Old 06-05-06, 11:38   #1

Hibs participation in Intertoto Cup

I have been hearing indirectly from a source withing the media, that TM is none too happy with Hibs playing in the Intertoto Cup this year. Apparently, he had no say in whether or not we took part, and was told by the powers that be that we were in, and that was that. This is one of the reasons he is so peed off at the moment. He is of the opinion that the squad, knackered and decimated as it was by injury this season, needs a decent break over the summer. The implication being given is that Hibs have entered this tournament again for extra pre-season money and nothing else. I tend to agree with him.

I have no reason to doubt this person, so if this is the case, the managers job has been made more difficult by the actions of a board of directors and a Chairman who have placed balance sheets before the greater need of the football team on the park.

From a personal point of view, I have always been against Hibs playing in this tournament. I think UEFA Cup qualification should be on merit from the teams overall league position from the season before. I can only imagine how annoyed TM must be about all this, especially with a wee club like Gretna representing Scotland in Europe on the strength of a few wins against non-SPL teams in a Cup tournament.
Old 06-05-06, 11:45   #2
Radgesaurus

matty_fairnie is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibs participation in Intertoto Cup

To be honest, I think everyone has to put up with decisions they don't like at work. That's life and I'm sure Mogga will get over it, if it is the case that he's against it.
Personally, I think the Intertoto has it's uses and I think had our experience of it been different (i.e. we had a bit of a run in it) we would be much less reluctant to go down that route.
There have been plenty more illustrious clubs than us entered the Intertoto for the chance at Europe, and why not?
I think that we should give ourselves every chance of getting some European experience no matter how we do it.
matty_fairnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-06, 11:46   #3

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
I have been hearing indirectly from a source withing the media, that TM is none too happy with Hibs playing in the Intertoto Cup this year. Apparently, he had no say in whether or not we took part, and was told by the powers that be that we were in, and that was that. This is one of the reasons he is so peed off at the moment. He is of the opinion that the squad, knackered and decimated as it was by injury this season, needs a decent break over the summer. The implication being given is that Hibs have entered this tournament again for extra pre-season money and nothing else. I tend to agree with him.

I have no reason to doubt this person, so if this is the case, the managers job has been made more difficult by the actions of a board of directors and a Chairman who have placed balance sheets before the greater need of the football team on the park.

From a personal point of view, I have always been against Hibs playing in this tournament. I think UEFA Cup qualification should be on merit from the teams overall league position from the season before. I can only imagine how annoyed TM must be about all this, especially with a wee club like Gretna representing Scotland in Europe on the strength of a few wins against non-SPL teams in a Cup tournament.
Why bother trying to earn a place in the Uefa cup if they need a rest these guys are supposed to be athletes, therefore I refuse to accept they are knackered.

As for the injuries with exception of Benji's at Aberdeen last week none of the current injuries were caused by lack of fitness.

Old 06-05-06, 11:47   #4

I will go and support Hibs in what ever tournament they are in it doesnt matter to me what they are playing in as long as i am there supporting them even if i dont think we can go all the way but if we beleve we can do it who says we cant

Old 06-05-06, 12:07   #5

Originally Posted by Greenman
Why bother trying to earn a place in the Uefa cup if they need a rest these guys are supposed to be athletes, therefore I refuse to accept they are knackered.

As for the injuries with exception of Benji's at Aberdeen last week none of the current injuries were caused by lack of fitness.

I would imagine he is more concerned about the possibility of further injuries to an already small squad before the main action starts due to the players taking part in competitive games around the same time as most other teams are only re-starting training. Also, players like Ivan Sproule, Steven Glass, and kevin Thompson were showing clear signs of burn-out towards the end of this season. If we had a huge squad like some clubs, I would have thought that the manager would be OK about it, but we don't.

Regarding the players being athletes, yes they are. Like every athlete they need a period of rest and recuperation. These players are asked to peak every week for 9 months and sometimes more in a very physical sport. You have to be pretty fit to play professional football at the highest level, so the players need proper rest and hard training when the time is right. 5 or 6 weeks in the summer is not enough IMO, but I accept other people's view on this.
Old 06-05-06, 12:12   #6

When Tony Mowbray first arrived he let it be known that he was against the Intertoto participation that season.

With us entering this coming season, i just assumed Mowbray had changed his mind, like how we were once a "Proper Football Club" but now a "Provincial Club"..
Old 06-05-06, 12:14   #7

Then he should have ensured that we didn't pick up 25 less points than the huns over 20 games having been miles ahead of them. 4th place was never going to guarantee Europe which should be the aim every season. This is a chance to redeem that, and one that I think the current manager should be saying thanks for.

Sorry but I think this is a nonsense if it's true. The Intertoto is a route into the UEFA Cup. You need to play 4 games to get there. It starts in July which is when pre-season would be starting anyway. In that tournament we're playing a team from Latvia who won 9 of 28 league games last season. The Latvian league is worse than the Lithuanian and we should have hammered Vetra when we had about 15 signed players several of whom were far worse than anyone who will be in our squad next season.

In terms of injuries it is fair to point out that we picked up far more this season when not having had the Intertoto than last season when we did. We've collapsed physically this season to an extent we actually didn't last.

If someone can definitively show me how the Intertoto adversely effected us last season go ahead.

Exposing players to as many different playing styles as you can should be a chance you take as much as possible.

Our season finishes tomorrow. There are 8 weeks between that, and the first game in the Intertoto. Even if the players come back 2 weeks before it, the vast majority of players will have had 6 weeks off.

Fundamentally disagree with what TM has to say on this if it is indeed his view. We should be taking any possible route to European football every season, and if the players and management fall short of doing it through league or cup positions, they better get ready to finish their holidays a couple of weeks early.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 06-05-06, 12:28   #8

Mowbray appears to speak in favour of it here..

Old 06-05-06, 12:36   #9

why does mowbry say he is in favour of it when earlier on he said he wansnt does he actually no what he is talkin about

Old 06-05-06, 12:37   #10

Originally Posted by bigmanandy
why does mowbry say he is in favour of it when earlier on he said he wansnt does he actually no what he is talkin about
As consistent as you perhaps?
Old 06-05-06, 12:41   #11

Originally Posted by Smurf
As consistent as you perhaps?
yes mate but i got told off someone else and i was oviously stupid enough to beleve him

Old 06-05-06, 12:43   #12

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Hibs must aspire to appear in the UEFA cup every year. The fans place a hugh degree of importance in seeing our team compete on the European stage, it adds glamour and excitement to a long domerstic season.

Having failed to qualify for the UEFA cup, the revamped Intertoto creates a good opportunity to achieve entry to the competition proper by only playing four games.

At the same time these intertoto games should provide better preparation for the next season than friendlies against the likes of Hartlepool.

I for one look forward to the opportunity the Intertoto presents to Hibernian.
Old 06-05-06, 12:45   #13
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Did he say he wasn't in favour of it next season. I can understand that he could have found it troublesome when he first arrived as he only had ten days to prepare.

I can also understand why he would be in favour next season as it's a way into Europe, but the rumour mongers are making up their minds for him and looking at things as in the blackest way possible so what does it matter anyway.
Old 06-05-06, 12:48   #14

Originally Posted by snoots
Did he say he wasn't in favour of it next season. I can understand that he could have found it troublesome when he first arrived as he only had ten days to prepare.

I can also understand why he would be in favour next season as it's a way into Europe, but the rumour mongers are making up their minds for him and looking at things as in the blackest way possible so what does it matter anyway.
He is a good manager and i think he knows what he is doing but he does confuse me sometimes with what he says to the press

Old 06-05-06, 12:49   #15

He is a good manager and i think he knows what he is doing but he does confuse me sometimes with what he says to the press
Might be because he understands sentence structure
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 06-05-06, 12:50   #16

Originally Posted by wee 162
Might be because he understands sentence structure

Old 06-05-06, 12:51   #17
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Try thinking about things a bit more then before asking "does he know what he's talking about".
Old 06-05-06, 13:07   #18

Originally Posted by snoots
Try thinking about things a bit more then before asking "does he know what he's talking about".
certainly will
as we all have our moments

Old 06-05-06, 14:05   #19

Originally Posted by Smurf
Mowbray appears to speak in favour of it here..

Yes he does, and if that is the real position then fine. The person I heard this indirectly from would be way off mark. If this the case, then I apologise for starting this thread. I want Hibs to be in the UEFA Cup by whatever means as well. I just hope that we are taking part in the Intertoto for the right reasons.
Old 06-05-06, 15:11   #20
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

These players are asked to peak every week for 9 months and sometimes more in a very physical sport. You have to be pretty fit to play professional football at the highest level, so the players need proper rest and hard training when the time is right. 5 or 6 weeks in the summer is not enough IMO, but I accept other people's view on this.
I wish tae fuck a squad of 20 + Scots Internationalists were gettin a lot less ' Rest ' in Germany this June.