Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,402 | Posts: 598,643 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 20-09-06, 22:29   #1

MUPPET is on the way to a first team debut

Thoughts On Benji ?

Glad to see him score tonight I think he just needs a wee break. But he is very frustrating and needs to keep things a bit simpler.

Superb performances all round tonight though.

MUPPET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 22:55   #2

Kill Stick Figures Champion!

Re: Thoughts On Benji ?

I think Benji was just desperate for a goal. Think he's trying really hard to impress and needs a goal to help him relax.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 22:56   #3

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

I think Benji was just desperate for a goal. Think he's trying really hard to impress and needs a goal to help him relax.
I agree. You can see there is a player there. He just looks like he's trying to hard.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 23:03   #4

Hibernator is on the way to a first team debut

Benji just has to pass more often
, TM gave him a roasting for showboating just before he scored, fairly threw himself at it from what I saw

Hibernator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 23:23   #5
Blackhall Radge

ct01 will become famous soon enough

Counterstrike: TA Champion!

Talented player still needing to adjust fully to the Scottish game imo. Good goal tonight though and excellent ball from Deano.
ct01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 23:55   #6
Radge Hibby Leither

leither#1 is on the way to a first team debut

see him kick the post after he scored

leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-06, 23:55   #7

Benji just needs to calm down a wee bit, and look for the pass more often. He tries to do too much work on the ball, and then when it doesn't work out he gets really frustrated. It is obvious he is a very talented player with two great feet and a great shot on him. I am surprised at how good he is in the air as well, and that was a cracking goal he scored tonight.

No doubt in my mind the guy will be a tremendous player for us over the years.
Old 21-09-06, 00:00   #8

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

He's trying too hard to take on players and it's just not working out at the moment. I thought he was starting to come into his game when Zemamma was playing. No doubt he just needs time, he has loads of good attributes and gives his all.

Blog
Old 21-09-06, 00:19   #9

I loved his reaction when he scored. Says it all for me.

He's adjusting to the game and he'll come very good.
Old 21-09-06, 00:43   #10

Briant will become famous soon enough

IMO Benji has a barrel load of footbal talent. He can run with the ball and dribble past players for fun if it all goes well for him. He likes to play other players in with clever flicks and stepovers and he can also have a shot at goal from nowhere.

The way he set up Broonaldo for his goal tonight was typical of the way he likes to play, fooling deffenders with a pass that nobody expects.

The unfortunate thing about Benji's play is that sometimes the Hibs players dont expect his flicks and stepovers and the ball is wasted. If he could play the simle pass more often it would bring better results. TM has said he wants his players to nutmeg opponents and do clever things with the ball so that is what we have to expect. But there must be times when passing is better than trickery and getting the players to know when to do that is what TM needs to get across.

Against teams like tonight I am delighted to see Benji try all the tricks, but when we play better opponents he must consider the options for the good of the team. Personally I am delighted to have Benji in the team and hope he continues to play and improve under TM's coaching.
Briant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 00:57   #11

IMO Benji has a barrel load of footbal talent. He can run with the ball and dribble past players for fun if it all goes well for him. He likes to play other players in with clever flicks and stepovers and he can also have a shot at goal from nowhere.

The way he set up Broonaldo for his goal tonight was typical of the way he likes to play, fooling deffenders with a pass that nobody expects.

The unfortunate thing about Benji's play is that sometimes the Hibs players dont expect his flicks and stepovers and the ball is wasted. If he could play the simle pass more often it would bring better results. TM has said he wants his players to nutmeg opponents and do clever things with the ball so that is what we have to expect. But there must be times when passing is better than trickery and getting the players to know when to do that is what TM needs to get across.

Against teams like tonight I am delighted to see Benji try all the tricks, but when we play better opponents he must consider the options for the good of the team. Personally I am delighted to have Benji in the team and hope he continues to play and improve under TM's coaching.

Ad that to the fact that he has been unlucky in some games with shots that were deflected and with some that produced great saves (Deanos goal gainst Dumpdee disunited (brilliant as that was) was a case in point. Totally agree its a delight to see him try bamboozling defenders.

As an aside
During tonights game - at a point when I had lost count but I think we were 5 up - benji tried to beat 3 players just outside the box and lost the ball to the third player, the guy in front of me shouted "benji you arse you should have passed that" or words to that effect. I had to comment and using all the tact and diplomacy I could muster I felt obliged to point out to the gentleman in question that he should shut the fuck up and support what benji was trying to do.............sometimes its all about entertainment.

Old 21-09-06, 07:05   #12

blue toon hibby is a jewel in the roughblue toon hibby is a jewel in the rough

Benji sorely need that goal for his confidence as his head was beginning to go down last night. Still needs a wee bit of time to adjust to the Scottish game and a bit of coaching to look for the pass rather than go on a mazy - definitely one for the future though.

I remember when Dean Shiels first got into the team - he got a roasting from many supporters. He took time to adjust to the fact you don't get much time on the ball in the SPL and look how it is paying off in his case. Benji will be a big player for us.
Old 21-09-06, 08:35   #13
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge

wehateharry is on the way to a first team debut

Very good point Briant, I noticed this aswell.
I also noticed that when he plays with Zemamma that the link up play is much better as
they seem to be able to read each other a lot better.
wehateharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 10:56   #14
Get it up ye ya radge

ghfc is on the way to a first team debut

Agree with most of the above, he was desperate for a goal last night, but took the header well [sublime cross BTW].

Great talent. And, if he wants to chip in with the winning goal everytime we play the Gunts then i'll be a happy camper.
Old 21-09-06, 11:31   #15
Good Girl Gone Radge

Looby-Lou will become famous soon enough

Tin hat on.

I am really not convinced about him! I will not give him pelters but I have tried - and I cannot really see him doing much for us!

Sorry!
Looby-Lou is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 12:37   #16

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Benji is making 'Tony's' job very easy for him on Saturday as there is now a lot (well four
) players who are in line for a starting place in Shiels,Zemmama,Sproule and Fletcher all of who on recent form could be accomodated in place of Benji.

Benji has the advantage though of being the only out and out striker(Is Konte still at the club? and Morrow just disnae matter) who gives an alternative to Killen so his place might be safe for a while yet but he has had a very average season who is still living off 'that goal' but when it clicks for him it might click big time.

He wasn't the worst or best Hibs player last night there was 9 other players who put in a superb shift and then there was Jay S who played like a Gretna player and by accident fully justified the managers decision to retain Whittaker in the right back spot at the start and hopefully for the rest of the season.

Nice rotation by 'Tony' last night and there are going to be a few grumpy players left out on Saturday.

Ariggo Sachi.

Last edited by SlovSam; 21-09-06 at 12:57.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 13:45   #17

Fly On Drug Champion! Makai Hockey Champion!

hes a great talent who just tries to hard sometimes but definetly a big player for us once he adjusts to the scottish game

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 13:46   #18
I'm a Pogues Radge

hibbymick is on the way to a first team debut

I for one was glad to see Benji score last night.. This left wing stuff does not suit his all round play.. Agreed he does seem to be more relaxed when Zemmama is on park too... then again so would i be if i was playing in the Hibs team just now.. A joy to watch..:YAYYY:
Old 21-09-06, 16:23   #19

I was glad to see Benji last night, and glad he scored...but there are still parts of his game that really piss me off, he gives the ball away to much and say in a big game if he keeps doing that we are going to lose goals, he needs to pass more and stop being greedy aswell...but great talent and think in the future he will be a big player for us and score many goals.

bigmanandy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-06, 17:54   #20
Loves a Bevy Radge

BellBoy1 is on the way to a first team debut

i fought he was ok but he still needs to improve his all round performance and stop tryin fancy stuff and giving the ball away
BellBoy1 is offline   Reply With Quote