Old 05-09-06, 20:02   #1

hibsbollah is on the way to a first team debut
Debt

Anyone know when we are due to produce our financial figures? I'd like to see how the debt is progressing; surely with the oconnor money, increased ticket sales, shirt sales, and the big wage earners gone i would like to think it would be down to about half of the 9.3million we got it down to last year?

Last year we got our financial report in July, who so late this year?
hibsbollah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 21:12   #2

Re: Debt

Anyone know when we are due to produce our financial figures? I'd like to see how the debt is progressing; surely with the oconnor money, increased ticket sales, shirt sales, and the big wage earners gone i would like to think it would be down to about half of the 9.3million we got it down to last year?

Tell me to mind my own business but do you have a Mortgage on a home?

(This is related to your post..)
Old 05-09-06, 21:15   #3

I do
(most of us do i bet
)
Old 05-09-06, 21:18   #4

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

I do
(most of us do i bet
)
Unless it's cooncil.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 21:20   #5

Unless it's cooncil.

Imagine the shock the cooncil would get

Old 05-09-06, 21:30   #6

hibsbollah is on the way to a first team debut

Yep i've got a mortgage (have i made some major error with my maths which i'm sure you're about to point out for me?)
hibsbollah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 21:58   #7

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

ive got no idea bollah. i think the finances should be good though.

your maths appears fine by the way but it was never my fav subject.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 22:01   #8
Sunshine On Leith Radgette

HibeeN is on the way to a first team debut

My Maths is good.

Isn't something like about £6.5m of the £9m debt is actually payments on the stadium rather than other costs?
Not sure when they'll be released - you're right, it is later than last year.
HibeeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 22:55   #9

Davy is on the way to a first team debut

well they said they went down 1m last year and the o'connor money might be in a seperate budget for transfer fees? I would expect us to go down another 1-1.5m (excluding o'connors money). However did someone not say we had an extra loan to start repaying over the last year? Then of course the training ground will cost. I should expect us to go down about 1m each year over the next 5 years (with the academy being added to cost) then a lot quicker. Though maths wasnt my strongest subject
And thats why I think we will sell one player for 1m or more at least every second season

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-06, 23:49   #10

Yep i've got a mortgage (have i made some major error with my maths which i'm sure you're about to point out for me?)
No just that Sir Tom Farmer is on record as saying a mortgage isn't really regarded as a debt..

Therefore the Hibs 'Debt'?
Old 06-09-06, 01:10   #11

HibeeBrasileiro is on the way to a first team debut

No just that Sir Tom Farmer is on record as saying a mortgage isn't really regarded as a debt..

Therefore the Hibs 'Debt'?
IIRC a mortgage or loan over an extended period is treated in accounting terms as a longterm liabilty. Counter-intuitively as it appears at first, this is ADDED to the balance sheet. The expense comes in the interest payments which are subtracted.
HibeeBrasileiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-06, 09:07   #12

IIRC a mortgage or loan over an extended period is treated in accounting terms as a longterm liabilty. Counter-intuitively as it appears at first, this is ADDED to the balance sheet. The expense comes in the interest payments which are subtracted.
Therefore the club 'debt' is much less than the spin?
Old 06-09-06, 09:14   #13

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Therefore the club 'debt' is much less than the spin?
Only whilst Petrie and Farmer have control over spending at ER.Watch the Debt reduce dramatically and longterm liability become the new phrase used next year when they are looking to bail.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-06, 09:39   #14

Unless it's cooncil.

Or you own it outright.

Old 06-09-06, 09:45   #15

emerald green will become famous soon enough

Farmer IS MINTED.

He could pump £50MILLION into HIBERNIANS' account from his personal monies and it wouldn't make one iota of a difference to hispersonal life or businesses. Not one.

For him to MAKE money on HIBERNIAN is a disgrace.

To charge HIBERNIAN higher interest rates than they would get elsewhere (quoted earlier in the thread) is a disgrace.

You cannae take yer cash when yer deed Sir T!

Just a wee bit of "proper" investment in HIBERNIAN in the last 3yrs and we could have scooped league titles and cups. The champions of this country in the last 5yrs have been the poorest in my lifetime in both league and cups. We have NEVER had an owner who is so RICH in our glorious history.

Memo to Sir T : Scrap Lourdes! Help the HIBERNIANS!
emerald green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-06, 13:08   #16

Bossie will become famous soon enough

The end of Hibs financial year is 31 July, but the accounts are not typically signed off and published until mid-late September - last year it was around 20 September.
Old 06-09-06, 14:05   #17
Aged Radge

He certainly is!

He could pump £50MILLION into HIBERNIANS' account from his personal monies and it wouldn't make one iota of a difference to hispersonal life or businesses. Not one.
Other than he'd be down £50 million, but I take your point. He has made it clear that he WON'T pump said £50M in though, so it's of no consequence.

I don't mind him getting a reasonable return on his investment. Why shouldn't he?

To charge HIBERNIAN higher interest rates than they would get elsewhere (quoted earlier in the thread) is a disgrace.
Now THAT would be a disgrace. If true.

I seem to recall I asked Rodders about this very point a year or two ago, and he categorically denied it. Or he confused me into thinking he did.

That I think IS true.

Just a wee bit of "proper" investment in HIBERNIAN in the last 3yrs and we could have scooped league titles and cups. The champions of this country in the last 5yrs have been the poorest in my lifetime in both league and cups. We have NEVER had an owner who is so RICH in our glorious history.
Supposition.
If we had 'invested' more dosh then maybe the OF would have simply started poaching/unsettling more of our team. Or raised the wages spiral again and we would be in the same submarine as the Gunts.

I'd like to see him put in a programme of long term investment rather than simply line a few players pockets for a couple of years.

Maybe something like a football academy.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 06-09-06, 14:58   #18

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Farmer IS MINTED.

£50 Million to anyone makes a difference.

Regarding charging Hibs higher interest rates than they would get from a bank, from what I understand, he has lent no money to Hibs, he guarantee's the debt Hibs owe to the bank, so I'd imagine Hibs get charged the same by RBOS as all the other clubs.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-06, 15:06   #19

£50 Million to anyone makes a difference.

Regarding charging Hibs higher interest rates than they would get from a bank, from what I understand, he has lent no money to Hibs, he guarantee's the debt Hibs owe to the bank, so I'd imagine Hibs get charged the same by RBOS as all the other clubs.
I seem to remember that there was a small loan from STF to the club?

Where's Lanark?
Old 06-09-06, 15:08   #20
Lix
Sharky Radge