On This Date In History
IT WAS TWENTY YEARS AGO TODAY....Saturday 9th August 1986 Hibernian 2-1 dirty or@nge bastards (can I say that? I just did!)
Graeme Suness's (as they call him in Liverpool) debut for the ethos of evil. At Easter Road, near Albert Street (where his Dad grew up, as Stuart Cosgrove so evocatively chronicled in 'Hampden Babylon'). I was on the beach at Southerndown, near Bridgend, with my trusty tranny, and at about quarter to four I tuned into the sports station (not Radio 5, cannae mind what its predecessor was called) and the moaning, ginger, constipated, nasal, middle-class Kelvinside tones of Roddy Forsyth (Fanny Rosyth more like!) arrestingly conveyed that Saughton Mains' prodigal son had experienced an inauspicious start. I thought well, mebbe we're drawin n he's been booked. No, much better than that! He'd been sent oaf n Hibs were 2-1 up! Have you ever done a daft wee dance oan a beach, screamin 'Dad, Grant, we're beatin the huns n Souness hus been sent oaf!'? I have. I did it there and then! Stuart Beedie (who had scored the last league goal of the 85-86 season - for Dundee Utd, at the Dunbar End - at Easter Road) had scored the first goal of the 86-87 season (at Easter Road, at the Dunbar End!) had put us a goal up before they got their penalty because Ally McCoist had a trapped pube. Or something similarly innocuous. However, after about 25 minutes, the moustachioed, curly haired, perma-tanned jizz jiggler raked Beastie down his calf and what Arthur Motson would have called a 'rammy' ensued. The ref red carded him and Willie Irvine (mark 2) crossed for the previous season's one season wonder Stevie Cowan to net from close range. I recall thinkin 'how many goals will the Hibs get in the second half' (I was 14 and a bit naive I suppose), as it turned out there were no more goals. Well, I'd've settled for a win pre-match (to put it in perspective we've only beaten them seven times in thirty-eight subsequent such fixtures) so I was happy. The talking point, of course, was Souness's sending oaf. I remember listenin to my Dad's old pal John Greig (I caddied for him at a 'Show-am' at Strathaven Golf Club only the year before) commenting on how horrendous a challenge it had been, as we listened to the car radio on the way home. Back in 1986 (we'd only been livin in South Wales for a month at the time) gettin information about Scottish football was far more difficult than today; there was no Sky, Ceefax was limited, no internet, no Hi-Bees Bounce. So I eagerly watched the ITN News hopin for some reference to the day's events. I was not disappointed, the dispassionate tones of John Suchet introduced the 'happening' and we were treated to footage of the incident, complete with Cock Brown soundin like he was goin to cry/ejaculate/wet the bed. The most amusing bit was, immediately after the footage, Suchet dryly remarking that 'viewers in Scotland can see all the highlights of the play of that game tomorrow, on Scotsport'. Now then, now then. |
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2003
Re: On This Date In History
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Fu** me,20 years ago. Remember this game really clearly,and there's me thinking my brain was gone. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: May 2003
One of my all-time favourite matches. I was in the East that day, unusually for me, my normal seat was with my folks in the Cowshed.
Things I remember, Being in three diffrent places in the terracing, I must of moved 50 yards without my feet touching the ground on both the goals and we celebrated Souness's sending off like a cup final win! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Chanting 'What a waste of money' re Butcher & Woods. Every player on the pitch except Cowan & Roughie in trouble with SFA. The Cameras were in the Main stand that season and had a great view of Souness trudging off, with big George being carried off by two Hibs staff. IIRC the Huns fighting amongst themselves towards the end of the game. A good day! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Was at the game, that day in history also my birthday. Great win over the huns at the start of the souness revolution. what sticks in my mind is the photo of when souness was sent off going past George Mc Cluskey with that evil grin on his face. I have hated souness ever since. At the end of that debacle souness got I believe a 2 week ban while Mc Cluskey sat out 6 weeks injured.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. At least we derailed the revolution (sadly) slightly. That was a good birthday for me:YAYYY:
remember it clear as day
my wee brother was the mascot so i was "backstage" most of the day,got to meet the new english "superstars",and took a seat in the center stand to see my bro lead out the hibs remember there was sticky buns everywhere that day,can't remember too many hibees sat in the center stand and the cowshed was full of them too remember having too walk through hordes of huns to get to the fifty club over the road in the eighties we always seemed to get rangers either the first or second game of the season and gave them a few beatings 86/87-2-1 87/88-1-0 88/89-0-0(at ibrox) 89-90-2-0(thank you bonnie ginsburg To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. )
Happy Birthday Crabbitt! Judging by your avatar you were 35 that day; well I'm 35 when we're at Love Street and I hope my half-a Biblical lifespan milestone witnesses another momentous Hibs occasion.
But it could never compare with that! |
I was on the east TERRACING that day, bloody fantastic it was. The sway when we scored has rarely been bettered in my time. Perhaps the only time it came close(apart fi derbys) was when Gareth Evans scored two awfie late goals against the arabs on the 28th December one year(that was my birthday).
Remember the big crash barriers that ye used to lean on? Christ they were murder in a massive sway!! Oh there go the yam fuds singing the gaaaaaaay song!!Twats!!
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Last Radge In Town
9th August is a barry day to be a Hibby, unless you were a Hibby living in Nagasaki in 1945 of course. |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Remember it well....
Souness complaining of a ripped sock..everybody booked / involved apart from Roughie (??) McCoist having a swing at somebody and running away... Great game and great memories To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Last Radge In Town
I think Roughie stayed out of it because he had already been booked, otherwise he'd have done a Chris Woods style sprint to join in the paggering. Either that or he's a shiter.
Moths in the Wallet Radge
Phone him up on Real Radio and ask him To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Considering the way that Roughie had got the hun by the neck who had ran on and tried to attack him at the Dunbar End only the previous Christmas (1-1, Tortolano, Sat 21.12.85) I think it's fair to say that he's no shite-bag.
But, if you dinnae believe me, do as TP suggests. And shout some abuse at that wee hertz kant Ewan Cameron while you're at it! |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2004
Remember that game well, here is my memento of that game
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
it's my brother cheers mate
didn't a few hibs players get their fine overturned a few months later-fulton and mickey weir seem to ring a bell To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
different class mate,thanks for that
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. he's coming round in a minute,i'll wind him up the stupid gunts got his birthday wrong and did they have to put his whole home address To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 20yrs!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I remember the game well. The sways were a sensation that day To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I was "middle middle" in the East and it phuckin ROCKED! I swear someone burned a Union Jack!! Beeeedie! 1-0 to HIBS!! :YAYYY: Souness quoted that game as the WORST ever in his career. He was sooooooooooooooooooo embarrassed as his dad watched him getting sent off. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The tackle on Beastie was outragious To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Great days. BRING BACK THE TERRACING :YAYYY: :YAYYY: |