so time to move on.
I look at is as an opportunity for things to move forward in a different direction: things were good under TM, but they werenae perfect, and the next manager might improve things. Consistency has been our infuriating problem and the next manager might address that better than TM & MV did. He might not mind, but, if he can keep the football philosophy he'll be half way there.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Sorry B!
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
Sounds good to me. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Some people mention his transfer record but in fairness when you are at our level of free transfers and paying x amount a week there are going to be hits and misses with transfers.Overall he did well except with the goalkeeping situation but the one thing you can say about Tony Mowbray's reign is that you walked into Easter Road with anticipation and not trepidation for the football you were about to see and for that i will always be grateful thank you Mogga.
I don't think we will miss Tony Mowbray as much as some think we will. The Hibs will continue and with this squad who knows what can happen with someone knew and a fresh start.
Someone like John Collins or Big Mixu can pump there passion for the club into the players and get that little bit more. The futures bright. ....... GGTTH. |
For what its worth , I think TM just ran out of steam at ER.
It may well be that losing O'connor and Deeks , and the task of replacing them was too hard a task for him . You can only do so much with the financial restrictions placed upon him, and I think he thought he'd gone as far as he could. It's also possible that he saw jan approaching quickly and also the possible loss of messrs thomson and broonaldo. Hibs and RP took a gamble on the guy, and it damn near paid off . 3rd & 4th place, uefa cup and a couple of semi finals was'nt a bad return. Best thing in his 28 months in Charge ? at times he scared the shit out of our opponents and had us fans in raptures at some of the silky skills we saw, for that he commanded respect and sadly thats why he's now away . The future ?? surely RP and his fellow directors must try and keep it fresh , keep the basis of the team playing as well as they have , and bring in a good solid technician who understands not only the game , but the passion for the club. Just has to be John Collins , dont it ??