View Poll Results: More or Less Confident?
More 63 76.83%
Less 19 23.17%
Voters: 82. You may not vote on this poll

Old 27-08-06, 15:56   #1

6 Games Into The Season Are You More Or Less Confident?

Unfortunately i've only been to three of the games but on the first hand and TV evidence i really think we are going to click very soon and go on a tremendous run.

I really feel that this season is going to suprise us all. Really there's nothing to fear from anyone in the SPL..

Gutted that there is an enforced 2 week break..
Old 27-08-06, 16:04   #2
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough
Re: 6 Games Into The Season Are You More Or Less Confident?

Unfortunately i've only been to three of the games but on the first hand and TV evidence i really think we are going to click very soon and go on a tremendous run.

I really feel that this season is going to suprise us all. Really there's nothing to fear from anyone in the SPL..

Feel the same.
Felt we were 2 players short of a good team to start with (and said so on here) but with the signings of Zemmama and Martis I think we look sooperb!

Being picky I'd still like to see a poacher and a goalie, but the way we played Cellick off the park for the first hour yesterday is enough to tell me we've nothing to fear from anyone this year. And that's enough for me....

Lix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 16:08   #3

Certainly feel more confident than i did after the Odense game at
Easter Road. I thought we had went back three tears and were playing long ball stuff which was neither good to watch or effective.
After the last few games with Zemmama in, i'm quite sure we'll be
there or thereabouts for Europe next season. We really need
a change of goalkeeper though

Old 27-08-06, 16:23   #4

more some of the football we're playing is outstanding and if we can keep that up for 90 mins then we're in for a good season and if we get another striker then great

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 16:29   #5

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

i have no fears for the coming season, and i honestly think our team is better than it was last year. our defence is stronger and our midfield is IMO the best in the league. once benji has settled, i think a decent goalkeeper is the only thing we're lacking.
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 16:35   #6

I think Mowbray will sign a striker this week as we really need more competition up front. Killen, Fletcher, and Benji are our only recognised strikers at the moment. Konte looks like he could be away, and nobody knows when Sam Morrow will re-appear. If we can get someone in to play alongside Killen, then we will be as strong as any side in the SPL in my opinion.

Look at Rangers today, a draw at Killie despite having the prolific Kris Boyd in their ranks. Celtic were made to look ordinary yesterday by a side which is capable of beating anyone. Yes, Zibby is not ideal as a keeper, but he is Mowbray's keeper, and he will remain our goalie for the season.

I wish we didn't have this 2 week break, but we simply have to beat teams like Dundee United in a fortnights time. I think we will go on a run soon, similar to last season at this time.

I still think the worst we will finish will be fourth. The SPL isn't really that good, and other teams will suffer injuries and bad form as well.
Old 27-08-06, 17:04   #7

broonaldo1875 is on the way to a first team debut

been some good football so far. glad the defence is sorted! if we sign a (decent) keeper this week we could go onto have another good year.
utd next week hope we get a good crowd up ther and get right behind the team.
broonaldo1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 17:58   #8

Feel the same.
Felt we were 2 players short of a good team to start with (and said so on here) but with the signings of Zemmama and Martis I think we look sooperb!

Being picky I'd still like to see a poacher and a goalie, but the way we played Cellick off the park for the first hour yesterday is enough to tell me we've nothing to fear from anyone this year. And that's enough for me....

I agree with most of that. But I watched the highlights on Setanta today and the goals we lost were shocking. The amount of players we had in the box for the first but ended up losing a goal was embarassing. The 2nd Whittaker and Martis were sleeping and just stood and watched as the boy followed up on the ball.

I thought the defence looked good against Motherwell but I just wonder how they looked against Celtic for the whole game
The goals were certainly poor goals to lose but the defence is new to each other and will need a bit of time to gel.

I'm still very confident for the season ahead. We are so so close to having a brilliant team. And why cant we be getting 3rd place if not 2nd. The Huns have dropped points again, Celtic have been dropping points and the yams have been poor all season untill yesterday.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 18:43   #9

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

It's hard not to be more confident as all the new signings have started well and the football on show has been pleasing to the eye though this hasn't yet been rewarded with the deserved end product in terms of points.

However it's difficult to see where the necessary goals are going to come from that would turn a 4th placed side into one that can challenge further up the league and the major goalkeeping weakness looks like it will remain for another season.

'Scotland's Shame', Celtic and Hearts are all definetly beatable in one off games but it's the bread and butter of Inverness, Dundee Utd and Kilmarnock away that ultimately determine the final league postion.

Aberdeen and Kilmarnock prior to the season starting looked like Hibs major challenges for 4th however I am much more confident that Hibs can maintain 4th place ahead of these clubs though due to greater resources Celtic and 'Scotland's Shame' are uncatchable.

However I wouldn't rule out Hibs giving Hearts a very decent run for third
but this really needs Hibs to maintain a settled injury free team as you don't want to scratch to far below the surface.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 19:05   #10

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

i don't feel as confident as i have been. i think the lack of a decent goalie and the killer instinct up front will cost us. maybe even at the price of a top 6 place. i hope i'm wrong, but i rarely am.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 19:56   #11

keekaboo1875 is on the way to a first team debut

i don't feel as confident as i have been. i think the lack of a decent goalie and the killer instinct up front will cost us. maybe even at the price of a top 6 place. i hope i'm wrong, but i rarely am.
I've got fears for the coming season for the very same reasons. I don't think Benji, Chris Killen or Ivan are going to get too many goals. I'm a lot less concerned about the defence than I was before, with the obvious exception of the GK position. I expect TM knows where we need to strengthen but we aren't exactly in a position to go and sign a Kris Boyd type striker, though it shouldn't be THAT hard to find a better goalie than either of the two we have.
keekaboo1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-06, 19:57   #12

i think the lack of a decent goalie and the killer instinct up front will cost us.
Maybe Mogga will address both this week?

I feel certain a forward will arrive and if not a Goalkeeper then it could be time for the young keeper to be given his opportunity?
Old 28-08-06, 09:57   #13

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Before any games had been played I had high expectations and thought Hibs would get into UEFA qualifying and be sitting on about 12 points by this stage!

I suppose now I'm less confident than I was.

We may look good and are 'ready to click' but it hasn't happened yet and the longer it goes on the more points we lose, 5 points is a shoddy return after the teams we've played and we've still to play Rangers and Hearts! It's all very well saying we fear no one and our Midfield is great but if we can't grind out results and score goals to finish teams of we'll go nowhere, I think the Fans possibly think the team is better than the team believes!

Celtic din't look good and they aren't a strong side, but they still turned us over! As posted on another thread we have presently (and have done for quite some time) an inability to finish teams off. Celtic should've had no way back on Saturday.

To do well, we need to improve the goalkeeping and start capitalising on the countless chances we receive.
Old 28-08-06, 10:15   #14

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

THe defence is looking much better (and is also scoring goals). THat was the worst part of last season (in my opinion), mistakes made by the defence, lack of communication. BUt I don't have to tell youse that.

I think if we keep it tight at the back then we are close to scoring enough goals. We lost Riordan & O'Connor who scored most of the goals but we now have more folk scoring. Like Mowbray says, the goals should be spread out through the team not confined to one or two. Of course if we had that with the addition of a Joe Baker, I couldnae really complain.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-06, 10:50   #15

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Far less confident. We are 9th in the league with 5 points, which is a very poor return when you look at the fixtures we have had.

Fair enough, the defence looks better but it wont make a difference if we keep playing Zibi in goals.

I thought we might challenge Hearts for 3rd but already they have a wee lead on us and have played both halves of the OF. 4th is best we can hope for. We might even struggle to make that.
Old 28-08-06, 10:56   #16

We're going to lose a lot less goals cause the defence is so much better than it has been over the last couple of years. We look far less likely to collapse defensively, Saturday being a case in point where we lost two goals fairly quickly, and had a shaky wee 10 minutes after, but we didn't concede any more. That gave us a platform to have another go in the last bit of the game where we managed to put them under pressure again. That to me is the most encouraging bit because we didn't completely lose our shape. I am convinced that last season after losing those 2 goals we would have probably went on to lose more as defenders started getting out of position.

Up front we probably won't score as many goals but we shouldn't need to. Benji is looking to me like a player who will score goals, Fletcher needs a goal to get him up and running, and when Killen is fit he will get a few. Between the three of them we should end up with roughly the same or not too many less than we'd get out of O'Connor and Riordan. Unfortunately that means we are missing the 10 or so additional goals that Fletcher got last year, so the midfield has to step up a bit more with either Thomson or Stewart starting to score a few.

There's signs over the last couple of games that Thomson and Stewart are starting to click as a partnership in midfield with the two of them working a lot better together. I wasn't convinced they would ever be able to play together but I've started to change my mind about that. With those two, Scott Brown (who we just cannot afford to lose), and Zemamma we are starting to look like we are getting the balance right in midfield. With Boozy, Glass, Jamie McCluskey, and Dean Shiels also pushing, that's at a minimum as good a midfield as any in the league.

The keepers still pish right enough...

Overall I'm probably a bit more confident than I was at the start of the season. Zemamma has given us a huge lift, Benji is starting to convince, and the defence looks it can actually defend which at least has a novelty value.

Bring on the rest of the season.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 28-08-06, 11:20   #17
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

impressed with the way we are playing but not with the amount of chances we are missing, hopefully more goals will come
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-06, 23:26   #18

We're going to lose a lot less goals cause the defence is so much better than it has been over the last couple of years. We look far less likely to collapse defensively, Saturday being a case in point where we lost two goals fairly quickly, and had a shaky wee 10 minutes after, but we didn't concede any more. That gave us a platform to have another go in the last bit of the game where we managed to put them under pressure again. That to me is the most encouraging bit because we didn't completely lose our shape. I am convinced that last season after losing those 2 goals we would have probably went on to lose more as defenders started getting out of position.

Up front we probably won't score as many goals but we shouldn't need to. Benji is looking to me like a player who will score goals, Fletcher needs a goal to get him up and running, and when Killen is fit he will get a few. Between the three of them we should end up with roughly the same or not too many less than we'd get out of O'Connor and Riordan. Unfortunately that means we are missing the 10 or so additional goals that Fletcher got last year, so the midfield has to step up a bit more with either Thomson or Stewart starting to score a few.

There's signs over the last couple of games that Thomson and Stewart are starting to click as a partnership in midfield with the two of them working a lot better together. I wasn't convinced they would ever be able to play together but I've started to change my mind about that. With those two, Scott Brown (who we just cannot afford to lose), and Zemamma we are starting to look like we are getting the balance right in midfield. With Boozy, Glass, Jamie McCluskey, and Dean Shiels also pushing, that's at a minimum as good a midfield as any in the league.

The keepers still pish right enough...

Overall I'm probably a bit more confident than I was at the start of the season. Zemamma has given us a huge lift, Benji is starting to convince, and the defence looks it can actually defend which at least has a novelty value.

Bring on the rest of the season.
Great assessment Wee162. Just hope Tony can get a player or two in tomorrow..

Interesting season this is going to be.