On This Date In History
Monday 4th June 1990. Bitter-sweet sixteen years ago today. I sat my first A level that morning, English Literature at Cowbridge Comprehensive. Quotes from Othello were nervously scribbled down but little did I know as I panicked with my pen that 400 miles away in Edinburgh a real life Iago was attempting to put Hibs to the sword.
I remember the day vividly, I went for a pint (just the one!) after the exam and when I got home I went out for a run, wearing an old Hibs top (the 1987-88 adidas P & D Windows vintage). As I was running I was thinking about Hibs, something I do to this day, and it crossed my mind how much I loved Hibernian FC, despite another disappointing season, which 1989-90 had been. Having showered and changed I sat in front of the box and put the Ceefax on (life as an exiled Hibbie in South Wales was harder then, no internet, no Hi-Bees Bounce) and to my utter shock and horror the heading on the football page was 'Hearts and Hibernian To Merge'! I could not believe it. This could not be true. Surely this would not be allowed to happen? It was on the 6 o'clock news; Nicholas Witchell's repulsive leprous ginger coupon deadpanned events in Edinburgh and we got some footage of a recent derby (Husref feckin Musemic's goal past Andy Goram on Sat 26.8.89) before the sight of that fat, repulsive, capitalist carcinoma AKA the Gorgie Goebbels. Yes, indeed we were treated to his public school vowels as he elaborated on the need to end 'tribalism' in the city and to give 'Edinburgh and the Lothians' a team to challenge Rangers and Celtic and compete in Europe, blah, blah, blah, money, flats, capitalism, jism, bollocks, vomit. The reporter then interviewed a couple of random passing Hibbies in Princes Street and the first guy seemed acquiescent, he seemed to have accepted and sighed 'it's a sad day'. The second guy was a stocky chap with an 80s ear ring and when asked if he would go (to watch the 'new' team) he spoke for us all as he blurted out 'no danger, NO DANGER'! By this time my Dad was back from his work as the IFA Sales Manager at Scottish Widows in Cardiff (my nomadic upbringing has been a result of my father's career). Scottish Widows Head Office, of course, is in Edinburgh and so my old man was being kept in touch of events by old Hibbie friends back home. 'They're talking about nothing else up in Edinburgh' he said. Trevor McDonald introduced the story on the News At Ten and the footage was of the scenes outside Easter Road and the hundreds of irate supporters laying siege to the old Main Stand. One bloke in particular was going bananas and Sir Trev wryly remarked that 'the Hibs supporters were clearly opposed to the bid'! I've always liked Sir Trev and not just cos my brother works for him. Over the next few days it became apparent that the Hibs support had mobilised and that 'Hands Off Hibs' was going to fight it all the way. Some Jambo clown at Head Office sent down to my Dad (in the internal mail) a blank sheet of paper with the new Hibs badge (the Planet Saturn incarnation was in its first season in 89-90) on it and 'Hibs FC Team Group 1990-91'. Very funny. But who's sorry now? On the Wednesday I wore a black armband to my History A level ('for the Hibs' as I told my sixth form head) and that evening on BBC2 there was a programme about the running of football clubs and they went live to Easter Road where, again, there were hundreds of Hibbies keeping a vigil by our precious ground. They interviewed one of the Proclaimers (I can't recall if it was Craig or Charlie) and told him that the rodent responsible for the bid had condemned the Hibs supporters' reaction as 'pathetic parochialism', he replied 'well presumably it's not parochial to support Hearts or Rangers'! On the following Saturday there was the rally at Easter Road where Joe Baker famously kissed the turf in front of the East Terracing. I for one would like the terracing to be renamed the Joe Baker Stand. It would be a fitting tribute for an ex-player who was one of us. As we now all know, thanks to the late Kenny McLean's efforts we staved off the obese parasite's attempts to kill our club. Why did he want to do it? He claimed he was a visionary! About as much vision as Horatio Nelson's eye. As a well-spoken, well-informed Hibbie had stated on the documentary on Wednesday 6th June the bid was not about athleticism, rather it was about asset-stripping. The ground that the Leith San Siro is built on is prime city centre real estate close to the city centre of Edinburgh. Edinburgh, the Athens of the North, the Festival City, the second biggest financial centre in the UK and the fourth largest in Europe. He wasn't interested in football. Only in money. A fat, lying Tory bastard. Three months later, on Saturday 15 September 1990, we hosted hertz in the inaugural post-merger bid derby. The atmosphere was always going to be explosive and my Dad, brother and I drove up from South Wales and arrived about ten minutes before kick off. As we climbed up the steps to enter the terracing the first chant we heard was the hateful 'Mercer Must Die'. He has. |
Perth Radge
Re: On This Date In History
excellant post!!
another blast from the past To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Can't Think of a Radge to be Radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2003
Loving your work seven tats excellent piece of writing
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Have to ask though, do you keep a diary cause if not you have some memory mate. |
Dinnae keep a diary mate, just anally retentive or socially autistic, I don't know.
I'm good at minding stuff that interests me and, as I stated, 16 years ago I was in the middle of my A levels and I could have done without the FTB disrupting my studies. Amongst other things. Scotland losing 1-0 to Costa Rica the following week didnae help either! Anyway, FTJTs! |
Caravaning Radge
Great Post 7,T
On the following Saturday there was the rally at Easter Road where Joe Baker famously kissed the turf in front of the East Terracing. I for one would like the terracing to be renamed the Joe Baker Stand. It would be a fitting tribute for an ex-player who was one of us. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. As we now all know, thanks to the late Kenny McLean's efforts we staved off the obese parasite's attempts to kill our club. Why did he want to do it? He claimed he was a visionary! About as much vision as Horatio Nelson's eye. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Yes I Remember That Day Well To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I also Remember a Wee Guy That worked with us at the time sticking Hands Off Hibs Stickers On the Obese ones car outside Eastern Bmws garage in roseburn To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I also Had a slash over the obese ones car {drivers door handle of course}
Port Seton International Caravan Park Only To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Pear Cider Home Delivery Agent To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Tony Mobray,s Green and White Army. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :YAYYY: :YAYYY: :YAYYY: :YAYYY: :YAYYY: :YAYYY: |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
Rest in pieces.
Yam Hating Uncle Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. god rest his soul ) and me greeting like a bairn when joe (the baker boy r.i.p) knelt down and kissed the hallowed turf he had graced with his genius as a hibernian legend ,fabulous memories and i for one will never never forget the fight we won that day ,sending wallet mercenary a giruy ya scumbo tory sh1te , so read young hibbys and be for ever thankful you have the honour of supporting THEE GREATEST FOOTBALL TEAM IN THE UNIVERSE HIBEES HIBEES HIBEES HIBEES HIBEES .
![]() Join Date: May 2006
what a story.
you never forget when you first heard about this. i spent many a night and day at the old main stand waiting for news and attended the hands off hibs rally. i was only seventeen and put about six hundred quid in a guys bucket outside the terracing. its all i had. i also remember being in the hibs club when kenny mclean telephoned wallace mercenary at home and told him exactly what he thought of his take over and where he could shove it. memories eh. thanks. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. STAND UP IF YOU HATE THE YAMS To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. : To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Makes me want to pledge some more to the wonderful Joe Baker Memorial Fund, currently underway on the bounce To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I remember that hot day well. I passionately despise yam. Never forgiven. Check the history books, they've tried it before Wallet. I hope to live to see the day when WE put THEM to the sword. God Bless Kenny Mclean and Joe Baker. God bless all the Hibbys with me at ER that day and God bless all the young bouncers who would have been there had they been born To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Eat Football, Sleep Football, Drink Football, Fucking Hate Hearts..... To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hey bigman. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Just letting the passion out. Im on an anti yam mission To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. INTERTOTO OR BUST! |
Formerly Cockney Radge
You don't forget or forgive after going thru' something like that. Mercer was an out an out utter c*nt who I despised. May he rot in hell.
Can we also bless the Hibbies residing outside Scotland that day that couldn't make the rally? As previously stated, I was in the middle of my A levels in a wee town 14 miles west of Cardiff at the time and would have loved to have been there.
I was there in spirit! |