Old 27-07-06, 11:52   #1

HibeeFraz is on the way to a first team debut
Question Hibs Support

If we were in the same position as Hearts just now, winning the scottish cup, finishing second, getting into the champions league, having a big rich owner. Do you think we would be able to pile in as much fans as hearts 28,500 into Murrayfeild or another scottish venue for a Champions League game ?

The Libertines.
HibeeFraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 11:55   #2

joe_hfc is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibs Support

well out of 28500 only about 25000 will be hearts fans and if it was us we could fill about 30000-35000 hibees
Old 27-07-06, 12:24   #3

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

No. Like it or not, they are better supported than us. That's just a fact. They're the Edinburgh team, we're the Leith team. They're the 'Proddie' team, we're the 'fenian' team. On both counts (wrongly perceived or otherwise) we're in the minority. But we're the moral minority, we're the good guys. Not sad, dull, unimaginative w@nks like them.

Seriously though, given our pitiful turn-out at the cup semi and our very disappointing home gate on Saturday we really have no right to mock their attendances. They actually shame us.

And it hurts me to have to admit that.
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 12:30   #4

joe_hfc is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Seven Tattoos
No. Like it or not, they are better supported than us. That's just a fact. They're the Edinburgh team, we're the Leith team. They're the 'Proddie' team, we're the 'fenian' team. On both counts (wrongly perceived or otherwise) we're in the minority. But we're the moral minority, we're the good guys. Not sad, dull, unimaginative w@nks like them.

Seriously though, given our pitiful turn-out at the cup semi and our very disappointing home gate on Saturday we really have no right to mock their attendances. They actually shame us.

from what i always remember we have had the bigger support...everytime you go up town you see more hibs tops than hearts tops. and before romonov came we always had higher home attendances and better away support than them. but since romonov came alot of glory hunters have came out the woodwork for them....sad for them
Old 27-07-06, 12:37   #5

They probably average out at about 15-20% more than us on the respective average gates over the last 20 years.

Quality though not quantity.
Old 27-07-06, 12:41   #6

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Who cares who's got the biggest support. Hibs is quality before quantity. And Leith is a much nicer place than Gorgie.

If I lived in Gorgie I'd be at the doctors wanting anti-depressants washed doon with Watermelon Bacardi Breezers...

pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 12:52   #7
A radge, a radge, my kingdom for a radge

Beagle is on the way to a first team debut

Fair enough points but I take exception to being labelled a fenian.
I have been a Hibby all my life and born a 'proddy' as you put it.
The last time I heard myself being called a 'fenian' was when some drunken hun knuckledragger punched me in the face on London Road en-route to Easter Road years ago, just because I was wearing green & white tinsel heading to the match (xmas time)

Even tough my left eye was shut I still saw us hump them

Yam - Act like a twat look like a twat
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The schools going back and peace returning
That's it for another year - feet up now
Beagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 12:58   #8
konte is a legend ya radge

marc-the-hibee is on the way to a first team debut

we could take alot more fans than the yams to murrayfield

remember how many fans we took to the cis cup final(not a game to remember) we could have filled the ground our selfs
Old 27-07-06, 13:02   #9

Beagle - I apologise for any offence caused, but I can assure you none was intended. The apostrophes round the words 'Proddie' and 'fenian' and the parentheses which emphasised 'wrongly perceived' was my way of stressing that that's how some see hertz and Hibs. It was not meant to be taken as how I see hertz and Hibs.

Also, can I emphasise that I too am a 'Proddie'. Possibly it's my west coast upbringing, but I use these terms ironically. The knuckledraggers you refer to, like Baldrick in 'Blackadder', think irony is a derivative of a metal.
Old 27-07-06, 13:14   #10

Beagle - I apologise for any offence caused, but I can assure you none was intended. The apostrophes round the words 'Proddie' and 'fenian' and the parentheses which emphasised 'wrongly perceived' was my way of stressing that that's how some see hertz and Hibs. It was not meant to be taken as how I see hertz and Hibs.

Also, can I emphasise that I too am a 'Proddie'. Possibly it's my west coast upbringing, but I use these terms ironically. The knuckledraggers you refer to, like Baldrick in 'Blackadder', think irony is a derivative of a metal.
It's ok 7tattoos, it just hits a nerve. Remember I have to live in West Lothian

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The schools going back and peace returning
Old 27-07-06, 13:22   #11
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

eckmf is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by joe_hfc
from what i always remember we have had the bigger support...everytime you go up town you see more hibs tops than hearts tops. and before romonov came we always had higher home attendances and better away support than them. but since romonov came alot of glory hunters have came out the woodwork for them....sad for them
utter shecht,the yams have a bigger support than us,always have,as long as I can remember

"history is the foundation upon which the future is built"
eckmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 13:29   #12

certainly the yams have more fans going to the matches at swiney but the actual worldwide fan base may be more equal.
I think we probably take more than them to away matches but thats just supposition

Old 27-07-06, 13:37   #13

Johnny Kash is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by joe_hfc
The Yams do have a bigger support overall, dont think you could argue with that. However, I agree with the comment about more Hibs tops seen about, and would argue that we display our colours at all times regardless of how the team is doing.

Would also be interesting if there were stats on outsiders, i.e. those not born in Edinburgh and which capital team they choose to follow - Im convinced the majority would be Hibs, possibly due to the 'Trainspotting' hype of a few years ago
Johnny Kash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 13:49   #14

Kenny will become famous soon enough

i've always prefered

they're the authority establishment team and we're the workers left wing rebel free thinkers team...

Old 27-07-06, 14:14   #15

EK Hibby is on the way to a first team debut

The name gives it away but bread and buttered in East Kilbride. Good point about "outsiders" from Edinburgh. After the CIS final went to local MacDonalds and the place was bouncing with Hibbys especially young ones. There's 10 of us travel week in week out from EK and we know of more.

No doubt we got a massive following but we need to get more into ER every week. Sorry guys but Hampden last year was a sad sight. I thought there'd been a coach pile up on the M8.

Football aint cheap but a great way to spend a Saturday watching entertaining football and good banter.....even in the West Stand!
EK Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:13   #16

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Kenny
i've always prefered

they're the authority establishment team and we're the workers left wing rebel free thinkers team...
Damn right Kenny.

Heart of Midlothian were even named after a novel by Sir Walter Scott who as every self-respecting Scot should know was a fat Tory bastard, a founder of the Tory party in Scotland even, the Wallace Mercer of his day, who was also the Brit stooge who demanded that the heroes of Scotland's 1820 Insurrection against British rule be executed - as they were.

Walter Scott was the man who organised Fat King Geordie 4's visit in 1822, got him all dolled up in Highland regalia except he added pink tights thereby fixing Heart of Midlothian in the public's eyes with very camp ***ness.

From a literature point of view Walter Scott was the rich man's second-rate Rabbie Burns, whose books are read nowadays by NAEBODY. Cos theyre all shite incarnate.

Respect to the great Scottish martyrs of 1820 beheaded at Stirling Castle: Hardie, Baird and Wilson. But may Walter Scott rot in hell beside the aformenthioned FJB.

Heart of Midlothian my erse.

Erin's finest.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:18   #17

Originally Posted by HibeeFraz
If we were in the same position as Hearts just now, winning the scottish cup, finishing second, getting into the champions league, having a big rich owner. Do you think we would be able to pile in as much fans as hearts 28,500 into Murrayfeild or another scottish venue for a Champions League game ?
only in the qualifiers
no chance of making the group stages

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:22   #18
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

growing up in livi there was the "hibs are the taigs, hearts are the huns" kinda thing going on, though it was mostly old firm fans who rarely if at all went to games who made the assumption. In a lot of ways they were right about hearts.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:24   #19

Originally Posted by HailHail
growing up in livi there was the "hibs are the taigs, hearts are the huns" kinda thing going on, though it was mostly old firm fans who rarely if at all went to games who made the assumption. In a lot of ways they were right about hearts.
thats exactly what its like in broxburn now

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:29   #20
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Tully
thats exactly what its like in broxburn now
I suppose that stops the broxburn yams feeling left out when the gala day comes up so they can do their thang with their ibrox brethren. Same can be said of the "hearts loyal" crew from deans . try walking into rabs bar wearing green and white

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 16:47   #21

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

The difference in 'true' support between Hearts and Hibs isn't actually quite as much as the Jambo's would like you to think.

On a 30 year basis from 1976 to date Hearts average attendance levels out at 12,188 whereas Hibs comes in at a 30 year average of 10,275 which is very respectable.
given Hibs historical beginnings.

Neither side have had any success in these years hence the figures are quite a fair reflection of the number of genuine rather than glory seeking fans each club have.

It also shows that these weary stereotypes of Leith,Edinburgh,proddy, Kafflick, establishment or left wing are now confiined to historical myths as you have to be a pretty broad church to support these numbers.

I'm actually amazed that in 2006 people still talk in these terms but there you go that's a debate for another day.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-06, 17:24   #22

Well said, Slovsam. Deluded kantz think they're 'BIG', about as 'BIG' as a pygmy's bawsac.
Old 27-07-06, 17:39   #23