Old 08-06-06, 09:25   #1

Scott Brown On Speculation

GARRY O'CONNOR might be rouble - rousing Russian defences these days and Gary Caldwell will soon be bolting down Celtic's back door.

Derek Riordan's shooting boots will be getting bums off seats at Parkhead sooner rather than later and Gary Smith will be strolling through Second Division matches with Cowdenbeath next season.

But while Hibs fans have been helplessly looking on as the Easter Road exodus gathered pace, there has been one crumb of comfort.

Actually, it is more than a crumb - it's the icing on what will continue to be a very rich cake next season.

Scott Brown is going nowhere.

The 20-year-old, already a full Scotland cap, has watched his team-mates and while he may follow suit one day he doesn't plan on it being anytime soon.

Brown believes Hibs can build on the foundations laid by Tony Mowbray, the man the youngster thanks for turning him into the player reckoned by many to be the cream of a very rich crop at Easter Road.

He was in Dalkeith yesterday, publicising the finals of a Bank of Scotland Midnight League competition which take place, ironically, at Hearts' training academy at Riccarton tomorrow.

But inevitably his thoughts were projected towards June 22 when Hibs return to pre-season training ahead of their Intertoto Cup adventure, which will take them to either the Faroes or Latvia.

Brown said: "We've had six weeks off and we don't go back to June 22, so we've done all right for a break. I'm looking forward to getting ready for a crack at the Intertoto Cup and I'm sure the rest of the boys are as well.

"It went well last season. We played well for most of it and we got a lot of praise for the entertainment we provided. I'm sure it will be the same next season.

"The gaffer will bring in some new players and they will be good quality. I've no doubt we'll have a strong squad capable of competing again.

"Obviously we've lost a couple of players and we're not kidding ourselves that they will be easy to replace.

"Derek Riordan scored 22 goals and made a lot as well for others. We'll miss him when he goes to Celtic.

"I don't know whether Derek will join them in the summer or if it will be later because of his contract situation. But if he plays with us for the first couple of months of the season I'm sure he will do well.

"He won't bother about any outside influences - he'll just get on with playing because that's what he enjoys most.

"We also have to replace Gary Caldwell as well. He was our captain and a big player for us. Good luck to him at Celtic but we'll get over it and we'll carry on.

"Players come and go, it's part of football life, and all you can hope is that you replace those who leave with better players. That will be tough because we can't compete with the money the Old Firm spend on players, but the manager has an eye for talent and I'm sure he'll do his job during the summer.

"We've also lost Garry O'Connor and Gary Smith in recent times but I don't feel any jealousy or bitterness at all that I haven't moved on.

"I don't bother with the speculation. Myself and Kevin Thomson have been linked with moves in the past as well but I think that's inevitable because we were flying at the time and we were all getting a mention.

"I just ignore it. All I care about is playing football and if I'm getting first-team football I'm happy.

"I love playing for Hibs and having signed a new contract last year I'm delighted to be part of the set-up and involved in the first team every week."

While Brown might miss some of his departed team-mates, he is thrilled the most important man at the club - Mowbray - hasn't been snapped up by Middlesbrough, who yesterday appointed Gareth Southgate as their boss.

He added: "It's a big boost for the club that the gaffer is still going to be with us next season.

"Obviously the players knew that Middlesbrough were looking for a manager and although it might have been speculation, he would inevitably be linked with going back to where he had been a legend as a player.

"The way he goes about his business is so professional that nobody wanted him to leave. He tries to make us better players and by the way we respond to him we are trying to make him a better manager.

"He's built my confidence up by showing me how to play different positions. Before he got a hold of me I just used to run about everywhere without giving it a great deal of thought.

"I was getting booked every week because I wasn't thinking about the game but he told me I had to start playing football with my head as well as my feet.

"I've taken that on board and I feel I have got rid of the hothead tag now. I just want to play football."

His football has been good enough to gain international recognition and now he wants more. Brown said: "I've already had a taste of international football when Scotland played the USA and I'd love to add to my cap this season.

"But I'm still young enough to play for the Under-21s and I really enjoy that, so whatever squad the manager selects me for, I will be there. I just want to play for my country at whatever level they want me."

Chances are the Hibs player will be wanted by both before the season is out.
Old 08-06-06, 09:38   #2

Briant will become famous soon enough
Re: Scott Brown On Speculation

Good vibes from Scotty

"I love playing for Hibs and having signed a new contract last year I'm delighted to be part of the set-up and involved in the first team every week."

Now the board should publicly state that NONE of our talented young players are for sale and tell any club that approaches for them to GTF
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 10:30   #3
main man radge

No.7 Morri is on the way to a first team debut

great news indeed, bigger and better things lie ahead for scott though but at least if he does go we'll get some money for him and i dont see anyone putting in a decent bid for him for a couple of seasons yet as everyone thinks they can just take the piss out of the "provincial clubs" and are tight ass ****s
No.7 Morri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 12:49   #4

Originally Posted by Smurf

"Before he got a hold of me I just used to run about everywhere without giving it a great deal of thought."
A nice wee acknowledgement from Scotty of Bobby Williamson's coaching prowess?

blue toon hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 13:28   #5
A Radge Private Member

CJRRHibs is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby
Did Blobby not say "he deserved credit for bringing the young players on" a couple of months back.

Old 08-06-06, 14:14   #6

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Boaby Williamson was fecking gash as Hibs manager and had he remained at the helm then there was a very real chance we'd've been watching First Division football last year.

With the talent at his disposal we really should have done a lot more.

I'll never forgive him for playing Tony Caig and putting Mark Dempsie on De Vries in the 5-1 game.

Team selection, tactics, motivation, organisation, fitness, PR, training: his managerial style was found wanting in all of these key areas.
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 14:44   #7

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby
Exactly.

Who were the pro Boaby posters again?

Bossie/JimmyHibs/SlovSam..
Old 08-06-06, 16:22   #8

Bobby Williamson is a pish manager has he actually had success with any club from Hibs to where he is now

Old 08-06-06, 17:29   #9

Originally Posted by bigmanandy
Bobby Williamson is a pish manager has he actually had success with any club from Hibs to where he is now
he won the scottish cup with killie but i agree hes still pish

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 17:30   #10

Originally Posted by Smurf
GARRY O'CONNOR might be rouble - rousing Russian defences these days and Gary Caldwell will soon be bolting down Celtic's back door.

Derek Riordan's shooting boots will be getting bums off seats at Parkhead sooner rather than later and Gary Smith will be strolling through Second Division matches with Cowdenbeath next season.

But while Hibs fans have been helplessly looking on as the Easter Road exodus gathered pace, there has been one crumb of comfort.

Actually, it is more than a crumb - it's the icing on what will continue to be a very rich cake next season.

Scott Brown is going nowhere.

The 20-year-old, already a full Scotland cap, has watched his team-mates and while he may follow suit one day he doesn't plan on it being anytime soon.

Brown believes Hibs can build on the foundations laid by Tony Mowbray, the man the youngster thanks for turning him into the player reckoned by many to be the cream of a very rich crop at Easter Road.

He was in Dalkeith yesterday, publicising the finals of a Bank of Scotland Midnight League competition which take place, ironically, at Hearts' training academy at Riccarton tomorrow.

But inevitably his thoughts were projected towards June 22 when Hibs return to pre-season training ahead of their Intertoto Cup adventure, which will take them to either the Faroes or Latvia.

Brown said: "We've had six weeks off and we don't go back to June 22, so we've done all right for a break. I'm looking forward to getting ready for a crack at the Intertoto Cup and I'm sure the rest of the boys are as well.

"It went well last season. We played well for most of it and we got a lot of praise for the entertainment we provided. I'm sure it will be the same next season.

"The gaffer will bring in some new players and they will be good quality. I've no doubt we'll have a strong squad capable of competing again.

"Obviously we've lost a couple of players and we're not kidding ourselves that they will be easy to replace.

"Derek Riordan scored 22 goals and made a lot as well for others. We'll miss him when he goes to Celtic.

"I don't know whether Derek will join them in the summer or if it will be later because of his contract situation. But if he plays with us for the first couple of months of the season I'm sure he will do well.

"He won't bother about any outside influences - he'll just get on with playing because that's what he enjoys most.

"We also have to replace Gary Caldwell as well. He was our captain and a big player for us. Good luck to him at Celtic but we'll get over it and we'll carry on.

"Players come and go, it's part of football life, and all you can hope is that you replace those who leave with better players. That will be tough because we can't compete with the money the Old Firm spend on players, but the manager has an eye for talent and I'm sure he'll do his job during the summer.

"We've also lost Garry O'Connor and Gary Smith in recent times but I don't feel any jealousy or bitterness at all that I haven't moved on.

"I don't bother with the speculation. Myself and Kevin Thomson have been linked with moves in the past as well but I think that's inevitable because we were flying at the time and we were all getting a mention.

"I just ignore it. All I care about is playing football and if I'm getting first-team football I'm happy.

While Brown might miss some of his departed team-mates, he is thrilled the most important man at the club - Mowbray - hasn't been snapped up by Middlesbrough, who yesterday appointed Gareth Southgate as their boss.

He added: "It's a big boost for the club that the gaffer is still going to be with us next season.

"Obviously the players knew that Middlesbrough were looking for a manager and although it might have been speculation, he would inevitably be linked with going back to where he had been a legend as a player.

"The way he goes about his business is so professional that nobody wanted him to leave. He tries to make us better players and by the way we respond to him we are trying to make him a better manager.

"He's built my confidence up by showing me how to play different positions. Before he got a hold of me I just used to run about everywhere without giving it a great deal of thought.

"I was getting booked every week because I wasn't thinking about the game but he told me I had to start playing football with my head as well as my feet.

"I've taken that on board and I feel I have got rid of the hothead tag now. I just want to play football."

His football has been good enough to gain international recognition and now he wants more. Brown said: "I've already had a taste of international football when Scotland played the USA and I'd love to add to my cap this season.

"But I'm still young enough to play for the Under-21s and I really enjoy that, so whatever squad the manager selects me for, I will be there. I just want to play for my country at whatever level they want me."

Chances are the Hibs player will be wanted by both before the season is out.

good stuff from scotty

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 17:32   #11

hibee is on the way to a first team debut

well said scotty

тоиφ моωвяαφѕ gяεεи и ωнιтε αямφ
hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 17:39   #12
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

He's hardly going to say something like "I can't wait till a bigger team come in for me so I can earn as much as the people who have left" is he?

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-06, 17:48   #13

Originally Posted by HailHail
He's hardly going to say something like "I can't wait till a bigger team come in for me so I can earn as much as the people who have left" is he?
Exactly mate if a team comes in offering big wages he will go in a flash