| View Poll Results: Good/Bad/Disapointing? | |||
| Good Season |
38 | 44.19% |
| Bad Season |
0 | 0% |
| Disapointing Season |
48 | 55.81% |
| Voters: 86. You may not vote on this poll | |||
Van Zanten Ya Radge
Season 05/06
Well here we are at the end of another season.I think it's fair to say that it's been very in-different to say the least.We have been treated to some great perfomances,some good,some mediocre,some bad,some terrible etc.
What i want to establish amongest the bounce community is whether or not people think that it's been a good season/bad season and so on.IMO its been a combination of both.After having such a great start it just went pear shaped for us To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Injuries and suspensions counted against us but i believe that an inhability to defend has cost us even more.I have been saying it for months and although mogga never replied to the letter i sent in January To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. i still ask the same question now as i did then - How can his philosphy of attack minded,fast-flowing football work if we don't have solid foundations at the back? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Next season will be the making of Mowbray and Venus (If Boro don't come calling) i just hope that the defence is top of the agenda.Losing Riordan is a problem but we have strikers and i'm sure some1 will be brought in. In summary its been a bit dissapointing after all the promise we showed but we have the potential to challenge the old firm and the yams next season,heres hoping we do To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I'm looking forward to it already (How sad To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) GGTTH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge
Re: Season 05/06
not bad season a think, and a great achievement to get 4th place but we have been far to inconsistent.
Get It Up Ye Radge
would have been good but getting humped from hearts put us on a downer
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. lets all do the hibees bounce To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Overall it was a good season. We slumped at the final stages, but who wouldnt have with an injury list like ours? It happened to rangers at the midpoint, but they managed to recover.
We saw hibs beat every team other than the Tims and the Sheep at ER, ended jambos unbeaten run, then put them on the edge of their seats at the end, got the highest clean sheet win in the league against Livi Saw Ihun get his heed bust open beat the huns and saw off that Mcormacks chances of proving rangers had a good youth programme realised Hartley was Gay, ay all in all, good season, cant wait till the next one |
We all know it could haven been alot better with no Caldwell
Without a doubt very indifferent for me, we had a good first half season then some pish poor stuff in the second half. Our injury crisis has been well documented but thats not why we're losing games and we'll continue to if that if defence or in many games lack of it is not sorted, and we dont have the cash to sort it so unless TM can unearth another gem we're gonna be sticking with the young lads. Most of our injury's have been midfield but a think we have enough cover there and up front, but at the back more often than not its not happening apart from murphy.Having said that a would not like us to spend cash we cant afford, me thinks the young uns should get blooded early. Only my opinion and you ken what they say about them, there like arseholes we all have them.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. good 2 b To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
The league table does not lie, and we deserve to finish where we have finished. In fact, in many ways it's a miracle we have finished fourth, because as a team we have defended dreadfully for most of the season. Both of our goalkeepers are not up to standard IMO, and the refusal of Mowbray to play with a proper holding midfielder to protect the back four has cost us many points this season. Our strength is attacking, and until the injuries crept in, we were doing well in that area. Overall I would say it's been a slightlydisappointing season, as with some better luck with injuries and a slighly less open system of play, we could have challenged Rangers and Hearts for second place. It is the cup competitions which have been the biggest disappointment for me though. The way we went out of both competitions was a disgrace IMO.
As far as next season goes, the first thing that has to be resolved is the managers situation. I think there is a fair chance that Mowbray will be away, as he is clearly unhappy with certain aspects of his job. If he stays, and we bring in 4 players of experience, we have a chance of doing better next season. He must get the spine of the team right, and also replacing Riordan is a massive task. I am confident we can do better next season, if the right moves are made during the summer.
![]() Join Date: May 2003
A real season of 'if only...'
If only we took more points of the lower league teams if only we held onto one goal leads If only we had a keeper If only we had less injuries If only we did not get humped 3 times by the yams If only we did not limp out the CIS If only we had a 'proper' CH I know football is all about 'If only...', but I think this as been more so for us this season But We kept ER a yam win free zone We bet the Huns in style, 3 times. We finished 4th despite all of the above We walked away from ER beating Livi 7-0, feeling it should have 10! When played at our best, we played the best football in the league AND With a little more depth in the squad, a bit more luck re injuries, a couple of key signings (we all know which positions this needs to happen), I feel we can push for a higher place/high points next season. We don't have the money of the Gunts/Dodgers/Huns, but I feel we can compete.
The Lows outweighed the highs IMO!
Disappointing season for me! |
Disappointing but only because it promised so much until the injuries hit.
As pointed out above, if we had a goalie and two centre halves it could have been an unbelievable season. That said, I think in terms of the resources made available we have finished top of our league for teh second season running. Just a pity we can't use some of those resources to keep Riordan at Easter Road To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Nov 2004
Disappointing.
We really did look like the business for a while in the first half of the season. the two games against Rangers we were outstanding and our first half performance against them at Easter Road was the best I have seen hibs play in many a year. To me it allwent wrong in the January transfer window . It seemed like the whole team became unsettled again with talks of all our best players moving on. Our Captain signing a pre contract was I feel a wrong message. Tony made a big mistake not stripping him of the captaincy at that point. in life you look for your leaders to be comitted to the cause. Apart from the Rangers cup game we were never the same after that. Tony has now had 2 seasons to get our defence in some sort of order. His passing game is brilliant to watch but we will always be also rans as long as our defence leeks goals at the rate it does. apart form Livvi it is was the worst defence in the SPL. The saddest disappointing moment for me was after 50 years having to walk out on my team at the third goal we lost in the semi. I really could take no more of having to watch our clown of a Goalkeeper humiliate us again. |
I didnt vote, its been a good season another top-4 finish but also dissappointing about the likes of the Derby's, Scottish Cup, not getting into UEFA
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Capital Greens To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Found seated under the Gantry. |
once again, too many injuries wrcked another season in which we considered challengers for the title!
Aged Radge
Overall it’s definitely been a good season in terms of results.
The highs include skelping the Huns big time, and gubbing the Gunts twice at Easter Road. Fourth place finish is pretty reasonable, certainly not a disappointment for me. I’d have wished for 2nd or 3rd, but there are no guarantees in football. I celebrate the good results and don’t dwell on the bad ones. Supporting Hibs teaches many lessons, and that is one. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
i voted good, only because of our league finish with the amount of injuries we have had throughout the course of the season. all our best players, boozy, killen, brown etc, have all been injured! and we still got a decent league position
Radge Hibee Trollop
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
Disapointing Season - Far too many let downs. When you think of what this season could have resulted in it has to come as a disapointment.
Although we did have some outstanding games, against Rangers and Hearts especially, personally I just can't forget about the low points of the season. The derby defeats were all hard to take and we were unlucky with the amount of injuries that we had to cope with.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. кαуℓєє тнє нιвєє To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. кєνιи м¢∂σиαℓ∂ To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: May 2006
good but disapointing great 1st half to the season lets just hope next season we can learn from this and kick some jambo ass!
No way has it been a bad season, in my lifetime I've only seen us finishing higher than this twice, but imo it has been disappointing. The problems that we had last season haven't been fixed or apparently even noticed. Despite a fairly radical overhaul of the formation we're still shipping goals at a horrendous rate. That's no good for any keepers confidence, and while I do blame Zibby and Brown to an extent, I think that any keeper playing in front of that defence will soon see their confidence becoming a fond memory.
There's been a good few positives as well. Wee Jay Shields has done pretty well since getting a run, and Fletcher might well be a superstar if he ever gets a regular game up front. Killen, and Benji look as though they could do some damage if they get fit. Whittaker looks so much more comfy in midfield than he does at the back that it's a bit scary he played there so long. Riordan has got his usual 20odd goals despite playing out of position, and being continually subbed for no apparent reason. Murphy has continued to impress. Thomson, and Brown have both been excellent. Sproule seems to have tired a fair bit towards the end of the season, but that is probably to be expected since it is his first full season as a full time player. IMO it's a slight worry that really only Shields has made a breakthrough from the reserves, and that was only down to a chronic injury crisis. Highest average attendance at ER since it became all seated, and quite probably a fair bit longer than that. Probably the first time in our history that our crowd never went under 10,000 for any game over a season (only time there was a crowd of less than 10,000 was against Hartlepool and there were nearly 8,000 there iirc).
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Get it up ye ya radge
![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Have to agree with most of the above. It's not been a bad season, but the let-downs have bitten hard. The way we let another industrial Gunt team humiliate us outside ER is just not on.
That said, there has been some outstanding matches this season. I include; -the wins at Castle Gretskull -the derbys at ER -beating Killie 4-2 -loosing out at Parkheid 2-3 However, i fail to see why our defence hasn't been worked on [our management team were defenders FFS!] - the lessons of last year have not been learnt, and why that fool of a 'keeper is still given the chance. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Still, i'm hugely optomistic for next season [that'll probably last until pre-season starts and Mowbray has left and we haven't bought, but sold a few.... To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ]
If I can take ma mind oaf that gorgeous farter on GHFC's avatar I would like to say that I class the season as being disappointing. Why? Well, I think when a season ends you should always judge it on the basis of how you felt at the start of that season, i.e. how you felt you might emulate/progress on the previous year. For example, 2004-05 was a very good year, especially when you consider the insipid, heartless p!sh we watched on Boaby the Joaby.
Clearly, going into 2005-06 hopes were high that we would finish 3rd again, hopes were high that we'd win a Swinie and Parkhead again, hopes were high we'd get past the first round in Europe, that we'd maybe win a Cup, that we'd stop shipping silly goals and losing to silly teams. All of these hopes were dashed. Yet the season was not without positives; as one of 'the enemies of hertz' (to quote Idi Maroon's latest p!sh in the press) it's gives me immense to pleasure to state hertz left ER without a solitary point from both games for the first time since 94-95, that we beat the huns three times in a season for the first time since 64-65, that we beat a team 7-0 for the first time since 1973. All of these are achievements that we'll get a bit nostalgic about at some point in the future. But, as has already been stated ad nauseum, the biggest cancer consuming our chances of success is the paucity of quality of player at the back. Until TM or (as is likely) the next incumbent gets the spine of the team right, i.e. reliable keeper and a pairing of two solid, dependable no nonsense centre-halves we will continue to struggle. Disappointed but still hopeful for next season. It's gonnae be so exciting because I'd really love us to burn Romanov's playhouse down next year. Oh yes. |
Radgey McRadge Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Personally I thought it was a good start to the season and a dissapointing end to the season. We were just lucky that our good form from the start of the season was able to carry us for the remainder of the campaign. All in all i think it was dissapointing because £rd place should have been ours
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. :
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Cyanide & Happiness @ To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Bebo: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Minicity: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Bebo Hibs Band: To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
good and bad really for every low the derby defeats, injuries etc theres also been the highs like beating the yams twice, the huns 3 times,7-0 against livi etc