Old 17-08-06, 10:30   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
On This Date In History (Take 5)

Not the late summer Manc pop offering from exponents of bad hair 'Northside' in 91, but five games from Hibernian's recent past on this august August date:

Twenty-one years ago today: Saturday 17 August 1985, Hibs 1-3 Rangers. This was the first ever Hibs-Rangers I attended, my Dad hates them with a passion, ever since they chased him and my Uncle Denis through Glasgow after Joe Baker's Hibs beat them 2-1 up in a cup semi replay in 1958. Faither was 15, Denis was 16 and they had grown men shouting 'Fenian bastards' at them. Consequently, my over-protective old man didn't want to expose me and my brother to this type of rivalry (which is ironic, cos we grew up in Strathaven and Lanarkshire was (is?) like living in the 17th century).

This was the match that was delayed by 28 minutes as a huge huns support tried to get in the Hibs end, cue Hibs casuals running on the pitch and even John Blackley was out there trying to calm things down. The shed on what is now the East Stand was in the foetal stages of being built so the Cow Shed was absolutely rammed and the atmosphere was incredible. I loved it. As I do to this day, whenever the 'big' games, i.e. hertz, huns, tims, take place.

It is the one and only time I have heard a sectarian song from the Hibs end; there was a rousing chorus of 'Roman in the gloamin, with a shamrock in my hand' during the pre-match tensions. I also recall a bloke (probably in his 30s) to my left trying to start a chant of 'There's Only One John Collins', as it was his home (competitive) debut that day.

The first twenty-odd minutes saw intense Hibs pressure before a breakaway goal for media darling 'Coisty' right in front of us. There is nothing worse in this world, than lookin up, on a glorious sunny day (which it was), and seeing 10,000 pink hands of Rangers fans in the air. At least, in those uncovered Dunbar end days, we didn't have to hear their shite.

Into the second half and Nicky Walker made an amazing save from a Gordon Rae header, before the bastards did it again. Two undeserved goals in a minute (by the Giraffe and Boaby feckin Williamson) and we were three down. How the phuck had that happened? Jukebox came on as a sub and pulled one back on the hourmark before Joe McBride missed an open goal.

Possibly the highlight of the match was the (delayed) announcement of the full-time scores; the 'BIG' team got phucked SIX-TWO at Love Street!

My abiding memory of that match is the atmosphere, of people going wild, of rabid passion, of mutual hatred. I loved it. That's why I get annoyed with certain individuals on this site and with certain directives from the club that will kill that atmosphere. That is part of the attraction of being a football spectator.

But then, you'd probably say I haven't grown up from that starry-eyed wee 13 year old in 1985. But it was the passion that captured me then. And a lot of others too.

Fifteen years ago today: Saturday 17 August 1991, Motherwell 1-1 Hibs. We, as a family, had returned to Scotland only four days previously (we'd dumped our stuff at the Black Bull in Milngavie and driven through to ER to see us beat the Saintees 2-1!) and I'd got in touch with Ian Robertson as the Hibs club had told me he was the point of contact for the Glasgow branch. He'd told me that the Glasgow branch would be meeting in the Park Lane (the 'Parky') on Hope Street before the match.

So, in I went, a bit nervous and looking a bit confused and lost a voice shouted 'Scott' and Ian introduced himself and the rest of the boys to me: Kevin, Jack, Peter etc. We all had a couple of pints and got the train to Airbles and then walked to the match.

There was a sizeable (I'd've said about 3,000) Hibs support and, of course, this was the game that Keith Wright scored his first competitive goal for Hibs. Hibs were wearing that season's photographic negative (white shirt, green sleeves, adidas) strip and Motherwell equalised shortly afterwards.

We held out for a draw, which, considering we'd lost our last three matches there, was a result. It was the first I'd seen not lose there!

It was nice to meet the Glasgow boys (as loyal and dedicated a bunch of Hibbies as you'll ever meet) and, while I usually went to matches with my Dad and brother, I've been given lifts, been on bus trips with them a few times. Last time I seen them (that I can mind) was down at Manchester for the soccer masters in 2002.

Ten years ago today: Saturday 17 August 1996, Dundee Utd 0-1 Hibs. Paradoxically, we'd just moved down to Taffland and I watched Ceefax that afternoon. Crunchie after 3 minutes and that leprous ginger, poofy My Little Pony hair-tailed fag boy, hertz kant Davie Bowman got sent off after ten. I mind phonin Mark McCabe the following day and him tellin me how Bowman had to run a gauntlet of abuse as he walked past the Hibbies on his way to bath-time. Apparently, he was goin bananas. Phuck him, hertz kant anyway!

Nine years ago today: Sunday 17 August 1997, Dundee Utd 1-1 Hibs. And another early season sojourn to Tanna-dee-chee, but this time in front of the
s. Strange to think that Hibs' season of woe commenced with two Sky Soccer Sundays; their crystal ball wiz obviously phucked! As was I, having been out 'raving' all weekend and consuming more amphetamine than Keith Moon and Punk Rock combined I lay in my cot with a nasty come-down. I saw the goals briefly, they scored early on before we got a late well-worked goal following a free-kick. Cannae mind who scored though. Not got a phuckin scoobie.

Three years ago today: Sunday 17 August 2003. Hibs 1-0 Hearts. Oh, what a day! When I lived in Leith I used to have a party at ma flat on a Sunday morning at 9am on derby day. All the boys would come round, Craven, Stevie, Welshie, Neil deMarco, Antony. It was great. I actually slept in and was woken by Neil lobbin a 5p coin at ma window, I then checked my messages and had a lovely 'your a useless, Welsh bastard' one from Craven!

The boys came in and we got stuck into the peeve and the tarry and watched the 3-0 Swinecastle video and the second half of the 6-2. About 1pm we made our way to the Vicky, where then landlord Stewart was a hertzkant, and a cocky feckin hertzkant that afternoon. Who's Sorry Now though!

After I tripped over a table, nearly clatterin ma heed off the jukey (oafmatits again!) we had a quick voddie in Tamsons then off to the game. Due to our failure to qualify for the top six the previous year this was our first meeting (festival cup excepted) since the infamous '4-2 and we phucked it up' game at New Year. Would we redeeem ourselves.

I don't remember much of the match, other than it being very tight, very hardfought and that Hibs were as hungry as I've ever seen them in a derby. The boys really looked up for this, every man gave 100% and that's all you can ask. Zambernadi (who I blame for us losing that late lead at Swinie - why the phuck did he no just boot the baw into Row Z?) was immense. He clearly felt he had to make it up to us.

The match featured probably the most innocuous sending off of a Hibs player I've ever seen. After about 36 minutes Brebner challenged a hertz player for the ball, about five yards into our half, just outside the dug-outs and a free-kick was awarded. Incredibly, the ref then sent him off! Pandemonium! We were goin radge on the East.

At half-time I went to the back, at the side of the pie-stall, for the usual 'full Jamaican' savoury and, consequently, missed the boy runnin on and trying to pagger the ref. But did we no read about it for weeks after in the papers?

Lookin back, the second half was played in an almost surreal atmosphere (maybe it was just my mental state!) as, while the singing and the encouragement was as vociferous as ever, I think every Hibbie there would have accepted a 0-0 draw. However, the longer the game went on the more the Hibs looked the likelier to break the deadlock. It was as if:
(a) Hibs had found an extra gear due to the injustice of Grant the bookie's dismissal
(b) Being forced to play against ten men Hibs disrupted tactically boring Harry Potter's game plan and, devoid of imagination and inspiration, hertz didn't know what to do.

But as the 90 minutes went and everyone thought (but no one said) 'well, we've got a point here' a moment that will (hopefully) still be playin in the drugs and alcohol ravaged DVD player in my mind happened. Dobbie played a through ball to Gary O'Connor, with only Tepi Moilenan to beat (I thought if Moilenan positions himself right he'll save it) and HE SLIPPED IT UNDER HIM! It seemed to cross the line like a freeze frame slow motion in a video!

Easter Road shook! The Krakatoa of all Hibs goal celebrations began! I though I was gonnae get crushed! I honestly have to say, that of all the Hibs goal celebrations I've ever particpated in at a match, that is the maddest! The craziest, the wildest, the most spontaneous outpouring of euphoric Hibs passion ever! (My old man always cites Keith Wright's against the huns at Hampden - and I make that number two -but he wisnae at THE GARRY O'CONNOR GAME!)

Like New Year, there was still time for Hibs to phuck it up, and Hibs, being Hibs, nearly did. A cross went in and Pressley headered it, and it whistled, narrowly past the far post at the Dunbar End. Too close for comfort.

I was dyin for the ref to blow up, I think I'd've had a cardiac if I had to put up with much more of it, and thankfully he did shortly afterwards. The scenes of joyous celebration were wonderful, 'some people were on the pitch' including my mate Andy Kerr! And he flicked the vickies to the scumbos!
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 11:02   #2

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut
Re: On This Date In History (Take 5)

Brilliant stuff. You must have some memory.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 11:05   #3
Big Baldy Radge

Moodz will become famous soon enough

Oooh It's a good one today!
Moodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 11:11   #4

Moodz - mind how you lent me an Ayrton that night and I spent it in 'bottoms up'?! I did pay you it back, in the Balfour, about a week later - when you popped in at closing time, til 5am! Again!

Seriously, though, 17 Aug 2003 (I believe) was the late Joe Baker's last birthday; he was 63 that day. Quite fitting, for such a passionate Hibs legend, that we beat the hertz that day.
Old 17-08-06, 12:08   #5
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge

wehateharry is on the way to a first team debut

Quality again mate, I have to say I really enjoy looking back on these games.

When you where talking about Gary O's goal against them it was like reliving that day again.I sit in the East too and very seldom have i seen a reaction like that by the fans.:YAYYY:
I also notice you mention Harry Potter !!
Quite a few guys have asked where i got my user name from...... Now you know.
I hated / hate that specky little fuckwit with a passion.

Keep up the good work.
wehateharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 12:17   #6

Harry - before he got sacked (ha ha!) he was down at Ninian Park last season with Leicester. He had four hertz kantz in that team: De Vries, Kisnorbo, Hamill and Maybury. I wore my Pat Stanton retro Hibs top on the Grange End and spent the whole game screamin anti-hertz abuse at him!

(Cardiff) City won 1-0 and De Vries missed a feckin sitter in the last minute. Shame he never played like that during the 5-1!
Old 17-08-06, 12:24   #7

Given the amount of sweeties and jamaican cigarettes you seem to have consumed in these
days how the feck do you remember anything at all

Keep up the good work though.

Old 17-08-06, 12:26   #8

It has been suggested I'm autistic.
Old 17-08-06, 12:28   #9

Naked Chef will become famous soon enough

It has been suggested I'm autistic.

I think you are just a very very clever cookie (but you cover it up well)

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 12:50   #10

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Superb reading 7T:YAYYY:

You da man!
Old 17-08-06, 13:01   #11

tricky will become famous soon enough

quality recollections, was at most of those with the highlight of course being the 10 man derby.

Paul Tosh got that equaliser at Tannadice btw from a Chico free kick.
Old 17-08-06, 13:19   #12

Paul Tosh/Tall Pish! Nae wonder Quim Muffy took us to the first division, perhaps if he'd stayed at the helm(et) at Swinecastle he'd've done the same to them!
Old 17-08-06, 15:20   #13

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

It was nice to meet the Glasgow boys (as loyal and dedicated a bunch of Hibbies as you'll ever meet) and, while I usually went to matches with my Dad and brother, I've been given lifts, been on bus trips with them a few times. Last time I seen them (that I can mind) was down at Manchester for the soccer masters in 2002.
Aye yer right enough Scott. I vaguely remember talking to you and just about every person in the Arena that day! The pints of Smirnoff Ice were going down well after the massive vodka frenzy in that pub with the barmaid that kept lobbing them out. (Not the punters!)

I'm sure I saw you, no on second thoughts make that heard you at Pittodrie since then? You been up there in recent times? Pished? Nae shirt? Grampian police holding their ears?

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-06, 15:51   #14

Harry - before he got sacked (ha ha!) he was down at Ninian Park last season with Leicester. He had four hertz kantz in that team: De Vries, Kisnorbo, Hamill and Maybury. I wore my Pat Stanton retro Hibs top on the Grange End and spent the whole game screamin anti-hertz abuse at him!

(Cardiff) City won 1-0 and De Vries missed a feckin sitter in the last minute. Shame he never played like that during the 5-1!

Quality mate wish i had been there too.:YAYYY:
You got any plans to come up this season?
Would love to meet up for a beer with you

I'm no a poof like,
just think it would be a good laugh
Old 17-08-06, 15:53   #15

Quality mate wish i had been there too.:YAYYY:
You got any plans to come up this season?
Would love to meet up for a beer with you

I'm no a poof like,
just think it would be a good laugh

Scotty - Run for the hills - he's a right weirdo

Old 17-08-06, 15:55   #16

That was me Kev! 5th anniversary of the 6-2! What a day (and the 6-2)!

Manchester was good n all!
Old 17-08-06, 15:57   #17

Up for the Falkirk game and the hertz games in Sept and Oct, respectively.

Seen NC at the Odense game the other week, just before I got telt oaf for smokin! (Jack McConnell, YOU'RE A FANNY!)
Old 17-08-06, 17:15   #18

Scotty - Run for the hills - he's a right weirdo

You would know L you would know.

Remember i know where you got your user name from

Mmmm Chicken
Old 17-08-06, 17:23   #19
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut

Like New Year, there was still time for Hibs to phuck it up, and Hibs, being Hibs, nearly did. A cross went in and Pressley headered it, and it whistled, narrowly past the far post at the Dunbar End. Too close for comfort.
The closest I have ever came to a heart attack. The defence just seemed to dissapear and the keeper was cemented to the ground. It was like slow motion watching the baw creep past the post. How he missed I don't know.

Great stuff Seven Tattoos
Old 18-08-06, 09:54   #20

You would know L you would know.

Remember i know where you got your user name from

Mmmm Chicken

I dont get that.

Incidentally, most people know where I got my username from.

Old 18-08-06, 12:01   #21

It only occurred to me last night while I was workin in that crappy call centre evenin joab of mine