Old 08-08-06, 16:14   #1

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about
Hibs catholic team yadda yadda yadda

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 16:24   #2
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about
Re: Hibs catholic team yadda yadda yadda

the article's main subject is a coo-shed job but that bit at the end is a candidate for sweeping generalisation of the century.Catholic team? nope

more Catholic friendly than our city neighbours? definately.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 16:50   #3

Rate the article and post your comments to them. Absolute tripe.

Old 08-08-06, 18:34   #4

hibbybrian will become famous soon enough

I'm not a Catholic but I have to say the countries law seem to be at odds with the "non-Catholics only" succession laws

i.e. if I place an advert and state 'non-Catholics only need apply" (harland and wolf springs to mind, which seemed to be acceptable
)I would rightly be in trouble with the constabulary

however it seems that whilst the no Catholics for spouses to the monarchy is exempt from the same law
the same monarchy links to the nazi party (re eddie the eighth) are somehow not to be mentioned in dispatches
Old 08-08-06, 18:43   #5

IIRC the labour party said they were going to repeal the act of settlement if they came to power. 9 years on it's still on the statute books.

Picking up on your point though, if a hairy arsed biggoted hun was dragged up, nothing unusual there then, in front of a judge for breaking the current law, could he not argue that he was simply obeying aforemetioned act of settlement?
Old 08-08-06, 19:00   #6

Rate the article and post your comments to them. Absolute tripe.
Done. What a p1sspoor piece of journalism.

Besides, the whole subject is like an antidote to ampetamines it's so boring. Let the Infirm sort their problems out and leave us alone to enjoy the football.

Old 08-08-06, 20:06   #7
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Great linkage at the top of the page...

"Roman Catholic Priest
Find Roman Catholic Priest! Buy Roman Catholic Priest on eBay"
Old 08-08-06, 20:49   #8
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

"The situation in Glasgow, where Celtic is the Catholic team, is echoed in Edinburgh, where Heart of Midlothian is Protestant and Hibernian is Catholic"

I'm not sure if other English based and elsewhere outwith Scotland Hibbies find this but many is the time, when someone learns I'm a Hibs supporter, I get asked something like the following:

'Hibs? Isn't that a bit like the teams in Glasgow, one is the Catholic team and one is Protestant?' Which one are Hibs?

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 21:27   #9
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Alot of people already think that this is the case which it obviously isn't. What is it in Dundee? United Catholic/Protestant?
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-06, 22:56   #10

Alot of people already think that this is the case which it obviously isn't. What is it in Dundee? United Catholic/Protestant?
Think they 'classify' United as the catholic team. Wonder if I will get an email back. Hmm, maybe too much abuse earlier to them with the rush of blood to the heid.

Old 08-08-06, 23:05   #11
RmR
Prozac and Stella makes everything OK Radge

RmR is on the way to a first team debut

Think they 'classify' United as the catholic team. Wonder if I will get an email back. Hmm, maybe too much abuse earlier to them with the rush of blood to the heid.
Are Arabs no muslim?
I'll get my coat.
RmR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 02:56   #12

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

This country is rotten and biggoted from top to bottom, how do they expect most of the minions to act when the whole place is rotten to the core.

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 14:58   #13

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Nowt "Catholic" about Hibs. Nowt "protestant" about h**rts.

Utter crap.

Glory to Scotlands' finest.
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-06, 19:24   #14

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

Im not a Catholic but im immensely proud of our Irish Catholic roots and work in the immigrant community at the time. As far as im concerned its not celebrated enough.
Old 09-08-06, 19:36   #15

Im not a Catholic but im immensely proud of our Irish Catholic roots and work in the immigrant community at the time. As far as im concerned its not celebrated enough.
Religion seems to be a strange thing to celebrate in a football ground, and I'm saying that as a Christian.

And surely the very name and badge of our club celebrates its unique heritage in a respectful without labouring the connection. The way I see it, we're the real thing so we don't have to shout about it.

Respect your opinion though.

Old 12-08-06, 02:01   #16

Stevo Da Gull is on the way to a first team debut

I think that it says so on some form somewhere (birth cert? i dunno) but in reality I'm not a catholic and while I'm proud of my Gaelic heritage I'm not fond of the atttitude that being catholic is an essential part of it, just wanted to get that out of the way.
Part of what lured me to Hibs, the atmosphere is very inclusive, unlike many other SPL clubs. While Hibs have Irish and arguably catholic links (BTW I hate the attitude over here in Eire that part of being Irish is being a catholic - narrow bullcarp) this Club has its own identity and that's part of what makes this club so great. To class Hibs as a `catholic team` or even as I heard one person say before `the Celtic of Edinburgh` is IMO an insult - I think I speak for most on here when I say it will be a cold day in hell before I pull on a Celtic jersey.
Stevo Da Gull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-06, 21:52   #17

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

I must admit I grew up thinking of Hibs as an Irish Catholic club, however as time has gone on it is apparant to me that we have a very balanced support with a greater percentage of Edinburgh Catholics supporting Hibs than would be a representative reflection of Edinburgh's demographic.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-06, 23:17   #18
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Toolpusher is on the way to a first team debut

Comments submitted
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote