Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,402 | Posts: 598,638 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat
Have you ever stood on the jungle?
We even had another Kane goal disallowed for offside. Which BBC Old Firm elected not to show during their highlights programme. It is the one and only time I've watched Hibs from an end other than our own and, even though I was only 13 at the time, I wouldn't do it again. Good day all round, hertz lost at home to a Maurice Malpas goal and Alex Miller's Buddies beat the huns. THE CLASS OF '85! |
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
Re: Have you ever stood on the jungle?
We with a workmate of mine about 30 years ago and seen the Tic v the Huns, you talk about hatred and animals. I felt realy embarassed because l think we were the only one who did not stand and piss on the spot, must be a Glasgow tradition. It was a scarry place to be and thank God it has gone but the mental attitude of their fans still remain, that why a can always hold my head up and say l support HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB
Actually, I have To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I was in the Jungle the day the match got abandoned cos o' fog, when Hibs were 2-0 up wae 10 minutes to go. Actually there was quite a few Hibbies in the Jungle that day To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The biggest carve-up in Scottish fitbaw history. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We replayed the game a couple o' months later, in the midweek, and drew 1-1 wae the bassa's. The SDB's have a cheek to talk about conspiracy theories against them after that little farce. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Too phuckin true Colin. Funny you mention that game cos (years later when I was workin at Legal & General in Cardiff) during that halcyon summer of 1999 I was showin my planet saturn Hibs badge tattoo off in O'Neills and an ex-squaddie Hibbie came up to me and told me all aboo that game! Good kant he was as well! Mad as a phuckin badger but a good Hibbie!
HI-BEES HERE HI-BEES THERE HI-BEES EVERY PHUCKIN WHERE! NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA |
can ye get him tae tell me all about it tae To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 16, and I'd just been introduced to the Auld Alliance of Pomagne and Scotsmac(The Bam's Dram) To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Done it a couple of times at Parkhead (including the 3-1 win two seasons ago which was on the difficult side!) sitting wi a mate, and done it at Tannadice under Duff Jim after a ticket feck up.
Hasn't bothered me tbh. It was actually harder at Tannadice when I was on my jacks than when you are sitting with someone you know and can talk about the game.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
I was at that game too with a Celtic supporting pal. We were in the Hibs bit and I can see myself when the Sportscene To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. pans across the sparse Hibs support at Kano's goal. Was in the jungle once. I was walking alone behind the jungle, minutes to go and Hibs getting beaten. We got a corner down at the Celtic end and I through the open gates to watch it but since it was Hibs the corner was shite and easily cleared. |
I had a chance to go to Zambia when i was 15 but decided against it. Thts more the savannah than the jungle anyway...
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. i'll get my coat |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Nah, don't get your coat mate! I liked that one!, in fact I'd been trying to think of something along the same lines. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
I haven't been in the jungle against Hibs but was in the hertz end when
they beat us a couple of seasons ago at swiney. 2-1 game, we scored in the last minute. I was in the old stand with my mate (great guy, pity he's a yam) and went for a fag at half-time in the toilets. Once in there a steady dribble of hertz 'boys' came in, a few of whom recognised me, the ones who didn't seemed to be sizing me up. Got a few grudging nods and quiet hiyas until their 'top boy' asked if i was going to Basle the next week. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Their faces were a picture when i replied loudly "GTF, the only reason i'm in here is cos the school ends selt oot" Put my fag out and donderred back to my shitty wee rickety seat, with the young team who had been sizing me up having decided i was a bit too big for them if i was telling their main boys to 'feck off' To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Rep Power: 37 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 3000 Arcade Stats: |
Never been in the Jungle but I was in the yams equivalent years ago.
It was a derby (cant remember the year) but I couldnt get a ticket for the Hibs end. Two of my brothers were with me (Yams To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) and as far as I recall we got beat 2-1. Anyway, when the Yams scored all these canutes went ballistic. I stayed as calm as I could. I remember there was a guy in front of me with a party hat on and he was doing my nut in, jumping around and generally being a canute. I mentioned it to one of brothers and the next time they got a corner and the crowd went mental my brother ripped the hat of the feckers head so that I could see better. The Yams scored again, and again the crowd went radio rental, I stayed calm..Then the hibees stuck one in and I nearly jumped out of my skin, wanting to celebrate but knowing I was on a complete loser if I did. About 5 minutes to go brother 3 (another yam) wandered up to us and said "whats a feckin hibee doing in here" at the top of his voice, I was looking around same as everyone else. Scared the sh1t out of me Having 3 brothers that are yams that is. GGTTH
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
Sense a Movie theme coming on, youve no got another 3 bros anywhere have you? 7 Brides ........ To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ok im going To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Restalrig Radge
I stood in the Aberdeen end at Dundee, in the mid eighties, for a semi final. I lived in Aberdeen and got tickets for their end. My mate still lived in Edinburgh. He was bricking it but we never got any hassle.
Was in the Copland Road end when Hibs won 3-1, late sixties. I was only 13. No bother there either, I was with my old man, wee brother and uncle. Absolute heaven number 1. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I was in the Gorgie Road end when Stanton scored the equaliser 16 hours into injury time. I went bananas and thought I was going to get it big time. 10,000 pairs of eys looking at you, deasdscary. Absolute heaven number 2 To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The best one was in the front row of the new stand at Tynie, right on the half way line, the day it opened, Hunter scored and I had to sit and watch all you bastards going mental in the Hibs end. Absoluter agony, I had a big hooded sweat shirt on, I had to pull the hood up and look at my feet for 2 minutes. My Jambo mate nudged me and and asked me if I was alright, I turned round and looked up at his greetin face. I was trying tpo stop laughing that hard that I had tears in my eyes. I had to bite my finger really hard. Absolute heaven number 3 To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Never been on the old jungle but.
sat with the celtic fans when they beat us 6-nil in 2003 at CP as there was no wheelchair bit for away fans. so quiet you can hear what the players shout to each other. true to it's library stereotype. Sat in the main stand at tynecastle twice with my uncle for derbies. supposedly a mixed family section but there were few hibbies in it. that was awful. they won both games 1 nil, ian baird on one occassion, john robertson via a budgie blunder on the other. I remember asking my uncle innocently ' why are the hearts fans singing so many rangers songs?' To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. been in the celtic end of Ibrox too before with tim mates. that was great. a draw and a win for the smellies. some atmosphere. white hot.
A Very Happy Radge Tim
![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. it was ALMOST as good as when we periodically beat the huns, but not quite obviously. mind you, I'd support Arkans XI against them if need be To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The police were much nicer than they are when we go through there, more of a ' come on boys calm down' attitude. mind you, was a long time ago.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
As another Strathaven Hibby (Hi Scott) I've been in the Jungle with Celtic-minded mates a few times, but never at a Hibs game. I have however been in the old Copeland Road end when we won at Ibrox. It was (I think) 1971 and we won 3-1 with a young Peter Marinello ripping them up for arse-paper. I was a mere 12 year old, but still remember it vividly.
Have also been in the home sections for Hibs games at Tynecastle, Motherwell, Parkhead (Main Stand) and Tannadice. |
Rep Power: 42 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 5000 Arcade Stats: |
Was on the Jungle for the Hillsborough Disaster benefit match versus the magnificent Liverpool FC of that era. Moreover, we wore our Hibs tops/scarves.
We did wonder how they would take it but we were not alone - a few Partick strips, one Arabs top and a St Midden kit was also to be seen near us. We got no bother at all, only words of acknowledgement. Have been in the Govan Stand at Hunbrox too for an SPL game circa 1992/3...not exactly the same experience.