Old 25-06-06, 13:25   #1

Hibees In Latvia

Now that the opposition has been sorted out for next week and we know we're going to Latvia(Daugavpils), if you have any info you'd care to share with fellow-Hibees travellers, put it here.

I've been doing a wee bit searching on the net for various options and, apart from the deal done with Frank Dougan/Kevin Thomas(if you need their contact details pm me) here's what I've come up with so far.

Currency

Latvia is a cheap place to stay, compared to here, but theres a difference to what you get depending on the currency you take with you. It has its own currency, Lati's, and because its not in "Euro-land", you get a different rate per GBP/Euro/USD. At the moment the rate for ££ is ...

1.00 GBP = 1.02141 LVL

$$$

1.00 USD = 0.561702 LVL

Euro

1.00 EUR = 0.702804 LVL

So it looks like the £££ is the better option to take with you.

Flights

Latvia is a fairly easy place to get to, even from Edinburgh, but it does involve at least one flight change, depending on who you fly with. The one problem tho' is, Daugavpils is not served by any airport, you must fly into Riga, then you have a 3-4 hour journey to get there. There is a regular bus and train service, although the train looks to be the best option, and the cheapest.

There is also an option of flying to Vilnius(Lithuania), as Daugavpils is on the main rail line between there and Riga, but hav'nt looked at that too closely.

Czech Airlines

Edinburgh >> Prague >> Riga

£200

Flights are 7 days but, because of the extra journey at the Riga end, you'd need to fly out on thursday or friday latest, unless you want to pay another £100-150 more.

Click on the "Airport List" to find Edinburgh and Riga

KLM

Edinburgh >> A'Dam >> Riga

KLM do regular daily flights between here and Riga via the 'Dam, cheapest one I found was around £180-ish, flying out friday, coming back monday.

Trains

Riga >> Daugavpils is a regular main-line service, with 4-5 trains a day, and its cheap!! Return ticket can vary between 2.38L and 2.98L, roughly £3
I feel a Bounce Tour Latvian-style comin' up :YAYYY:
Might need to get "stocked up" tho', it takes about 3-4 'oors.

Trains are here ...

Hotels

There's plenty to chose from, and their clean, modern and not too expensive.

If you're travelling right down to Daugavpils and not staying in Riga, you can find a hotel here ...

If you decide to stay in Riga, hotels are here ...

Anymore info on travelling to Latvia, post it here

Old 25-06-06, 13:28   #2

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibees In Latvia

someones done their research

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-06, 13:41   #3

Originally Posted by Cal_Hibby_4_Life
someones done their research

Sure have

This is the hotel me and my laddie are stayin' in Riga

and they're sending this motor tae the airport tae pick us up

Old 28-06-06, 14:09   #4
Sex, Vodka n Football Radge

Swoosh is on the way to a first team debut

Is that the stadium of the team we are playing?

Browse the web in style with Google Hibernian!

Swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-06, 16:04   #5

BEEFY71 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby
This is the hotel me and my laddie are stayin' in Riga

and they're sending this motor tae the airport tae pick us up

I think the hotel me & ma mate are hoping to get booked up for is the one whos front door can be seen to the rear of the limo!

He is the man with the credit card so he can book it and I'll just hand over the readies! :YAYYY:
BEEFY71 is offline   Reply With Quote