Why are people blaming Strachan???
Why is everyone raging at Gordon Strachan after Riordan signed for the Tims. He is only doing his job!
I have heard, on this board, the following: ''Strachan yer a disgrace'' ''Call yerself a hibby Strachan?'' and much, much more..... I can't believe there is so much resentment towards his part in this deal! it's unbelievable. Do people expect him to say: ''Oh wait, I better not sign derek riordan, he plays for Hibs, the team I last properly supported about 35 years ago!''??? I was actually VERY suprised to see so many anti-strachan comments in the wake of Riordan's deal. Not that I like the guy, I don't, but to BLAME him in such a negative manner is incredible. What did people expect Strachan to do???
Re: Why are people blaming Strachan???
It's nothing to do with Strachan, to say Riordan is in the wrong would be nonsense as well, at the end of the day, it's up to him where he goes, but he's deliberately let his contract run down knowing full well Hibs wouldn't get a penny for him
There is nobody to "blame" for the Derek Riordan departure :
Hibs: Offered Riordan a top contract (according to them), were willing to accept £1 Million from Cardiff last year, and would probably have accepted £500, 000 straight up in January this year. Riordan did not want to go to Cardiff, and Rangers bid fell below Hibs valuation of the player for the rest of the season. They were correct to knock back Rangers "instalments" offer Riordan: Wants to play at a higher level, for more money, a better chance of honours, and a better chance of International football. Every player will want to do this. Celtic: Have used the SPL rules to their financial advantage. We would do the same. Why pay £100,000 now for something you can get for nothing in January ? Strachan: Knows Riordan is an outstanding player with some raw edges, but feels he can improve him as a player. Who would not want to sign a player of Riordan's quality if you had the chance to ? McArthur: Just doing his job. It is the responsibility of a players agent to advise his player regarding statements to the media, to get the best possible deal for his client, and ensure the maximum financial return both for himself and his player. He has done this. If people want to attach blame to someone for this situation arising, try and find out where a Mr Jean Marc Bosman is currently residing ,and give him grief. In the modern post Bosman game, professional footballers hold all the cards. We just have to live with it, and try to make the best use of all our good players whilst we still have them.
Wouldn't exactly say he'll be at a higher level, at the end of the day, he's playing for a team thats in the same league, and how long will they exactly be in europe for ?
International caps SHOULD only arise if he's playing every week, he was guaranteed that at ER, is he guaranteed that at darkheid ? Personally I don't think so, IMO, if Strachan really rated Riordan and saw him as a big player for Celtic, he would have signed him up straight away.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. though I think there are two bits of the equation missing. 'Honest' Tony: On being appointed manager he withdrew the original offer that was on the table before Riordan was able to sign it (and according to his agent was willing to sign) as he wanted to assess the player first. This was an understandably inexperienced error but ultimately a very costly mistake. Mr Morality/ By delaying the pre contract until 24th of January, Hibs are denied a transfer fee of lets say £100,000 -£200,000 which matters not a jot to Celtic as they have a set amount to spend and it doesn't matter to them if this goes to the player or the selling club. I would hazard a guess though that this becomes part of the negotiations and is carved up in an increased signing on fee to the player and agents commission which may well be an agent doing his job but still rather stinks somewhat. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
I cant blame Mcarthur for this but I feel that he didnt have Dereks best interests at heart. I think if Mcarthur had done his job right and touted Riordan to lots of clubs in England and made everyone more aware of his availability he'd have had more offers from teams at a higher level. IMO Mcarthur was taking the safe, easy option and his only intentions were for Riordan to go west. I could be wrong but I refuse to belive there was no interest from bigger clubs in a striker with such a prolific goal record.
I think he had to do what he done. but it has meant an awful lot of hardship for smaller clubs who once depended on transfer fees for their existance. In other words it has benefited footballers, but not necessarily football in general.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
the russian team offered a million, fair enough derek didnt want to go, but did he have to sign so quick for celtic? couldnt he wait a few months and look at the offers on the table? most teams would have been holding back so as to use any transfer fee as a signing on fee so what was his rush?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
strachan has lost my respect,he must have known what he was doing
didn't take him long to get wrapped in the celtic way another one who has took his"boyhood heroes" for a ride
Aged Radge
.......... or it could also be that Tramp McArthur was instructed by his client NOT to look at anything further than the Weege. Remember when Cardiff came in? He wouldn't even look at the deal. Costs you nothing to look........... Yet he was happy enough to consider both sides of the Bigot Brothers as soon as they came calling. The decision is Derek's. The responsibility is Derek's.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
PEG SELLING RADGE
Strachan is just doing his job, aquiring a good player at little or no cost, a good bit of business on his part.
Seem to remember we signed some of the supposedly better players when we were the "big fish" in division one. tom smith, derek collins, buftie hartley and paul lovering.....
I wonder how many footballers would accept the sort of wages other employees enjoy To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
"Oi Dermot, I'd really quite like Riordan in at the START of the season, mibbe we should offer them a fee and see if they accept naw?" And "Gonnae leave the website announcement until after the cup final and mibbe a wee bit closer to the time when he will sign rather than 7 months before?" That would be a start anyway.