Old 09-05-06, 23:51   #1

Casino cash: £17813
vCash: 6886500
Rep Power: 44 Jamie is just really niceJamie is just really niceJamie is just really nice
Exclamation Attention-Please Take Note

Althou swearing is allowed on the bounce we have noticed an increase of its use in the forums, whilst you may think you have a valid point to do so please have a thought of who is going to read your post

If this continues we will either

a, start deleting/editing posts

b, turn the swear filter on so everything will look like this ********************************************

c, BAN the one's abusing it

Please think about this

while i'm here

Please be advised General Hibs Chat is for HIBS related stuff only, a and c from above will apply here also please use the excellent search facility we have or at least look past page 1 of the forum you are viewing to see if a topic has been started or not,you can then reply there instead of starting a new thread

Many thanks for taking the time to read this

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: My birthday!!
259 days 17 hours 57 minutes
Old 09-05-06, 23:57   #2

Casino cash: £869
Re: Attention-Please Take Note

Well **** me , I hadn't even noticed the swearing!

Stupid wee ****ing teenagers nowadays

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-06, 00:11   #3

Casino cash: £300

has the fucking filter been fucking turned on? what a sack of fucking shit! jamie, you're a bastard.

Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-06, 00:11   #4

Casino cash: £300

Originally Posted by Quagmire
has the fucking filter been fucking turned on? what a sack of fucking shit! jamie, you're a bastard.

i take all of the above back...

can i say ****?

EDIT:looks like i can't...fuck...

EDIT AGAIN: SWEARING'S FUN!!!
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-06, 00:23   #5

Casino cash: £869

Originally Posted by Jamie
come back in a day mate, we're serious bout this one, you just took the pish
Just what I was thinking

Hope he gets the hint

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 18:02   #6

Casino cash: £1441

So if we sware we're banned?
calumhibee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 18:15   #7

And tae think the likes of Irvine Welsh and James Kelman have fought a war on this one against the effete conservative English establishment who have battered into our working class heids that proper English is so much more polite and refined than sweary bollox.... blah blah blah...

Come on. Is this 21st century Scotland or Victorian England? (Puts tin hat on).

"I'm more irritated by language used badly than bad language" JAMES KELMAN
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 18:18   #8

NB Excessive swearing IS language used badly...
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 19:36   #9
RmR
Prozac and Stella makes everything OK Radge

Casino cash: £2781

Is that no swearing?
RmR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 19:52   #10

Casino cash: £2701

Originally Posted by RmR
Is that no swearing?
its used in the bible so I doubt it is classified as swearing

at least it wasn't when they did the translation anyway
Old 12-05-06, 20:03   #11
RmR
Prozac and Stella makes everything OK Radge

Casino cash: £2781

Originally Posted by hibbybrian
its used in the bible so I doubt it is classified as swearing

at least it wasn't when they did the translation anyway
"And the Lord God was vexed and did say get this pish away tae Gorgie"
Hibernians 18:75
RmR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-06, 20:40   #12

Casino cash: £2701

Originally Posted by RmR
"And the Lord God was vexed and did say get this pish away tae Gorgie"
Hibernians 18:75
the quotation I was referring to is "men who sit and eat their own dung and drink their own Pish"

this is obviously a parable of your reference
Old 12-05-06, 23:54   #13

Casino cash: £13731
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Originally Posted by pilrig70
NB Excessive swearing IS language used badly...
You hit it on the head, but not beating about the bush too much, we are trying to teach the less eleoquent/ lazy to avoid looking and sounding like a Jambo.
Old 12-05-06, 23:56   #14

Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Originally Posted by hibbybrian
the quotation I was referring to is "men who sit and eat their own dung and drink their own Pish"

this is obviously a parable of your reference
Ehhh, you may find that was an interpration of the bible (or not?)

Its the fuckin fuckers fuckin fucked nonsense we wish to remove.
Old 13-05-06, 00:13   #15

Casino cash: £14933
Rep Power: 28 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by 1875
Its the fuckin fuckers fuckin fucked nonsense we wish to remove.
That is truly one of the best sentences ever constructed if you remove the second fucked which is just gratuitous

Swearing doesn't bother me in the slightest tbh, but if a significant number of people have a problem with it it's only common courtesy to try and either avoid it or at least limit it a bit. I know txt speak pisses me off immensely, so I can at least empathise a bit on this.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 13-05-06, 00:24   #16
Aged Radge

Casino cash: £12200
Rep Power: 29 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

I agree with 162 about the txt spk which I think gets on the thruppenies of many and is rightly banned.

The sweary stuff is a bit more difficult.
1875 sums it up well I think. The gratuitous stuff is guntspeak and we don't need it.

In extreme cases (replies to Synapse etc) it should be accepted, but I'm sure a bit of imagination wil get the message across in many cases without resorting to language that may offend your mother/aunt/wee sister.

That's assuming they read the Bounce of course.

..........obviously female Bouncees are too fragrant to recognise sweary words and are therefore excluded from my sweeping generalisations.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 13-05-06, 00:47   #17
Lix
Sharky Radge

Casino cash: £3832
vCash: 9969190

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink

..........obviously female Bouncees are too fragrant to recognise sweary words and are therefore excluded from my sweeping generalisations.

you are a fecking gent ...
Old 13-05-06, 00:56   #18

Casino cash: £415
Rep Power: 5 Cal_Hibby_4_Life is on the way to a first team debut

you actually banning him ??? holy **** this is serious this time

Cal_Hibby_4_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-06, 10:00   #19

Casino cash: £381
vCash: 190599

Right Im confused here, Are you allowed to swear anymore?
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-06, 10:03   #20

Originally Posted by Postiga
Right Im confused here, Are you allowed to swear anymore?
If in doubt, don't. Its all about context. Many of the recent examples of bad language have been gratuitous and simply ingorant.
Old 13-05-06, 11:35   #21

Casino cash: £1780
vCash: 26400

edit - mate being a dick
Old 13-05-06, 11:45   #22

Casino cash: £1441