Old 11-05-06, 07:50   #1

Casino cash: £2780
New Deals

MIKE STEWS AT HIBS DEAL

HIBS midfielder Michael Stewart will be offered a new deal at Easter Road - once he proves his fitness.

The 25-year-old former Hearts and Manchester United player enjoyed an impressive first half of the season in Leith after agreeing a 12-month deal last summer.

But he missed the SPL run in with a foot injury which kept him out six weeks.

Hibs boss Tony Mowbray said: "Michael's got to get fit first. I've spoken to him and his advisors but I wouldn't anticipate any problems with it.

"When he gets there a contract offer will be there for him, there's no problem with that."

Hibs kids Andrew McNeill, Darren Smith and Sean Lynch have also been offered deals.
Old 11-05-06, 08:02   #2

Casino cash: £4619
vCash: 17000
Rep Power: 19 ©stretch is a jewel in the rough©stretch is a jewel in the rough
Re: New Deals

Strange how there are deals for Stewart and others but nothing for Riordan I assume Stewart will be on a good whack per week.

I smell shite.

http://stretchorama.myminicity.com/

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 08:08   #3

Casino cash: £430

We've got better players than Sewart in our squad, my feeling is that it would be no great loss if he was to go, i'm well sure there is better midfielders out there Tony could spend his wages on.
mclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 08:31   #4

Casino cash: £1198

Thinking the same thing. Apart from a couple games I dont think what
he's shown merits a new deal. Would be interesting to know what he's
on, surely this money would be better used going towards keeping our
best talent (Deeks), our wage structure is the right way for us to go
at the moment, but bending that rule now and again for talent like deeks
would seem like good business sense to me.
Old 11-05-06, 08:53   #5

Casino cash: £29593
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

I get the feeling that if it was a choice between Derek Riordan, with 60 goals in three seasons, or Michael Stewart who struggles to give us 60 minutes, in any one game he is fit enough to play in, the priority is the latter for the Easter Road hierarchy..
Old 11-05-06, 09:24   #6

good news about andrew McNeil, Darren Smith and Lynch
Old 11-05-06, 09:57   #7
Radgey McRadge Radge

Casino cash: £957

Well done Mickey my boy You have got to hand it to him though when he plays he is an impressive player and he would provide good back-up for our very strong midfield next season We just have to work on keeping him fit and also try to keep him motivated so that he is more consistent in his good performances The main problem with mickey is that with training with Manchester all those years he is trained to think two steps ahead of play at the moment, thus he picks all the hard passes etc and our players don't play like this : what we need to do is tone is play down bit so he is the same wave length as the rest of our players then we will see the full potential of this player
Old 11-05-06, 10:00   #8
Time For Action Radge

Casino cash: £2811
Rep Power: 9 Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

I was told a few months ago that Stewart wanted to stay at Hibs but money wasn't the factor he really enjoys his football under Tony Mowbray.. Seemingly he's a millionaire, he invested the money he got from Man Utd in property in and around Edinburgh. If that is indeed the case I would give him another year.

Andrew's dad told me at the dance on Saturday that young Andrew would be offered a deal at the end of this week. Hibs will have to pay Southampton a nominal fee for his services.

"For peace, freedom and democracy, never again Fascism, millions of dead admonish"

The picture of this stone, which is in front of Hitler's birthplace in Braunau, was taken during the Hibs tour of Austria.
Sunshine on Leith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 10:05   #9

Casino cash: £3125

Originally Posted by chrissyraff
Well done Mickey my boy You have got to hand it to him though when he plays he is an impressive player and he would provide good back-up for our very strong midfield next season We just have to work on keeping him fit and also try to keep him motivated so that he is more consistent in his good performances The main problem with mickey is that with training with Manchester all those years he is trained to think two steps ahead of play at the moment, thus he picks all the hard passes etc and our players don't play like this : what we need to do is tone is play down bit so he is the same wave length as the rest of our players then we will see the full potential of this player
You must be joking! Two steps ahead of the rest? Hardly. Sorry but MS is a luxury we can do without. I have seen nothing to convince me he is a good player. For me he is the Brian Hamilton or the Jarko Wiss mold the type of player the manager seems to like but the fans think is gash. I would happily give all his wages to Deek and it would free up a bed in the physio's room. MS has a lot to prove yet to me.
Old 11-05-06, 10:13   #10

Casino cash: £130
vCash: 50000

I'll be glad the young lads all sign up again, all excellent prospects.

Sorry I can't be as enthusiastic as some about the prospect of re-signing Stewart. I think he is a decent player but he is way too inconsistent for my liking, one good game in every 5 or 6 is a luxury we can't afford and thats when he is not on the treatment table. He also seems to me to be unfit, always seems to be blawin' oot his erse after aboot 60 minutes. I feel we could do better with the money he gets no matter how much it is.

Last edited by JamieHibby; 11-05-06 at 11:35.
JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 10:51   #11
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Casino cash: £425

didnt care what happened about mikey stewart tbh anyway deano deserves his place in the squad more than stewart.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 10:51   #12
Saintee's Radge

Casino cash: £255
Rep Power: 5 part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Sunshine on Leith
I was told a few months ago that Stewart wanted to stay at Hibs but money wasn't the factor he really enjoys his football under Tony Mowbray.. Seemingly he's a millionaire, he invested the money he got from Man Utd in property in and around Edinburgh. If that is indeed the case I would give him another year.
I've heard rumours that he was going to retire after his crap spell at the Yams. He would be able to retire early because he is minted after his spell with Man U reserves, but then TM stepped in and gave him a better opportunity. Hopefully he takes it...

Andrew's dad told me at the dance on Saturday that young Andrew would be offered a deal at the end of this week. Hibs will have to pay Southampton a nominal fee for his services.
How does that work? I thought Southampton had released him.

Really good news if he stays though. I've been really impressed in the few games I've seen him play in. I take it that Hibs will be letting Si Brown go, then having McNeill and Ally Brown compete to replace Zibi if/when he mucks up next season?
part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-06, 12:51   #13

TONY MOWBRAY today revealed he's offered new deals to five Hibs kids who he believes will become Easter Road stars of the future.

Four of the youngsters, Andy McNeil, Darren Smith, Sean Lynch and Ross Campbell, have already been included in first-team squads in recent weeks, their opportunity arising through the club's lengthy injury list.

Both 19-year-old midfielder Lynch and 18-year-old striker Ross Campbell have already made their debuts as substitutes.

Now the four, along with 18-year-old Kevin McCann, are considering deals put to them by Mowbray who has predicted a bright future for all five.
Old 11-05-06, 12:59   #14

Casino cash: £54135

Originally Posted by Smurf
I get the feeling that if it was a choice between Derek Riordan, with 60 goals in three seasons, or Michael Stewart who struggles to give us 60 minutes, in any one game he is fit enough to play in, the priority is the latter for the Easter Road hierarchy..
Or maybe Stewart is willing to sign a contract offer which the club can afford.
Old 11-05-06, 13:25   #15

Originally Posted by Steve20
Or maybe Stewart is willing to sign a contract offer which the club can afford.
Sometimes though in life it's better to have a little of what you can't afford than too much of what you can afford.
Old 11-05-06, 13:35   #16

Sometimes though in life it's better to have a little of what you can't afford than too much of what you can afford.
Not in this case its not. Cant give Riordan anything more if the club cant afford it.

Anyway, Stewart is an important player in my opinion and if he can be kept, then good.
Old 11-05-06, 13:43   #17

Not in this case its not. Cant give Riordan anything more if the club cant afford it.
**** * **** ** ****** ****!

The only thing we can't afford is to lose 60 Goals in Three seasons.

On the table for Riordan fromthe club is a deal that would pay him less per week than what O'Connor & Caldwell were on.
Old 11-05-06, 13:53   #18

**** * **** ** ****** ****!

The only thing we can't afford is to lose 60 Goals in Three seasons.

On the table for Riordan fromthe club is a deal that would pay him less per week than what O'Connor & Caldwell were on.

Here is a thought.

Maybe all this "I want to stay with Hibs" stuff is to keep the fans happy. Wouldnt be the first footballer to tell the fans one thing and mean another.
Old 11-05-06, 13:59   #19
Radgey McRadge Radge

Casino cash: £957

Anyway, Stewart is an important player in my opinion and if he can be kept, then good.

Well done that man finally someone who agrees with me about the qualities of Stewart

I don't particularly agree with that after all thats happened this season we can see we need a big squad with sufficient depth as our team is always plagued with injury and Riordan who is taking off as of injury alot is no exception to this rule
Old 11-05-06, 14:20   #20

Casino cash: £130
vCash: 50000

Originally Posted by chrissyraff
Well done that man finally someone who agrees with me about the qualities of Stewart

I don't particularly agree with that after all thats happened this season we can see we need a big squad with sufficient depth as our team is always plagued with injury and Riordan who is taking off as of injury alot is no exception to this rule
can somebody translate this bit for me??
Old 11-05-06, 14:23   #21

Casino cash: £6815
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

I agree with you there, Kenny - despite being, in principle, against breaking the wage structure. I believe the short-term investment would pay off handsomely, but sadly Hibs don't appear to see it that way.

A bottle of Chateauneuf du Pape v 6 bottles of Lambrusco?