Old 09-08-06, 12:10   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
On This Date In History (wrap of whizz re-mix)

Nine years ago today: Saturday 9 August 1997, the league cup (sponsored by Coca Cola?), Hibs 3-1 Alloa.

Haven't got a feckin clue about the order of scorin but I do recall that Sir Chic of Charnleyness scored from his own half in this game, a feat Super Pat McGinlay emulated a fortnight later.
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 12:34   #2

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: On This Date In History (wrap of whizz re-mix)

Nine years ago today: Saturday 9 August 1997, the league cup (sponsored by Coca Cola?), Hibs 3-1 Alloa.

Haven't got a feckin clue about the order of scorin but I do recall that Sir Chic of Charnleyness scored from his own half in this game, a feat Super Pat McGinlay emulated a fortnight later.
The first game the wife attended and she managed to miss chico's fine effort

Was McGinlays goal against Falkirk away by any chance?
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 12:47   #3
Hibs Radge

rude_boy is on the way to a first team debut

Was McGinlays goal against Falkirk away by any chance?
Killie at home in a 4-0 win.

If I remember correctly at the same match a young guy got on the pitch at half time from the east and laid a wreath or some flowers on the centre spot. I think he got kicked out for his efforts
rude_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 12:55   #4

That was in memorial for a Hibs Boy who had recently died. In fact, I believe that the deceased in question's funeral had been held that morning.

I'd imagine there are others on this site who could provide you with greater details of that.
Old 09-08-06, 12:57   #5
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

4 past killie, 5 past the pars, a home win v celtic, it was looking good.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 13:08   #6

If I remember correctly at the same match a young guy got on the pitch at half time from the east and laid a wreath or some flowers on the centre spot. I think he got kicked out for his efforts
i know the guy that done that

after years of drug problems he got his act together and is now a serious runner and competes in marathons all over britian and does very well
Old 09-08-06, 13:08   #7

That was in memorial for a Hibs Boy who had recently died. In fact, I believe that the deceased in question's funeral had been held that morning.

I'd imagine there are others on this site who could provide you with greater details of that.
yeah,thats right
Old 09-08-06, 15:22   #8

Chico's was a much better goal than Pat's..

Charnley was in our half and it was scored up the slope..
Old 09-08-06, 17:18   #9

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

I seem to recall him scoring at Brockville on a windy,rainy miserable as feck night from the half-way line too...a run of spectacular goals there including a Davie Fellinger peach.

Am I imagining this goal?
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 17:25   #10

A shame Chicos goals was never caught on t.v. Well I dont think it was anyway. If Beckham had scored that goal it would be getting classed as one of the premierships best ever goals.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 17:27   #11

I'm sure the game you are thinkin of is a 3-2 defeat suffered in a mid-week game shortly after we won the Skol Cup, i.e. mid-November 1991, probably Wednesday the 13th. Pat got both goals that night.

Incidentally Fellie only ever scored two competitive first team goals for the Hibs, both at Easter Road and both against Dundee Utd:
Sat 9.9.89 2-0 Fellinger, Evans
Sat 20.4.91 1-0 Fellinger.
Old 09-08-06, 18:27   #12

HibbyAndy is on the way to a first team debut

I'm sure the game you are thinkin of is a 3-2 defeat suffered in a mid-week game shortly after we won the Skol Cup, i.e. mid-November 1991, probably Wednesday the 13th. Pat got both goals that night.

Incidentally Fellie only ever scored two competitive first team goals for the Hibs, both at Easter Road and both against Dundee Utd:Sat 9.9.89 2-0 Fellinger, Evans
Sat 20.4.91 1-0 Fellinger.

IIRC Fellinger scored against falkirk at brockville in the late 80's early 90's, he may even have got 2 that day, but defo scored.
HibbyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 18:31   #13

i'm sure fellinger scored against dunfermline as well at east end park, not long after the skol cup
Old 09-08-06, 20:42   #14

I'm willing to be corrected but (at the risk of soundin like an arrogant twat - which I am!) I cannae recall Fellie scorin other than the two Arabs games I've mentioned.

I think we need Bobby S or Gunner to confirm his scoring record.
Old 09-08-06, 21:53   #15
PEG SELLING RADGE

fellenger scored a brace against Falkirk at brockville early to mid 90's, of course i might he horridly wrong again....

Old 09-08-06, 21:54   #16
PEG SELLING RADGE

IIRC Fellinger scored against falkirk at brockville in the late 80's early 90's, he may even have got 2 that day, but defo scored.

you're right! 2-2 or 3-2 win for us. i think, around xmas and it was foul weather.

Old 09-08-06, 21:54   #17
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Chico's was a much better goal than Pat's..

Charnley was in our half and it was scored up the slope..

Were both goals no scored into the same end?
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 22:25   #18

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

A shame Chicos goals was never caught on t.v. Well I dont think it was anyway. If Beckham had scored that goal it would be getting classed as one of the premierships best ever goals.
He did, and it did.

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 00:29   #19
Last Radge In Town

Ignore Jambo orders is on the way to a first team debut

No Chico's was up the slope when he seemed too be the only person in the ground who saw the keeper fannying about on the edge of his box and chipped the poor sap. McGinley's was definately scored down the slope. It was not as lofted at Chico's. Lashed with some power and it fair bulletted in.
Ignore Jambo orders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 08:19   #20

tricky will become famous soon enough

fellenger scored a brace against Falkirk at brockville early to mid 90's, of course i might he horridly wrong again....
he certainly did, a 2-2 draw on boxing day and the 2nd was a cracker.
Old 10-08-06, 09:30   #21

No. As i said Charnley up the slope and Mcginley down the slope..
Old 10-08-06, 09:38   #22

We need this situation with Fellie clarified cos I stand by what I said. Also, we never drew 2-2 with Falkirk at Brockville on a Boxing Day in the 90s, however, we did draw 3-3 there on Boxing Day 92 (and Neil Orr missed a penalty).
Old 10-08-06, 09:43   #23
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut

...and what happened tae his dour-faced brother Gordon that used to run the newsagents at the top of Broughton Street?

Did he jump? Or was he pushed?
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-06, 11:51   #