View Poll Results: Which would you prefer?
The Guntz lift the SC and we get into the UEFA cup 29 22.66%
Gretna win the cup and we settle for Intertoto football 99 77.34%
Voters: 128. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24-04-06, 14:09   #1
Radge Against The Machine

Casino cash: £321
Rep Power: 7 Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut
The European choice

So, if all the calculations fall the right way, which would you rather? The Gunts win the cup and we get UEFA football. Or Gretna lift the cup and we go Intertototastic?

Intertoto for me. All the way. Come on you Gretna!
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 14:44   #2

Casino cash: £6815
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about
Re: The European choice

Would be delighted to see Gretna beat "The Big Team" but I want Uefa Cup football for Hibs next season, therefore the first option for me. I can live with it.
Old 24-04-06, 14:57   #3

Casino cash: £3614

Originally Posted by Cowshed Graffiti
So, if all the calculations fall the right way, which would you rather? The Gunts win the cup and we get UEFA football. Or Gretna lift the cup and we go Intertototastic?

Intertoto for me. All the way. Come on you Gretna!
Just imagine the laughing stock that lot would be if they lost to Gretna. I tell you it would be worth the additional games entailed in Intertoto qualification.
Old 24-04-06, 15:02   #4

Casino cash: £2531

Both options sound good.
DarrenSQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 15:09   #5

Casino cash: £260
vCash: 255032706

The way I see it - the draw we have for the intertoto is pretty easy! If we don't get through that then we will do nothing in the UEFA cup anyway!

I can take the extra 4 matches if it means Hearts humliate themselves!

C'MON GRENTNA! I believe in faiy tales!!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 15:11   #6

Casino cash: £783
vCash: 20000
SAD Re: The European choice

Can you imagine how unbearable they will be if they win the cup, and through them winning it we get into europe, there won't be any living with them.
Definately the 2nd option for me.
ks04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 15:14   #7

Casino cash: £5575
vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 16 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

intertoto all the way for me never want to see the yams win
Old 24-04-06, 15:51   #8

Casino cash: £13048
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

If it was all or nothing in terms of qualifying for Europe I'd maybe want them to win the cup. But it isn't. The Intertoto is a well plausible route to get into the first round of the UEFA cup and we are a distinct possibility to actually get a harder draw in the prelminary round of the UEFA than the draw for the Intertoto. So feck them.

Not that what I hope will make any difference anyway....

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 24-04-06, 15:52   #9

Originally Posted by wee 162
If it was all or nothing in terms of qualifying for Europe I'd maybe want them to win the cup. But it isn't. The Intertoto is a well plausible route to get into the first round of the UEFA cup and we are a distinct possibility to actually get a harder draw in the prelminary round of the UEFA than the draw for the Intertoto. So feck them.

Not that what I hope will make any difference anyway....
Does the intertoto not just take you into the prelim round of the UEFA now seeing as there are so many places available!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
Old 24-04-06, 15:57   #10

Casino cash: £2830
Rep Power: 10 BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Gretna all the way.
Old 24-04-06, 15:58   #11
Gravy Loving Northern Radge

Originally Posted by bumblebee
Does the intertoto not just take you into the prelim round of the UEFA now seeing as there are so many places available!!
We'd play one qualifying round to get into the UEFA Cup with option 1 (two matches) or two ties to get there from Intertoto Cup...

Rowan Alexander's Black & White Army! Rowan Alexander's Black & White Army! Rowan Alexander's Black & White Army! Rowan Alexander's Black & White Army!
This is part of the Everyman campaign, which was founded to raise awareness and money for research into Prostate and Testicular Cancer, the two most common forms of cancer in males aged between 15 and 45.<br>
For more information, pictures of the progress being made and to make donations securely online, please visit <a href="http://www.bmycharity.com/V2/tachebank">TacheBank's charity page</a>.<br><hr>
</div>
mr hibs fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 16:07   #12

Gretna the whole way, I even fancy going to the game in the Gretna end with a wee sneaky Hibs flag.
leithhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 16:21   #13

Casino cash: £130
vCash: 50000

Gretna for the Cup

scumbos finish 3rd ( miss out on th CL and go bust )

Hibs in the intertoto
Old 24-04-06, 16:24   #14
Saintee's Radge

Casino cash: £255
Rep Power: 5 part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

How about the best of both worlds?

Huns lose their last three games
Hibs win their last three games
Gretna win the cup
Hearts get papped out of the CL in the 2nd prelim round (nae uefa parachute)

so:

Hibs and Gretna in uefa cup
Hearts out of Europe before the "glorious 12th"
Nae Huns in Europe

part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 16:31   #15

Casino cash: £5121

Originally Posted by part/time supporter

Gretna win the cup

so:

Nae Huns in Europe

Sounds too good to be true.
Old 24-04-06, 16:57   #16

Casino cash: £13048
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

You could be right actually

Hadn't occurred to me tbh.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 24-04-06, 17:58   #17
Gravy Loving Northern Radge

Originally Posted by wee 162
You could be right actually

Hadn't occurred to me tbh.
Pretty certain it's one more tie in Intertoto Cup than if we got into UEFA cup via the league.
This is part of the Everyman campaign, which was founded to raise awareness and money for research into Prostate and Testicular Cancer, the two most common forms of cancer in males aged between 15 and 45.<br>
For more information, pictures of the progress being made and to make donations securely online, please visit <a href="http://www.bmycharity.com/V2/tachebank">TacheBank's charity page</a>.<br><hr>
</div>
mr hibs fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 18:14   #18

Yes!!! ,Some Hibs Fans Argee With Me ,A Was Thinking ,I Was The Only One That Wanted Hearts, To Get ^uc^ed By Gretna

Come On The Gretna
hibs_fc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 18:45   #19

The way I see it - the draw we have for the intertoto is pretty easy! If we don't get through that then we will do nothing in the UEFA cup anyway!

I can take the extra 4 matches if it means Hearts humliate themselves!

C'MON GRENTNA! I believe in faiy tales!!!

So was the draw the last time supposed to be easy some wee team from Lithuania.

Dont make me laugh.
bastickf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-06, 19:09   #20
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10075
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by hibs_fc
Yes!!! ,Some Hibs Fans Argee With Me ,A Was Thinking ,I Was The Only One That Wanted Hearts, To Get ^uc^ed By Gretna

Come On The Gretna

There Was Never Any Danger That You Would Be The Only Hibs Fan Who Fancied Seeing The Gunts Cop A Doing From Gretna.
Tell Me Though, Why Do You Go To The Effort Of Capitalising All Your Posts, Or Is Your Word Processor Stuck On Title Case?

Just Wondering….

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 24-04-06, 22:53   #21

Originally Posted by bastickf
So was the draw the last time supposed to be easy some wee team from Lithuania.

Dont make me laugh.
last time was an easy draw and we lost it! Therefore we would have done nothing in the UEFA that season!!!

Was that not the point of my post???

Why don't you maybe have a read before opening your trap you stupid yam f*ck wit! Away and rim Hartley tit!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
Old 25-04-06, 12:52   #22
evy

Casino cash: £1345

Originally Posted by part/time supporter

Gretna win the cup

so:

Nae Huns in Europe

that would be perfect, dont think it will happen but i believe we can get 3rd.
Old 25-04-06, 13:06   #23

Casino cash: £315

realistically gretna should stand no chance, the best we can hope is that somehow we benefit through a hearts win, which we shoud as it stands

personally though i will be backing gretna all the way next month.
jockodile is offline   Reply With Quote