Old 25-08-06, 15:21   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
On This Date In History

Been a bit lax on these this week chaps. Very busy at work, but I had a liquid lunch an I really can't be phucked this afternoon so here goes:

Twenty-one years ago today: Hibs 1-2 hertz. Our first defeat of the season during 1984-85. Kano had put the Hibs a goal up after 43 minutes and this led to a pitch invasion of Jambos which, according to the following day's press, seriously disrupted Hibs' flow. Hibs had been dominating to this point. However, we held our lead to the interval but then Harry Potter (even he!) equalised for the scum six minutes into the second half which was cue for another pitch invasion by the scumbos. Which further disrupted the young Hibs team.

To my knowledge (and I will happily be corrected by anyone, I've not attended all subsequent 82 derbies including cup ties), this was the last time the jambos did this in a derby. Yes, I know, one of the lepers ran on and tried to attack the boy who tried to attack Robbo on 15.9.90, but they haven't taken the p!ss like that since. Have they?

Do you know what I attribute that to? Just like EGB pointed out the demise of sectarian singing coincided with the emergence of the CCS, I attribute the demise of 'hertz - the mob in Embra' to the CCS. They wouldn't phuckin dare. Cos since then, we are number one. (Please admins, I'm not glorifying soccer hooliganism - I'll drink next to the dancefloor in that disco tomorrow, down here - but the CCS did stop the scum takin the p!ss in Leith. End of.)

Unfortunately, the phuckin kantz then scored a late winner through Derek O'Connor in injury time. This was only hertz' third win in a derby since 1968. And second at Easter Road in that time.

Sad to relate, but (unknown to us at the time) this was KING PAT STANTON'S (who grew up just along fi ma Mum in Craigmillar) last Edinburgh derby.

Sixteen years ago today: Aberdeen 2-0 Hibs. First day of the season. First day of A SEASON WE WOULD NEVER HAVE PARTICPATED IN HAD THE OBESE PARASITE (can I say that on here? Keechback banned me for saying that? But, hey, I'm A-O-K! about it!) GOT HIS WAY!

Disappointing and difficult start to a disappointing and difficult season. I was at City-Scarborough that day. John 'Hun' McDonald played for the visitors and for 90 minutes I berated him for being a lowlife, cheating, dirty orange b@st@rd. 1981-82 penalty anyone?

Five years ago today: Hibs 1-4 Celtic. First meeting since the Scottish Cup Final and I was back living in Leith. The game was a 5.35 kickoff for Sky and it was great rolling up the Vicky about 1 o'clock, knowin I had a healthy four hours' peevin pre-match! Biggest boo of the afternoon was when we found out the scum had won at East End Park.

Me n the Moodz stopped at the Nip for a quick peeve just before headin off to the Holy Ground and it was strange seein Hibs take the field in purple, and Celtic in black. Fat lot of good the purple haze did us; the dodgers were 4 up in about 28 minutes, though for at least one of their goals the East Terrace linesmen was payin no attention to offside. A boy ran next to him an remonstrated n was subsequently banned. He was, reported in the EEN, a chef and long-standing season ticket holder.

Into the second half an it was a relief not to concede any more. As we were leavin, we stood by the corner (of the terracin, it's now blocked by that phuckin great advertisin hoardin) and saw Fenwick pull one back.

Footnote to the day - my old man was on a stag-do in Cork wi a load of his Welsh mates and managed to find a boozer to watch the game in. Of course, it was full of Celtic fans, but he met one guy that used to stay in Embra. This chap, upon hearin ma faither's a Hibbie, uttered the immortal words:
'YE COULD BE WORSE, YE COULD BE A PHUCKIN JAMBO'!
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 16:10   #2
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about
Re: On This Date In History

Five years ago today: Hibs 1-4 Celtic. First meeting since the Scottish Cup Final and I was back living in Leith. The game was a 5.35 kickoff for Sky and it was great rolling up the Vicky about 1 o'clock, knowin I had a healthy four hours' peevin pre-match! Biggest boo of the afternoon was when we found out the scum had won at East End Park.

Me n the Moodz stopped at the Nip for a quick peeve just before headin off to the Holy Ground and it was strange seein Hibs take the field in purple, and Celtic in black. Fat lot of good the purple haze did us; the dodgers were 4 up in about 28 minutes, though for at least one of their goals the East Terrace linesmen was payin no attention to offside. A boy ran next to him an remonstrated n was subsequently banned. He was, reported in the EEN, a chef and long-standing season ticket holder.

Into the second half an it was a relief not to concede any more. As we were leavin, we stood by the corner (of the terracin, it's now blocked by that phuckin great advertisin hoardin) and saw Fenwick pull one back.

Footnote to the day - my old man was on a stag-do in Cork wi a load of his Welsh mates and managed to find a boozer to watch the game in. Of course, it was full of Celtic fans, but he met one guy that used to stay in Embra. This chap, upon hearin ma faither's a Hibbie, uttered the immortal words:
'YE COULD BE WORSE, YE COULD BE A PHUCKIN JAMBO'!

I'm slightly embarrassed to say that I left this match at half time as I couldn't take any more. Moravcik's goal was a beauty though. Celtic could have drove a coach and horses through the gaps in our dreadful defence that day. Tall Paul helped ease the pain later that night though

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-06, 16:39   #3

i remember sitting with my dad in the old north stand in the game v hearts and remember the scum invading the pitch,for some reason the main memory is a lot of people with mohicans in the hearts end

i met derek o connor a few years ago and he is a pretty sound guy for a jambo
Old 26-08-06, 06:22   #4
Big Baldy Radge

Moodz will become famous soon enough

[quote=Seven Tattoos;495242]

Why did we go to the Nip? Was Tamsons shut!!??
Cannae mind..must have been drunk...
Moodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-06, 10:20   #5

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Sixteen years ago today: Aberdeen 2-0 Hibs. First day of the season. First day of A SEASON WE WOULD NEVER HAVE PARTICPATED IN HAD THE OBESE PARASITE (can I say that on here? Keechback banned me for saying that? But, hey, I'm A-O-K! about it!) GOT HIS WAY!
Funny how some games are strong reminders about something unconnected with football and I often think of this Aberdeen game when Saddam appears on the telly.

Kuwait had been invaded just weeks before (can't believe that was 16 years ago!) and if I remember right, the British hostages taken in Kuwait had just been paraded on TV with Saddam doing the old "ruffling the weans' heids" routine.

The newspapers that morning were beginning to bang the drum for war and I remember sitting in the beach end thinking that there's no way Saddam will voluntarily withdraw his troops and this will end in tears.

Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote