Old 17-05-06, 17:01   #1
Barbary Corsair

TariqE is on the way to a first team debut
Scott Brown rumor mongers (merged)

Heard that Strachan is trying to sign Scott Brown as a replacement for Petrov. The rumour is that talks have started today.

My view is that Celtic are too tight to hand over a sum of cash that would satisfy Hibs.

I love steak bakes.

There is a watcher over every soul.
TariqE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 17:03   #2
Aged Radge

Re: New rumour.......

Talks with whom?
The Club or Scott?

Has the transfer window opened again so soon.................

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-05-06, 17:05   #3

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink
Talks with whom?
The Club or Scott?

It doesnt have to have opened you can sign players when you want they just cant officially join you untill the window opens. Like Tottenham have done today.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 17:06   #4
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

:already:
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 17:09   #5

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by TariqE
Heard that Strachan is trying to sign Scott Brown as a replacement for Petrov. The rumour is that talks have started today.

My view is that Celtic are too tight to hand over a sum of cash that would satisfy Hibs.

I love steak bakes.
This story was on a Tim website days ago,Took it's time for the made up story to wing it's way over.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
31 days 9 hours 16 minutes
Old 17-05-06, 17:13   #6
Aged Radge

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
It doesnt have to have opened you can sign players when you want they just cant officially join you untill the window opens. Like Tottenham have done today.

I don’t understand………..

You can’t sign players outwith the window surely. That’s why it is called a transfer window.

Are you referring to pre-contract agreements?
Even then Scott has just extended his contract and so is not ‘ripe’ for plundering yet.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-05-06, 17:22   #7

I don’t understand………..

You can’t sign players outwith the window surely. That’s why it is called a transfer window.

Even then Scott has just extended his contract and so is not ‘ripe’ for plundering yet.

It's not called a pre contract, but basically is. The the 2 teams agree a fee, the player agrees personal terms, and then the player will switch clubs when the transfer window opens.

Do you no play fitba manager

Old 17-05-06, 17:36   #8

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

I don’t understand………..

You can sign who you want you just can't play them
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 17:44   #9
Barbary Corsair

Talks with whom?
The Club or Scott?

Dunno, but would presume that the clubs would need to agree a fee before Hibs would 'allow' Celtic to talk to him.....
That's why I don't think it will happen- they are too tight to pay the £1.5M+ for him.

Like I said, just a rumour.....

Old 17-05-06, 17:45   #10

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

What have Tottenham done today?
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 17:47   #11

Originally Posted by TariqE
Dunno, but would presume that the clubs would need to agree a fee before Hibs would 'allow' Celtic to talk to him.....
That's why I don't think it will happen- they are too tight to pay the £1.5M+ for him.

Like I said, just a rumour.....
Not if he has a minimum fee release clause in his contract.

Old 17-05-06, 17:47   #12

Originally Posted by Postiga
What have Tottenham done today?
Signed a Bulgarian striker for £10.9 million
Old 17-05-06, 17:56   #13
Barbary Corsair

True.

Now that's a worrying thought........

Old 17-05-06, 18:00   #14

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Havin a nose around,The tims reckon he's signing for £1m rising to £1.5 dep on appearances.If £1m is the minimum fee then i'm gonna be awfy pissed off considering Scott has longer on his contract to go than Garry O did but as i said earlier this has been on the go for days now with the source seeming to be texts received from youth players.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
31 days 9 hours 16 minutes

Last edited by PILTONSTANY; 17-05-06 at 18:38.
Old 17-05-06, 18:08   #15

TUCKER is on the way to a first team debut

transfer window is open it is close season rangers have signed 2 players
TUCKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 18:24   #16

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY
Havin a nose around,The tims reckon he's signing for £1m rising to £1.5 dep on appearances.If £1 is the minimum fee then i'm gonna be awfy pissed off considering Scott has longer on his contract to go than Garry O did but as i said earlier this has been on the go for days now with the source seeming to be texts received from youth players.
If the fee is only £1 Million then this current board will be finished.

I might be a critic of Rod Petrie but he's not that stupid...

Surely.
Old 17-05-06, 18:27   #17

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY
Havin a nose around,The tims reckon he's signing for £1m rising to £1.5 dep on appearances.If £1 is the minimum fee then i'm gonna be awfy pissed off considering Scott has longer on his contract to go than Garry O did but as i said earlier this has been on the go for days now with the source seeming to be texts received from youth players.
Doesnt sound like a clause is involved from that. If the clause was a million they wouldnt have to pay a penny more. so if that was true it sounds like plain stupidity from the board to settle for such a pathetic figure. The board should stand up to them and demand 2 million for Scott Brown who is worth more but that is the highest figure I think we could expect to get.

Old 17-05-06, 18:30   #18

Lady is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Smurf

Surely.
Exactly.

Sell for £1million and the whole board would have to sleep with one eye open for fear of enfuiated fans.

Considering SB evident talent and further potential, coupled with the fact that he has just signed a new deal, celtic quite simply couldn't afford him.
"If Hearts were a sexual position, they'd be the missionary, once a month, twice on birthdays. Hibs, on the other hand, would be whatever they call the impossible, the only-in-the-movies routine where the woman locks her legs round the man's waist while he stands, supporting her back with one hand, caressing her cheek with the other, looking completely heroic."

Aidan Smith (2005)
Lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 18:37   #19

jasewood has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by TUCKER
transfer window is open it is close season rangers have signed 2 players

One was a Bosman(the czech boy) and Chelsea released the young boy Furman to Rangers so basically was a free agent
jasewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 18:54   #20

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Smurf

Surely.
Might not be the clubs doing though Smurf, both players may have insisted prior to signing extended contracts
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 18:54   #21

garethni is on the way to a first team debut

Although the transfer window is shut all that it basically means is that a player cant be officially signed i.e.: able to represnt the club he's signed for it doesnt mean that he cant go into offical negotiations with a club with prior/official consent from the selling club or in other words he cant play in competitive matches until the window re-opens which is 1st July i think?
garethni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-06, 18:59