On This Date In History (9/11)
Thirteen years ago today: Saturday 11 September 1993, Hibs 2-1 Aberdeen. Years before most laymen had heard of Al-Quaeda and when Hollywood directors and blockbuster writing authors had yet to dream up the outlandish notion of religious zealots hi-jacking planes, carrying hundreds of civilians, and crashing them into gargantuan edifices representing the wealthiest excesses of American capitalism Hibs hosted the previous season's nearly men, Aberdeen. The Dons had finished runners-up to Rangers in the league and lost 2-1 in both the Scottish Cup and League Cup finals. Much as I hate to admit it, that 1992-93 season featured the best Rangers team since, probably, 1972 and they could probably consider themselves a bit unfortunate to finish runners-up in their CL section to a Marseille team featuring a certain Franck Sauzee.
Aberdeen had won all five encounters against us the previous year, including two victories featuring late goals as they came from behind at Easter Road. They also knocked us out the Scottish Cup semi at an eerily atmospheric Swinecastle. Their boys got a healthy doing off the park that day, but, unfortunately, the CCS have never been able to claim credit for any Hibernian cup finals! The previous Saturday they'd emerged victorious from Parkheed while we'd been pretty fortunate to gain a point at Rugby Park, with Jim Leighton proving why he was such a good signing. However, Hibs, going down the slope, attacked them with zest from the kick-off and it was no shock when recent signing from Falkirk Kevin McAllister gave us the lead with a rasping shot after eight minutes. Our attacking play with McAllister on fire was a joy to watch and Keith Wright's goal shortly before the break, which doubled our lead, was thoroughly deserved. The tempo in the second half was slower than the frenetic cup tie pace of the first half but Hibs never looked like losing their two goal advantage. When Duncan Shearer halved the deficit, with a quite magnificent goal in injury time, it was too little, too late for Aberdeen. Guys like myself often denigrate Alex Miller, but, to be fair to the guy, his team between 1993 and 1995 played some great football. I just felt he stayed too long and he should have done the honourable thing and resign after the Scottish Cup exit to Killie on Sat 27 Jan 96. I was one of the 'morons' (Dougie Cromb) calling for his head outside the old main stand entrance that miserable evening. Seven years ago, Saturday 11 September 1999, Dundee Utd 3-1 Hibs. I was up from Wales for this one, with my then girlfriend. Me, her, Craven, Muffer, Luke and Andy Kerr all got on a bus at Waterloo Place and had a couple of drinks in some boozer on Clepington Road pre-match. There was a huge Hibs support there as everyone was rejuvenated after our promotion. I'll always recall the amount of beer bellied Hibbies in ill-fitting new away tops that day! A lot of people have knocked that season's luminous, traffic copper effort but (possibly ma taste's in ma erse-conkers) I liked it! Non (my ex) had green lipstick and green nail varnish with her that day (there'd been an Apple Sourz promotion at the boozer I worked at) and me and Craven entered the ground (we sat in the enclosure behind the goal) with 'HIBS' in green down our knuckes. She also put green lipstick on another guy who was standing behind us in the queue! I went for a piss as soon as we got in and, consequenly, missed United's opener but as I walked back down the Hibs support were chanting: THERE'S ONLY ONE DARREN JACKSON ONLY ONE DARREN JACKSON WI A PACKET AE SWEETS N A CHEEKY WEE SMILE JACKSON IS A PHUCKIN PAEDOPHILE! (Possibly some of our more PC fans found that chant offensive, or thought it dragged Hibernian's 'name through the mud' because, of course, DJ isnae actually a Cadbury's Feast. Just what did the PC prattlers on the CowShed do in those pre-Bounce days when they didn't have this website to use as a soapbox?). Jackson had, of course, recently signed for the scum. There wasn't a lot in it in the first half but three minutes into the second half Russell Latapy scored a wonder goal, taking the ball, turning a United defender inside out and unleashing a shot that flew into the bottom corner of the net, directly in front of us (we were sat right down the front). A laddie no far from us was deemed to have over-celebrated and was huckled by the Tayside Gestapo, but the steward in front of me commented 'what a peach'! Hibs certainly looked good for a point but with about twenty minutes left David Hannah volleyed the ball from abotu forty yards and it flew, at an awkward angle, into the roof of the net. To be fair to Ole (a keeper I did not rate) he had no chance. It was a total fluke. In injury time substitute Billy Dodds went down like he'd been bitten on the erse, before getting up in rude good health and converting the subsequent penalty. Hibs hadn't been brilliant but I felt a draw would have been a fairer result. Reading the following day's papers, on the train down to Cardiff, most reporters concurred. Two years ago today: Saturday 11 September 2004, Inverness CT 1-2 Hibs. Two Derek Riordan goals, one in each half, gave us victory at Pittodrie. The crowd was less than 2,000 and we due to play there again a fornight later. I listened to the game on the radio and had a teetotal day as I was preparing for the Evening News sponsored 10K the following day. I ran it in my Hibs strip (6-2 top) as a good friend's Dad sadly died that Saturday. Finished in 45 minutes, 51 seconds. No bad for an alcoholic junkie!
Re: On This Date In History (9/11)
The gadgey was one David Ormiston, or Omo as he's better known, he travelled up to Tanndeechy on the Gunner bus, but did'nae travel back. He was locked up for the weekend and fined a hunner and fifty quid for the henious crime of "falling off the wall onto the track", although he claimed in his defence he was pushed by ...
Dudge - is that Omo that used tae drink in The Lorne (when Boaby had it) and sometimes the Balfour n all? Pals wi Ronnie Nisbet and all that crowd?
If it is then I know Omo. Used to see him in Mood sometimes when me n Welshy went up on a Friday night. Good Hibbie, Omo. The guy I ken anyway.
wis'nae me but I know who it was. Quote:
same guy