Old 28-07-06, 20:50   #1

Casino cash: £4927
Disappointment at lack of signings this summer

Can I first of all say that I wish Hibs all the very best for the coming season. I think we have some superb players who could and should make a big impact during the next nine months. As always, if we can avoid the sort of freak injury situation we had in the latter part of last season, I am confident we can do very well as in most ways we stand in very good comparison with what any team has to offer in the SPL.

Having said all that, I would just like to register my disappointent and yes, annoyance at the fact that we have done very little to replace the key established players who have left our club. Now, I know the transfer window is open until August 30th and I also know the manager is likely to sign at least two players before then, but for me, tomorrow is the date we should have been aiming for, and I think it is scandalous that we are about to go into the new season with only one player signed from an English Division 2 club.

My disappointment is made even more manifest, when I read the comments given by the manager just after the end of last season. In many interviews he acknowleged that good players were leaving the club, and it was his job to replace them within the limits of our budget. Some weeks later he said that he wanted to bring in at least 2 or 3 players before the intertoto campaign which at that time he was taking seriously. Some weeks later and this had all changed to a couple of players before the season starts, as Premiership" players were still not back training yet. Then, a week ago he was saying that talks were at an "advanced stage" with 2 players and he hoped to have them in before Saturday. This has not happened, and we now face our first game of the season with a depleted squad. Three players out and one in the day before the first game of the season is unacceptable in my opinion. The manager and his board have known for several months that we would be in this situation and yet there has been virtually no movement so far to ensure that we are properly prepared for the season ahead.

I still have confidence to a degree in Tony Mowbray as overall, he has done a very good job at Hibs over the last 2 years, but I have to admit to getting more exasperrated with him as the weeks go on. Conflicting statements about potential signings, unfit trialists brought in then kicked out, a strange attitude towards our intertoto exit, and now we have to take his and Scott Brown's word for it that the squad is equipped for the fray. We were defensively poor throughout last season, and we have lost a tremendous striker. I would have hope this would have been addressed by now.

As I say, if we brought in the 2 or 3 experienced players this squad of players desperately needs, I would be very confident of emulating Hearts achievements of last season. We have some great young players, but it is unfair to ask so much of them consistantly throughout the season.

Let's hope we start to have some honesty and clarity regarding team building soon from Easter Road, and some positive action to ensure that this season is the successful one we all want.
Old 28-07-06, 20:55   #2
Sunshine On Leith Radgette

Casino cash: £10728
Re: Disappointment at lack of signings this summer

Good points there and I agree with what you're saying. We seem to be waiting longer and longer to see if there are going to be any more signings and as this goes on it's looking increasingly unlikely that we'll get enough players in. We struggled with injuries last season and now we have 4 players in Riordan, Caldwell, O'Connor and Smith that we will not have this season - so our squad will be very stretched if/when that happens again.

All we can really do is take Mowbray's word that more signings are coming. If they do - great. If they don't...we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.
HibeeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-06, 20:56   #3

Casino cash: £5121

I agree, disapointed that no new signings have been brought in. Another centre half and another striker are priorities IMO. Maybe an additional defender added to that as well and I would be happy.
Old 28-07-06, 21:42   #4

Casino cash: £29593
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

As usual Greenmachine i agree with pretty much every word you say.
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-06, 22:37   #5

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
Can I first of all say that I wish Hibs all the very best for the coming season. I think we have some superb players who could and should make a big impact during the next nine months. As always, if we can avoid the sort of freak injury situation we had in the latter part of last season, I am confident we can do very well as in most ways we stand in very good comparison with what any team has to offer in the SPL.

Having said all that, I would just like to register my disappointent and yes, annoyance at the fact that we have done very little to replace the key established players who have left our club. Now, I know the transfer window is open until August 30th and I also know the manager is likely to sign at least two players before then, but for me, tomorrow is the date we should have been aiming for, and I think it is scandalous that we are about to go into the new season with only one player signed from an English Division 2 club.

My disappointment is made even more manifest, when I read the comments given by the manager just after the end of last season. In many interviews he acknowleged that good players were leaving the club, and it was his job to replace them within the limits of our budget. Some weeks later he said that he wanted to bring in at least 2 or 3 players before the intertoto campaign which at that time he was taking seriously. Some weeks later and this had all changed to a couple of players before the season starts, as Premiership" players were still not back training yet. Then, a week ago he was saying that talks were at an "advanced stage" with 2 players and he hoped to have them in before Saturday. This has not happened, and we now face our first game of the season with a depleted squad. Three players out and one in the day before the first game of the season is unacceptable in my opinion. The manager and his board have known for several months that we would be in this situation and yet there has been virtually no movement so far to ensure that we are properly prepared for the season ahead.

I still have confidence to a degree in Tony Mowbray as overall, he has done a very good job at Hibs over the last 2 years, but I have to admit to getting more exasperrated with him as the weeks go on. Conflicting statements about potential signings, unfit trialists brought in then kicked out, a strange attitude towards our intertoto exit, and now we have to take his and Scott Brown's word for it that the squad is equipped for the fray. We were defensively poor throughout last season, and we have lost a tremendous striker. I would have hope this would have been addressed by now.

As I say, if we brought in the 2 or 3 experienced players this squad of players desperately needs, I would be very confident of emulating Hearts achievements of last season. We have some great young players, but it is unfair to ask so much of them consistantly throughout the season.

Let's hope we start to have some honesty and clarity regarding team building soon from Easter Road, and some positive action to ensure that this season is the successful one we all want.

Couldn't agree more. Excellent post.

The whole summer we as Hibs fans have had to put up with constant speculation in the media regarding signings with absolutely no end product whatsoever. TM has had plenty to say, yet nothing has materialised.

One week its "We're a phone call away from out next signing".

The next week its "We won't have any new signings before the start of the new season".

Whether this is TM's fault or Rod Petrie's fault or both i don't know but one thing that is for sure is that it isn't good enough.

Hibs fans have yet again stood up and been counted with record ST sales/merchandise sales. Its time for the club to repay this faith with some ambition that meets the fans demands.

One thing i fear, if Hibs start this season with poor results/performances then expect uproar from the fans. We have put our faith, trust and hard earned money with the club again. Lets hope we are not dissapointed and see some positive end product.
"If Hearts were a sexual position, they'd be the missionary, once a month, twice on birthdays. Hibs, on the other hand, would be whatever they call the impossible, the only-in-the-movies routine where the woman locks her legs round the man's waist while he stands, supporting her back with one hand, caressing her cheek with the other, looking completely heroic."

Aidan Smith (2005)
Lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-06, 23:37   #6

Casino cash: £4547

I don'y buy into this Mowbray smokescreen about Hibs being well prepared for the forthcoming season because if he seriously believes that then he should be sacked on the spot here and now.

Both goalkeepers are poor,there is no defensive cover and the strike force will be Killen (when fit) and Benji and then perm any 1/3 from the rest of whom Morrow is obviously being eased out of the club and Konte is well Konte.

Fortunately a strong midfield may buy the manager some time

Managers just say anything at this time of the season to appease the fans some of whom always believe just about anything they are told and to give the local rag a wee feel good story and of course when asked the question:

Are Hibs well prepared for the start of the SPL season?
He could hardly reply : Nah?

'Tony' obviously has money to spend, he is obviously trying very hard to find the right quality but he just can't yet clinch the final deal but time is not on his side with the transfer window ending on 31 August.

I remain confident he will get the two players he needs to stablise the team but not the 3/4 he needs to build on last years success. and he is going to have to use all of his undoubted man management and motivational skills just to stand still.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-06, 23:50   #7
Gav
Formerly Cockney Radge

Casino cash: £2488

There are very few clubs supporters in Scotland who would see their two top strikers sold in one season more or less and not adequately replaced and still see an increase in season tickets, merchandising etc imo. The fans are placing a huge amount of trust in the board and management at the moment and as at today they are seeing little return.

We are two or three injuries away from really toiling next season..thats not pessimism it's realism. Signings need to be made before the transfer window shuts..there has been adequate time for this to happen and for whatever reason it has not. It's my opinion TM s being asked to perform with a budget that is completely unrealistic if we are looking towards not improving but merely maintaining our current position in the league.

Castigating fellow supporters for voicing this opinion while refusing to consider that not signing any decent forwards while losing 40 odd goals a season is not a problem dumfounds me. Lets not forget we have not addressed the problems in defence or goalkeeper either.
Old 29-07-06, 00:06   #8
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10075
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by SlovSam
I don'y buy into this Mowbray smokescreen about Hibs being well prepared for the forthcoming season because if he seriously believes that then he should be sacked on the spot here and now.

Both goalkeepers are poor,there is no defensive cover and the strike force will be Killen (when fit) and Benji and then perm any 1/3 from the rest of whom Morrow is obviously being eased out of the club and Konte is well Konte.

Fortunately a strong midfield may buy the manager some time

Managers just say anything at this time of the season to appease the fans some of whom always believe just about anything they are told and to give the local rag a wee feel good story and of course when asked the question:

Are Hibs well prepared for the start of the SPL season?
He could hardly reply : Nah?

'Tony' obviously has money to spend, he is obviously trying very hard to find the right quality but he just can't yet clinch the final deal but time is not on his side with the transfer window ending on 31 August.

I remain confident he will get the two players he needs to stablise the team but not the 3/4 he needs to build on last years success. and he is going to have to use all of his undoubted man management and motivational skills just to stand still.
You the man Sam! :YAYYY:

We need players, everyone knows it.
It's getting players who will improve the squad and within the budget that's the hard bit. If it was easy we wouldn't pay 6 figure salaries to managers with no great track record.

I sometimes think that some fans think there is a supermarket aisle with 'goalies' to 'proven goalscorers' and Rodders won't send the trolley down there.

It's a tough job, otherwise we would all be doing it rather than just mumping at the guy who IS doing it.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 29-07-06, 00:25   #9

i am definately dissapointed with the lack of signings, would have loved to see a comanding goalkeeper brought in although maybe the young hungarian keeper will do the job bit much to ask of a 17 year old though in my opinion a better option would have been alan combe
ricardinho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-06, 02:10   #10
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

Casino cash: £2844

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink
You the man Sam! :YAYYY:

We need players, everyone knows it.
It's getting players who will improve the squad and within the budget that's the hard bit. If it was easy we wouldn't pay 6 figure salaries to managers with no great track record.

I sometimes think that some fans think there is a supermarket aisle with 'goalies' to 'proven goalscorers' and Rodders won't send the trolley down there.

It's a tough job, otherwise we would all be doing it rather than just mumping at the guy who IS doing it.
spot on,the old saying "you cant make a silk purse out of a sow's ear" comes to mind and if the players required are not there its nobody's fault.If he went out and signed players for the sake of appeasing the fans, who in turn, turned out to be duds, he would be under fire.Personally I have settled for 6th place this season and anything else would be a bonus,the lack of depth in our squad has led me to this conclusion.
Old 29-07-06, 02:22   #11

Casino cash: £359

Originally Posted by eckmf
spot on,the old saying "you cant make a silk purse out of a sow's ear" comes to mind and if the players required are not there its nobody's fault.If he went out and signed players for the sake of appeasing the fans, who in turn, turned out to be duds, he would be under fire.Personally I have settled for 6th place this season and anything else would be a bonus,the lack of depth in our squad has led me to this conclusion.

I find it hard to belive there is nobody to sign. Mogga has known about the need for player all season. He said they had been looking at people all season to bring in for this season and nothing has happened. He obvously has money to do so or he wouldnt bother bringing in trialists. I just cant belive there is nobody to sign that could strengthen our team.
Old 29-07-06, 17:26   #12
Nijinsky Radge

Casino cash: £1507

based on today it's more than a disappointment - we could and should have hammered that shower o pish - more importantly every time Thommo and Broony went down I had my head in ma hands.

Ladbrokes should be offering odds on when Killen pulls/tears/breaks something each match.

We are likely to do what we have done last two seasons - good early start when all players are fit and then *crash* in run up to and after Xmas as the knocks start to impact. We've got a month to sort this out.
Old 29-07-06, 17:43   #13
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Casino cash: £425

very dissapointed at the lack of signings IMO if you are signing players in the summer it should be done before the campaign starts so they can get familiar with the team and have a good pre-season that simply just has not happened
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote