Old 24-04-06, 17:56   #1

Casino cash: £1652
Rep Power: 17 1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice
Hibs Legend Dies.

Hibs legend Willie Finnigan died today aged 90.

He was part of the 1947-48 League Championship Team.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/mo...d=1473_0_1_0_C

R.I.P
1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 18:30   #2

Casino cash: £4387
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibs Legend Dies.

sad news

r.i.p
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 18:44   #3

Casino cash: £371
vCash: 190599

ad news indeed, R.I.P.

My thoughts go out to his family and friends.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 19:24   #4
Big Jessie Radge

R.I.P Willie.
Old 24-04-06, 19:29   #5
Radgey McRadge Radge

Casino cash: £992

I was not here to see you grace the field of dreams Willie, but i wish i had been to see the legend ive heard about. R.I.P
Old 24-04-06, 19:33   #6

Casino cash: £5865
vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 16 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

r.i.p thank u 4 ure time at easter road
Old 24-04-06, 19:41   #7

Casino cash: £7160
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

One of his team mates, Davie Shaw, was our school P.E teacher in later years and he spoke highly of Willie Finnigan. Being the only Hibs supporting pupil in my primary school, Davie was always willing to blether to me about the good old days.

R.I.P
Old 24-04-06, 20:33   #8

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Before the link i could picture his face from the books i read as a kid.

What a history we have. Great players and Great People.

RIP.
Old 24-04-06, 20:46   #9

Casino cash: £5345
Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 21:14   #10

Casino cash: £2027
vCash: 10895739

R.i.p
Old 24-04-06, 21:19   #11

Casino cash: £5107

Like Smurf, I only know of Willie from pictures in various Hibs books I have read over the years, and also from my Dad who was lucky enough to have supported Hibs through the glory years of the forties and fifties. He said he was a fine player.

RIP Willie.
Old 24-04-06, 21:50   #12

Casino cash: £2676

R.i.p
DarrenSQH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 22:05   #13

Rep Power: 15 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Played with junior side Bo'ness Cadoro too SQHibs. I think they were maybe one of the teams who would've formed Bo'ness United in 1945.
Old 24-04-06, 22:14   #14
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2944

Willie played 59 games for Hibs in competitive games, scoring 1 goal from 1946/1947 until 1949/50.

His only goal came against Hearts on New Years day 1947 at Tynecastle in a 3-2 win: Gordon Smith and Eddie Turnbull were the other scorers.

In Hibs championship winning season he played in 15 of the 30 league games.

RIP

Edit:

The Scotsman newspaper of 2nd January 1947 reports:

"Hearts hope of saving the game was extinguished when Finnigan put Hibs two up again" Willie scored the third that day.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 22:54   #15
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Rip
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 23:07   #16

Originally Posted by Bobby S
Willie played 59 games for Hibs in competitive games, scoring 1 goal from 1946/1947 until 1949/50.

His only goal came against Hearts on New Years day 1947 at Tynecastle in a 3-2 win: Gordon Smith and Eddie Turnbull were the other scorers.
I take it that's only his post war record though Bobby. He signed in April 1937 and played in (and scored) in a fair few games up until the outbreak of war. He continued to feature strongly during the war years too. According to Alan Lugton, he was one of the best players on the day we first wore the white sleeves.
Old 25-04-06, 06:53   #17
Spooky Admin Radge

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby
I take it that's only his post war record though Bobby. He signed in April 1937 and played in (and scored) in a fair few games up until the outbreak of war. He continued to feature strongly during the war years too. According to Alan Lugton, he was one of the best players on the day we first wore the white sleeves.
It is indeed Kevin, I've no detailed records prior to the end of the second world war. I've got some war time stuff though, so I'll see what I can find.

Old 25-04-06, 18:00   #18
Spooky Admin Radge

Kevin,

I've had a look through Brian Mark's excellent "The War Years" and Willie Finnegan played 225 times for Hibs in all competitions scoring 36 goals, from 1939-1946

I guess that makes his record over 300 games, and nearly 50 goals?

Old 26-04-06, 01:08   #19

Originally Posted by Bobby S
Kevin,

I've had a look through Brian Mark's excellent "The War Years" and Willie Finnegan played 225 times for Hibs in all competitions scoring 36 goals, from 1939-1946

I guess that makes his record over 300 games, and nearly 50 goals?
Aye it would be about that once you add the April 1937 to September 1939 part.