It's A Bit Of A Shock When You're Given Stick For First Time
Tommo's article from todays daily hun:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Just shows that players can take to heart what they here and read from the fans.
Re: It's A Bit Of A Shock When You're Given Stick For First Time
I have no doubt that he will develop into an even better player and will become a good captain for us but all in good time, hes young and its a big responsibility. Keep the chin up Kevin and show us what we all know you can do!!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
We all know Kevin is a special talent.
![]() Join Date: May 2003
IIRC, Thommo's start to last season was a bit slow as well. Last thing I would do is take the band from him, don't see what good that would do.
Good to see an improvement on Sat, but still short of his usual level of performance. Hopefully he will put the '£10 million' Celtic midfielder in his back pocket this Sat.
Sharky Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
Been saying for ages sometimes people should take a deep breath before posting ..... these guys DO read the sites and although it's not as bad IMO on here as over by, sometimes the abuse posted is just way OTT.
I never post immediately after a game (largely 'cos I'm usually in the pub!) but wouldn't anyway ... usually best to have a day's reflection ... not saying these guys shouldn't ever expect to read criticism, but sometimes what's posted is just abusive and not constructive. That said, I'm sure all of them surfing since Sat will be well pleased with the response of the fans to the performance v Well and hopefully that'll have them well bouncin' looking forward to tonight's game and moreso against Celtic at the weekend .... To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"To send your comments to Kevin Thomson just text DRTHOMSON (space) then your message to 84080 (53305 ROI) each text costs 25p (30cents ROI)"
Or post here for free. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
I think some of the stick he has had has been way over the top, granted he has not been at his best but calling for him to be stripped of the captaincy after a few games was too much
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Thomson was my choice for captain and I was delighted as I'm sure he was when he got it and I think he will do a good job representing our club both on and off the park To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. one of the best football players at Easter Road
I might be wrong, but I can't honestly remember seeing any posts on a Hibs website which said that Kevin Thomson should be "stripped of the captaincy". I do recall reading that some people were taking the view that the captaincy may be stalling his game a bit, and that perhaps it was a bit too much of a gamble by the manager giving a young player such a responsibility.
On a more general point, I feel that Kevin needs time to grow into the role, and he definately needs the fans support.
I'm sure he will grow into the role and I am glad to have a Hibby captain, but I'm sure it is a lot of extra pressure. Never doubted his football talent although I'd be happier if he chipped in with a few goals.
Well now that we know Kevin will be reading all of this..
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Negatives first. To be honest it's a bit of a shock to read what you've said in such an unfriendly rag towards the club you captain. Lets hope a condition of your deal with the Daily Record is that they stop printing pish and lies about us.. I was a wee bit critical of your performances at the start of the season as i know you are a fantastic player and were under performing. I was critical of the whole team as in my humble opinion the Inter Toto should have been our pass for full UEFA Cup participation and i thought we blew it.. However, it's great to see a local boy and a good Hibby captain our side. Also, i was in a Snooker centre recently on a Saturday evening and there you were with a fellow player playing pool and what a top professional you are. Not the pool - your hopeless - but no alcohol being consumed. You'll go far in the game because you have the talent, desire and profesionalism to do so. Just lift some silverware (Scottish Cup please..) before you star in the Premiership. |
Thomson hasnt been performing bad at all. Its just hes playing alongside two midfielders who are in stand-out form in the first 4 games of the season, Stewart and Brown. Id expect Thomsons season to take off on saturday at Parkhead. No doubt about it.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
For me, Thomson is the best player at the club with the ability to go right to the top tier of clubs in Britain.
I do think that Tony should maybe re-think the captaincy role though.I'm pretty sure everyone recognises Rob Jones as our dominant force on the pitch and would like Kevin to step aside and let Jones take it on...it would take a certain burden off his still young shoulders. I cant wait to get Thomson back to his peak like he was against Barry Ferguson at ER last season.For me, he's the best prospect at Hibs since Johnny Collins...no mean praise considering we also have Scott Brown. |
Gravy Loving Northern Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Wow - Tuesday and already the Daily Record have managed to print a negative article about a player at ER not being too happy.
Who would have thunk it. Anyone know who we're playing this week?!? |
Ama Dou Dou Dou Radge
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. anyway chin up Thommo To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. lets see you at your best against the lesser greens this saturday:YAYYY:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. HIBERNIAN F.C 05/06 To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hibernian F.C - Edinburgh's FOOTBALL team Heart of Midlothian F.C - Edinburgh's HOOFBALL team I've never seen such a one sided game in all my life. One team trying to play football, the other team constantly lumping the ball up the park, to no avail. Pathetic. Sickening. Embarassing. (Copyright 2006 - some gunt off keeckback)
I read Kevins article this morning and wondered if this is actually word for word, or some "journo's" interpretation of what he means.
I was a wee bit aprehensive when Kevin took the captaincy, not because I thought he could'nt handle it, no, more of a positional aspect. I prefer a team captain should have the whole game in front of him. A leader from the back of the team, usually central defence. As we were off-loading our central defenders, then Tony would've had to look elsewhere for our captain, and Kevin was probably the best choice. As someone has already pointed out, a dominant figure, something Kevin is not, is probably more suitable for the role, and Rob Jones fits that description at the moment. But a captain also commands the respect of his fellow professionals, and Kevin is worthy of that respect. He may find it hard to step into the boots of former captains, like Pat Stanton, Kano, Geebsie and Jackie Mac, every one a Hibby like him, but I've no doubts he'll do it to the best of his ability. And still manage to the rip pesh out of £Million pound, over-rated ffuds elsewhere, starting with one o' them on saturday. Kick on Kev, we're all behind you To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I'll put my hand up here. I don't think Kevin has been playing to anywhere near his true ability and I do reckon the captaincy is taking away from his overall game.
I think he and Mikey Stewart are too similar in style and Mikey has been immense this season. Kevin only really comes into his own when Mikey starts to fade after an hour or so and goes off. Its an opinion he may not like to see, but I think its pretty accurate?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I don't think Kevin Thomson has started the season badly at all.
1875 i have to disagree wth you, i thought Thomo & Stewart were superb together on Saturday, and i don't think they have been that bad together. I think Stewart is more of a ball winner/spoiler and Thomson more of a flair/creative player. |
Like 1875, I too have been a little critical of Thommo's performances so far this season. However, as the man himself stated in the same column a couple of weeks ago, he knows he's not been at his best so he must also know the fans will comment on this
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. FWIW I recognise Thommo as the best player at the club along with Broony, and he's done amazingly so far in his Hibs career. He needs to know that we all expect very good things from him because he's supplied us with such good play so far. By the sounds of it, he'll be reading this so Thommo: We only criticise you cos we know how good you can be chief! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The points made about the captaincy are valid but Jonesy looks to be doin the required talking anyway and I'm sure Thommo will grow in motivational ability with every game that passes. Oh and practice yer shooting man! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
I for one was absolutely delighted when KT was appointed cptain.
For me he was the stand out last season in terms of guts, skill determination and so TM thinks leadership. I wrote a letter to Kevin congratulating him on what must be a right honour for a young man and a Hibby! Season begins less than gloriously and unforseen big Jonesy has arrived Maybe RJ does look like a natural leader But FFS Hibs fans get a bloody grip! If there is to be a change it will be done in a dignified way in the fullness of time Does anyone really think TM would treat someone like KT so shabbily as to strip him of the captaincy just cos he hasnt been at his own highest standards for a few games To think KT reads that stuff and it gets to him p8sses me off Those who post that cheeky stuff should grow up
![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
also seems to have a bit more stamina and was running into thier box after Stewart went off, if Benji had picked him out it was a tap in (after stooring 50 yards) To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Every player has to take a bit of stick from time to time and it has obviously done Thommo some good because his performances have improved every game and on Saturday could easily have been given Man of the match.
Wasnt my choice of captain but has the ability to really influence a game and that imo is an important quality for a captain to have. Since we have the likes of Jones, Martis, Brown Stewart being vocal isnt quite as important now. There are plenty of players to do the shouting but aslong as Thommo keeps taking control of games and influencing the play thats good enough for me and to be our captain To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sunshine On Leith Radgette
![]() ![]() ![]() |