Old 11-05-06, 08:58   #1

Rep Power: 4 Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
On This Date in History

Sat 11/05/85 Hibs 1-0 Rangers

A last day of the season clash at home to Michael Stone's Marauders. Just like the previous year. Which ended goal-less. A year on and the casuals had arrived in Edinburgh as the Hibs boys set out to let the rest of Scotland know that the days of hertz, huns, dodgers and most recently the sheep (the Raymie Morrell incident was still fresh in the memory) takin liberties in Leith were gone.

I wasn't at the game, my Dad (who hates the huns with an absolute passion - something to do with being chased ran Glasgow in 1958 after Joe Baker's Hibs emptied them in a cup semi) wouldn't take me and my brother, cos of fears of trouble. I listened to Radio Clyde and after 40 minutes the commentary left Love Street (where hertz got phucked 5-2!) as there was a penalty at Easter Road. I should have known it was for us as their man in the east sounded right pissed off.

Craigie Paterson (Judas and a shite pundit!) had handled in the box and up stepped the 19 year old Kano. 1-0 Hibs! We looked set for a league double, i.e. beating them at The Lodge and ER in the league for the first time since 1964-65. (To put things in perspective, we've only done that league double twice since - 1989-90 and 2005-06).

The next thing we heard from ER was without ten minutes left the barriers on the then uncovered terracing had been knocked down and a pagger broke out. Seemingly, missiles had been exchanged throughout the game. And the fighting was serious enough for the players to be taken off the pitch. The Hibs boys were here and they'd rule the roost in Scotland for many years to come.

I've never been involved myself but, personally, I think that's a good thing. Why the phuck should the huns think they can get away with takin the piss in Leith? Phuck that.

(Footnote: This was the day of the Bradford City Valley Parade fire tragedy.)
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 09:04   #2
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2959
Re: On This Date in History

That was my first Hibs game. I mind the exchange of missiles.

I think the crowd was around 7000. I'll check when I get home.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 09:05   #3

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Seven Tattoos
The next thing we heard from ER was without ten minutes left the barriers on the then uncovered terracing had been knocked down and a pagger broke out. Seemingly, missiles had been exchanged throughout the game. And the fighting was serious enough for the players to be taken off the pitch. The Hibs boys were here and they'd rule the roost in Scotland for many years to come.
Remember this well.
Old 11-05-06, 09:27   #4

Casino cash: £3063

also remember it well, was in the terrazio aged 11, healthy amount of missiles and battling in the segregation area, think that was the game I got hit on the back of the leg by a stone

good win though
Old 11-05-06, 10:15   #5

The attendance was given in the Sunday papers as 9,000. I don't know why, but Hibs until the 1991-92 season virtually always gave rounded attendance figures.

Keeping in the vein of Hibs paggering that merry month of May 1985, on the following Monday we hosted Celtic in the second leg of the reserves cup final. Kenny Waugh allowed entry into the enclosures for 30p only and a fair crowd turned up. However, when Callum Milne got sent off it went off again!

We lost 1-0 that night, 3-0 on aggregate.
Old 11-05-06, 10:38   #6
1980's Retro Radge

Casino cash: £272

The Hibs boys were here and they'd rule the roost in Scotland for many years to come.

I think that's a good thing. Why the phuck should the huns think they can get away with takin the piss in Leith? Phuck that.
I know a few guys who were in right at the begining of the whole Casual era, and they say it was the best time they have had at the footy. Legging the Huns that day seems to be a favorite story among most of them

KEEP THE FAITH - ALAVES WILL RISE AGAIN
SwissToni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 10:39   #7
Everybody is a Radge

Casino cash: £7405
Rep Power: 17 snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

However, when Callum Milne got sent off
I was in the old enclosure and saw what happened there clearly. Milne was about three yards away from the cheat John Colhoun who threw himself in the air resulting in Milne being sent off. Saw that cheating wee git repeat this throughout his career.
Old 11-05-06, 11:21   #8

Swiss Toni - I have a few acquaintances (one a very good friend) who say exactly the same. When you think of all the books written on the cultural phenomenon 'The Casuals' it's amazing that certain well known names haven't capitalised on their notoriety and produced a definitive account of the CCS 1984 - present. However, if like me, you've read many such tomes you'll find 'Hibernian Casuals' get mentioned in the accounts of 'boys' of many different clubs; Sheffield United, Manchester United, Everton, Cardiff City, Middlesbrough to name a few.

Going back to the game played twenty-one years ago today, I remember a letter in The Face magazine (the fashion/popular culture/music mag that was sued by Jason Donovan for claiming he was Whitley Bay) in August 1993 following a feature on the sub-culture. A guy called Woody from Edinburgh stated that he saw the ICF at Easter Road in 1985 and they were wearing Kappa.

He also stated that there was some old grafitti somewhere proclaiming 'ICF love scarves', he added that they also loved 'blades, bottles and bolting'.

Sounds like the huns.

BEATING SH!TE OOT AE HUNS IS VERY MUCH LIKE MAKING LOVE TO A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN (well, maybe not!)
Old 11-05-06, 12:08   #9
1980's Retro Radge

Casino cash: £272

He also stated that there was some old grafitti somewhere proclaiming 'ICF love scarves', he added that they also loved 'blades, bottles and bolting'.

Sounds like the huns.
Naming yourself after a hard firm doesn't actually make you a hard firm. The huns were so original when they came up with the "ICF" tag, but the ironic thing is, they all claim to be in with the Chelsea lads

KEEP THE FAITH - ALAVES WILL RISE AGAIN
SwissToni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 12:23   #10

That, unfortunately, is due to the Orange bigotry/racist right-wing alliance. It explains why many English mobs fly the Red Hand of Ulster as well as the St George and the Union Flag. I always thought it was quite clever and funny that the Hibs Boys bastardised the UJ with the Black, Green and White version. If you were in the North Stand at the semi (as I was, too close to the skates!) you could see a huge example of what I'm referring to in the South Stand.

I remember being at Swindon in 1990 and even in the 150 loyal Hibbies who were at the game there was at least a score of Hibs Boys wearing the CCS UJ teeshirt with 'These Colours Don't Run'.

Getting back to the pond life though, you'll meet right wing idiots in every mob in England and Wales. Even Cardiff City's Soul Crew has a few such characters. I recently danced close to the flame by showing my Stone Island Capital City Service screen saver on my phone to some Cardiff 'Boys' in a notoriously dodgy boozer. The guys in question 'were all Rangers'.

The brave things you do when you're p!shed and a long way from home!
Old 11-05-06, 12:30   #11

I was at that game, in the terrace, and a member of the CCS (mis-spent youth). The Huns had been lobbing missiles, a golf ball wi' nails hammered through it landed near me, and kicked down the gates. However, they were very reluctant to actually come through the gates and get a kicking.

The biggest aggro was about 200 yards from the top of Leith walk (as per) where the Huns had charged into the street from a side road - and promptly got a doing from a mix of a few hundred Hibs scarfers on one side and about 200 CCS on the other.

Ah the memories.

[disclaimer: I do not and I expect this site does not condone violence at football matches (is that OK admins?) ]
keekaboo1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 19:56   #12
Spooky Admin Radge

The attendance was apparently 7149.

The second lowest league attendance at ER v Rangers in about 100 years.

Anyone care to guess when the lowest, 3242, was?

Old 11-05-06, 20:09   #13
PPK
Raving Radge

Casino cash: £1589

Originally Posted by Bobby S
The attendance was apparently 7149.

The second lowest league attendance at ER v Rangers in about 100 years.

Anyone care to guess when the lowest, 3242, was?
Was it at the end of season 78/79 just after we played them 3 times in the Scottish cup final, think this game was played on a thursday night, I remember it being a really poor crowd that night but we did win
PPK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 20:23   #14
Mod Radge

Casino cash: £1265

programme on bravo tonight the real football factories the ccs are featured do not know if this is a series or a one off (i got locked up in cell after this game got out around 10 oclock thou not charged)
Old 11-05-06, 20:27   #15
Spooky Admin Radge

Originally Posted by PPK
Was it at the end of season 78/79 just after we played them 3 times in the Scottish cup final, think this game was played on a thursday night, I remember it being a really poor crowd that night but we did win
Spot on.

Old 11-05-06, 20:58   #16

Bobby S - would I be right in saying that in that game against the huns in June (?) 1979 The One And Only LRT Bus Driver, His Bennyness scored an absolute raker fi 20odd yards? Or am I just talkin p!sh?
Old 11-05-06, 21:48   #17
Spooky Admin Radge

Bobby S - would I be right in saying that in that game against the huns in June (?) 1979 The One And Only LRT Bus Driver, His Bennyness scored an absolute raker fi 20odd yards? Or am I just talkin p!sh?
http://www.serendip.force9.co.uk/Hib...tures_7879.htm

Sounds like you could be right....

Old 11-05-06, 21:51   #18
Mad Dad Radge

Casino cash: £1696
Rep Power: 4 CraigourGreen is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by mod4ever
programme on bravo tonight the real football factories the ccs are featured do not know if this is a series or a one off (i got locked up in cell after this game got out around 10 oclock thou not charged)
Can just see you mate a wee snip of a boy fighting with they bad rangers fans were you a mod , skinhead ,casual or just a headbanger (only kidding bro)
CraigourGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 21:55   #19

Casino cash: £8201
Rep Power: 24 Gunnerhibby is a jewel in the roughGunnerhibby is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by PPK

The Hun barstewards played only two or three of their team that beat us in the final a few days before, they were shittin' it for any repurcussions, and their goal was scored by a choocter fae Inversneckie, Billy Urquhart, probably his only game.

2-1 tae the Cabbage

Old 11-05-06, 23:25   #20

Casino cash: £2052

[quote=Seven Tattoos]The attendance was given in the Sunday papers as 9,000. I don't know why, but Hibs until the 1991-92 season virtually always gave rounded attendance figures.
/QUOTE]

Yep it seemed strange, especially during the Duff/Gray era thatb there seemed to have been a lot more spectators at the game than the attendance figures given out afterwards indicated. Surely they weren't at the fiddle ?
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 00:02   #21
An Uncle Radge who knows Uncle Stretch (Heavyweight Version of the Cellic hating Version)

Casino cash: £2748
vCash: 10250

I have the scar on my head to vouch for one of those missiles.

Hun bassas. Funnily enough, never got done again by any Huns after that.
Old 12-05-06, 08:22   #22
Spooky Admin Radge

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby
The Hun barstewards played only two or three of their team that beat us in the final a few days before, they were shittin' it for any repurcussions, and their goal was scored by a choocter fae Inversneckie, Billy Urquhart, probably his only game.

2-1 tae the Cabbage
Hibs: McArthur, Brazil, Duncan, Bremner, Stewart, McNamara, Rae, McLeod, Campbell, Brown (Farmer), Hutchinson (Lambie)

Rangers: McCloy, A Forsyth, Dawson, Miller, Morris, Watson, Strickland (Armour), Urquhart, Russell, Smith, Cooper (Robertson)

Scorers: Brazil (25) 1-0, Urquhart (57) 1-1, Rae (82) 2-1

Some memory you have Dudge

Old 12-05-06, 08:50   #23
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

Casino cash: £1591

Aye those were the days my friends. Violence,7000 crowds for 'big' games and Duran Duran.New romantics indeed.

WE'RE THE MENTAL HIBEES BABY WE'VE CLASS, HIBEES YA BASS
GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 08:55   #24