View Poll Results: Are you happy renewing this early?
Yes - Money isn't an issue 57 64.04%
No - I'm not happy renewing this early 32 35.96%
Voters: 89. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-05-06, 23:33   #1
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough
Question Season ticket renewal

I know that having an early renewal date is good for the club in the sense that it enables us to make money earlier and (possibly
) give TM more flexibility in the close season.I appreciate that the payment plan was set up in order to help those who couldn't cough up the dough straight away but i still have a gripe with the dates that were set for existing season ticket holders.

Never in my 10 years as a STH have i had to renew this early.I have payed out £100 today and TBH it was £100 that could have been put to better use at this time.I have recently passed my driving test and the car i bought has been a bit of a bugger (Head gasket went,failed MOT the other day
) I'm also still a student and i'm working part-time earning about £330 a month (not much).I realise that i have circumstances that are different from most people but surely others must feel that the renewal dates have been a wee bit too early this year.Most people have commitements (alot will have more than me) but i feel that although our club needs the revenue they have not really thought about the supporters in this instance.I may be talkin sh1te and feel free to tell me if i'am but theres got to be some who agree?

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-06, 23:43   #2

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Season ticket renewal

anything to help the cause!!!

GLORY GLORY
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-06, 23:46   #3
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Originally Posted by Quagmire
anything to help the cause!!!

GLORY GLORY
As i said i have given to "the cause" but it wasn't at an ideal time and IMO renewal's were schelduled far too early this year.

Old 04-05-06, 23:51   #4

Quagmire is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Broxburn_Hibby
As i said i have given to "the cause" but it wasn't at an ideal time and IMO renewal's were schelduled far too early this year.
helps mowbray during the transfer window...

i see you're point, it's fair enough
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-06, 23:52   #5

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Broxburn_Hibby
I know that having an early renewal date is good for the club in the sense that it enables us to make money earlier and (possibly
) give TM more flexibility in the close season.I appreciate that the payment plan was set up in order to help those who couldn't cough up the dough straight away but i still have a gripe with the dates that were set for existing season ticket holders.

Never in my 10 years as an STH have i had to renew this early.I have payed out £100 today and TBH it was £100 that could have been put to better use at this time.I have recently passed my driving test and the car i bought has been a bit of a bugger (Head gasket went,failed MOT the other day
) I'm also still a student and i'm working part-time earning about £330 a month (not much).I realise that i have circumstances that are different from most people but surely others must feel that the renewal dates have been a wee bit too early this year.Most people have commitements (alot will have more than me) but i feel that although our club needs the revenue they have not really thought about the supporters in this instance.I may be talkin sh1te and feel free to tell me if i'am but theres got to be some who agree?

The early payment date doesn't affect me but I happen to agree with you. With the scrapping of ticket priority and only a friendly on offer I think they realised that not many would take the EB option so instead they have been quite sneaky IMO
moving the renewal date to when they have (earlier than last years early bird cut off) forcing people to pay up early to keep their seat whether they want the EB offer or not. Even those on the payment plan will probably have paid half by this date so they are getting the money in early anyway.

I have no problem with the club wanting the money in early if it helps the cause as I'm sure most of those who could afford it don't but they have in effect blackmailed people into coughing up early or risk losing their seat

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-06, 23:56   #6

Originally Posted by Quagmire
helps mowbray during the transfer window...

It didn't last year.

Its spin to get you to buy early. If you don't you lose your seat and it makes it tough to get tickets for big matches. They treat us like we are stupid.

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 00:03   #7

Originally Posted by D.K
After a season out in the cold, I've got four in, one for my son who is 3 months, so it's not that expensive and it means an upgrade is much easier. I do think it's a good idea though, perhaps an even better one would be smooth it over the year. Which would be considerably cheaper and giver a steadier cash flow

When the club try to tie it in, to making one seaso worth more than an other, it's self-defeating and still tells me they haven't grapsed the essence of being a fan of the Hibees, still five steps forward and four back
What is your opinion on us that buy the same seats every year being told if we don't buy by this weekend we lose them? I think its shit. Do they honestly think there is the same goodwill as last season?

Ten steps forward , eleven steps back.

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 00:08   #8
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Originally Posted by 1875
What is your opinion on us that buy the same seats every year being told if we don't buy by this weekend we lose them? I think its shit. Do they honestly think there is the same goodwill as last season?

Ten steps forward , eleven steps back.
It is shit.I really couldn't afford it but if i didn't pay up then i wouldn't have a seat and i'd run the risk of not getting one.Folk will say "if you can't afford then don't pay it" but its not a case of that.We're all a part of Hibernian F.C and that compells people to get season tickets,buy strips etc.I just think the money men at the club have treated the supporters with total disregard in this particular situation

Old 05-05-06, 00:21   #9

What is the usuall date. Is it usually the end of the month? I was sure it seemed a lot earlier this year.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 08:22   #10

Although I am not renewing but buying for the first time, I thought the cut-off date was far too early. The season is not even finished and it has been an expensive one for many. Even a few weeks longer might allow many people to realise some of the funds they're no longer spending on football. As for the people wishing to retain a seat - many of whom probably have had the same seat for years - they should IMO be given the opportunity to renew LATER than others on the proviso that they have signed an INTENTION TO RENEW, thereby taking those seats out of the equation for new applicants or those wishing to move seats.

blue toon hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 09:22   #11
Blackhall Radge

ct01 will become famous soon enough

Have already renewed but don't see the need for it being so early tbh! This spiel of helping mowbray is utter tosh as was proven last season and i feel the club are taking advantage of such high demand for hibs games now by almost blackmailing fans into losing their seats unless they renew before the 7th of may.
ct01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 09:38   #12

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

I cant get my season ticket this early so my seat will be available again after this weekend. When I can get my season ticket, ill just have to hope its still there.

This season is not even over yet but they want people to have renewed by this weekend. Its ridiculous
Old 05-05-06, 11:18   #13

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by D.K
After a season out in the cold, I've got four in, one for my son who is 3 months, so it's not that expensive and it means an upgrade is much easier. I do think it's a good idea though, perhaps an even better one would be smooth it over the year. Which would be considerably cheaper and giver a steadier cash flow

When the club try to tie it in, to making one seaso worth more than an other, it's self-defeating and still tells me they haven't grapsed the essence of being a fan of the Hibees, still five steps forward and four back
That requires forward thinking and planning Kev,something the custodians of this club and a few other hangers on constantly fail to provide.

For me the easiest options would be a 6 month spell after xmas when it coul be quite easy to budget ahead. Just for a figure 320 notes over three months is 120 over 6 is 60 which is a more manageable amount. Add into the equation a variable direct debit so the final payment can be ajusted to reflect the increase in prices, if any.

Another option would be to have a rolling debit system, if this season is paid for allow folks to pay for the next seasons over the following 12 months. Added advantage is Hibs gain on the interest paid into the account without touching the capital for next season and if payments are missed then no STs are issued and any money owing can be made up or money refunded at no loss to the club

EDIT:

Meant to add on top of this there is a contention about the lack of rewards for loyalty to the club this season is going to be hellish to get tickets for the shelter. A possible soloution would be to use a coding system linked to the membership number the unfortunate thing is you would need to make a year zero so past purchases are not taken into account which can be annoying to those who have been through some pretty turgid pish in the past. However you're not likely to please everyone so at least try and please the majority. This also includes the supposition that somebody knows what they are doing with the clubs database and knows who best to utilise the info, a good starting point would be to stop sending out 3 bloody catalogues to the one house!!!
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 11:34   #14

yeah i know i am struggling, and so are those i go with, they seemed to have sprung this on us as well if im right this was only announced a couple of weeks ago....

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 11:37   #15

Originally Posted by KABULHIBBY
That requires forward thinking and planning Kev,something the custodians of this club and a few other hangers on constantly fail to provide.

For me the easiest options would be a 6 month spell after xmas when it coul be quite easy to budget ahead. Just for a figure 320 notes over three months is 120 over 6 is 60 which is a more manageable amount. Add into the equation a variable direct debit so the final payment can be ajusted to reflect the increase in prices, if any.

Another option would be to have a rolling debit system, if this season is paid for allow folks to pay for the next seasons over the following 12 months. Added advantage is Hibs gain on the interest paid into the account without touching the capital for next season and if payments are missed then no STs are issued and any money owing can be made up or money refunded at no loss to the club

EDIT:

Meant to add on top of this there is a contention about the lack of rewards for loyalty to the club this season is going to be hellish to get tickets for the shelter. A possible soloution would be to use a coding system linked to the membership number the unfortunate thing is you would need to make a year zero so past purchases are not taken into account which can be annoying to those who have been through some pretty turgid pish in the past. However you're not likely to please everyone so at least try and please the majority. This also includes the supposition that somebody knows what they are doing with the clubs database and knows who best to utilise the info, a good starting point would be to stop sending out 3 bloody catalogues to the one house!!!
Excellent post with fantastic suggestions.

Anyone listening at Easter Road?
Old 05-05-06, 12:47   #16

keekaboo1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by CadgeMac
after the 7th of may
existing ST holders have until 7th may before their seats are released for public sale, handed mine in on tuesday and got it today
It depends where you want to sit. You can apply now if you want a seat in the East Stand. I actaully asked for one in the FF stand, to be put on the list, but they've given me 2 STs for the East and said to come back after the 7th to transfer them if I want/can.
keekaboo1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 12:56   #17
Ich bin ein Radge

Dr.Gonzo has a spectacular aura about

It is really early this year. I was budgeting for the end of May like it usually is, so all I can say is thank feck for credit cards!!!

Doesn't help our younger posters much though
Old 05-05-06, 13:05   #18
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Even stevens regarding the poll.Yet when reading the majority of the posts made it seems that they are against the early renewal.Lets have some feedback from the people who answered yes

Old 05-05-06, 13:06   #19
Gravy Loving Northern Radge

mr hibs fan is on the way to a first team debut

I think it's a bit early, but because of that I used the payment plan.

Think the fact that they have done away with a decent incentive for EB purchases has meant that there's probably a few that have done the same - no incentive to give them the cash in a lump sum. I probably wouldn't manage to make it up for a midweek friendly anyway.

EDIT: I said yes - it's not great that it's early this year, but I still wanted to pay as otherwise I'd lose my seat.
mr hibs fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-06, 14:28   #20

Kenny will become famous soon enough

With potential trips abroad with hibs before the start of the season I would see the trips as having higher priority than the ST.

Old 05-05-06, 15:57   #21