Old 15-05-06, 20:29   #1

GibbytheHibby is on the way to a first team debut
Question Scott Brown Away?

I'll be upfront and say I posted the same thing in the January transfer window- which turned out to be guff (but could be along the same lines as Celtic's proposed move for Deek in January falling through).

Have heard tonight that Celtic have bid for Scott Brown and the indication is that it has been accepted. Anyone on here with better contacts confirm this

If true - then I can only imagine (as we all suspected) that each young star has in their contract a 'magic sum' for which they can leave for another club before their contract expires. Club are damned if they do / don't regarding securing talent to prevent the likes of Riordan leaving for nowt.

Also - if true, then what's the betting that Smeltic get Broonie for something like £1M - and then sell Petrov for something like £5M.

I'll gladly take the flak if this is pish - I've said a few times on here how highly I rate Broonie. But as I said - a few bouncers on here would be able to (I suspect) confirm this story?
Old 15-05-06, 20:31   #2

1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice
Re: Scott Brown Away?

Originally Posted by GibbytheHibby
I'll be upfront and say I posted the same thing in the January transfer window- which turned out to be guff (but could be along the same lines as Celtic's proposed move for Deek in January falling through).

Have heard tonight that Celtic have bid for Scott Brown and the indication is that it has been accepted. Anyone on here with better contacts confirm this

If true - then I can only imagine (as we all suspected) that each young star has in their contract a 'magic sum' for which they can leave for another club before their contract expires. Club are damned if they do / don't regarding securing talent to prevent the likes of Riordan leaving for nowt.

Also - if true, then what's the betting that Smeltic get Broonie for something like £1M - and then sell Petrov for something like £5M.

I'll gladly take the flak if this is pish - I've said a few times on here how highly I rate Broonie. But as I said - a few bouncers on here would be able to (I suspect) confirm this story?
The rumour has been doing the rounds, duno if it's true.

If it is, he's worth a hell of alot more than £1m
1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:31   #3

burtis97 is on the way to a first team debut

i h8 this time of the season theres always rumours about are sqaud being torne apart its terrible what goes about i also heard totenham are making a 1.5mill bid for brown
burtis97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:32   #4
Perth Radge

jakey boy is on the way to a first team debut

ffs, might as well take thommo as well, need a left back? have murphy.

just have to wait and see
jakey boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:34   #5

I very much doubt that this is true. Celtic havnae got two ba' hairs to rub together just now as has been shown with the Riordan transfer. Brown will be at ER next season IMO.
Old 15-05-06, 20:35   #6

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

How can they make a bid for him when the transfer windows shut

Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:35   #7

burtis97 is on the way to a first team debut

murphy has been linked with fulham 2
burtis97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:36   #8

i think thompson and brown(possibly sproule)will be at new clubs by the end of 2006-maybe sooner

sad but true
Old 15-05-06, 20:37   #9

I hope to fcuk this aint true, I dunno how much more of this I can take.

If true, I couldn't see Mogga hanging about for much longer, Imagine in one Summer we lost, Caldwell, Brown, Riordan, Mowbray and Venus
Old 15-05-06, 20:40   #10

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

minimum fee release clause
better not be true, otherwise, we have lots 3 of the bets talents in scottish football
(o'connor, riordan and broon!

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:40   #11
Aged Radge

He can't be transferred just now.
The window is closed.
Of course there is nothing preventing them making it known to Hibs that they will offer £X amount when the window opens again.....effectively the clubs agreeing a deal in advance.

This would mean that Sellic secure a player rather than enter a bidding competition, and happily unsettle a rivals top player.

Exactly what you would expect of these chisellers.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 15-05-06, 20:42   #12

Originally Posted by Grant1875
I hope to fcuk this aint true, I dunno how much more of this I can take.

If true, I couldn't see Mogga hanging about for much longer, Imagine in one Summer we lost, Caldwell, Brown, Riordan, Mowbray and Venus

Caldwell was pish for the last half of the season. Deek we knew was always likely to go - and I think we'd survive without.

The others - I just pray that the info is pish and that they are all here for the whole of next season
Old 15-05-06, 20:46   #13

The only way I could see a bid being accepted is if he has a clause in his contract allowing it and I would not be surprised if this was the case. I doubt he would move there when there has been talks of Tottenham being interested. Scott Brown is a premiership player not an SPL player.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 20:46   #14

Caldwell was pish for the last half of the season. Deek we knew was always likely to go - and I think we'd survive without.

The others - I just pray that the info is pish and that they are all here for the whole of next season
Caldwell maybe was pish the past few weeks, but I'm sure you'd have preferred it if he was wearing the green and white of Hibs next season
Old 15-05-06, 20:48   #15

Caldwell maybe was pish the past few weeks, but I'm sure you'd have preferred it if he was wearing the green and white of Hibs next season
I can honestly say I would not prefer that one bit. I just dont rate the guy at all.

Old 15-05-06, 20:48   #16

Nah - I liked Caldwell - but he (and that clown Zibi) cost us too many goals.

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
The only way I could see a bid being accepted is if he has a clause in his contract allowing it and I would not be surprised if this was the case. I doubt he would move there when there has been talks of Tottenham being interested. Scott Brown is a premiership player not an SPL player.
Agree
Old 15-05-06, 20:50   #17

Riordan chose Celtic over PSV / Kaiserslautern

Nothing at all surprises me any more, If Scott Brown chose Celtic over Spurs then I wouldn't be the slightest bit surprised.
Old 15-05-06, 20:53   #18

500miles will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Cal_Hibby_4_Life
minimum fee release clause
better not be true, otherwise, we have lots 3 of the bets talents in scottish football
(o'connor, riordan and broon!
I wouldnt worry about the minimum release claus. Didn't Mowbray say that there wouldn't be any in the contracts offered recently.

500miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 21:04   #19

Originally Posted by 500miles
I wouldnt worry about the minimum release claus. Didn't Mowbray say that there wouldn't be any in the contracts offered recently.

If Scott Brown asked for it do you think they would deny him it. Personally I doubt they would. If thats what it took for him to sign a contract then fine. We either have Scott Brown signed up with a minimum fee release clause or we have no clause and no Scott Brown.

Old 15-05-06, 21:08   #20

500miles will become famous soon enough

If Scott Brown asked for it do you think they would deny him it. Personally I doubt they would. If thats what it took for him to sign a contract then fine. We either have Scott Brown signed up with a minimum fee release clause or we have no clause and no Scott Brown.
I think that he would respect Hibs decision to demand decent money.

500miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 21:09   #21
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

I can reveal that Scott Brown shall be making a move to a team in the west soon

I shall say nothing else so far. I do not want to start some crap.

** Posted by Owen Wright **

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 21:09   #22

Steve-O is on the way to a first team debut

If Hibs accept less than £2million I will be absolutely disgusted

Steve-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-06, 21:16   #23
Blackhall Radge