Casino cash: £250 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Stools From The Sphincter of Jambo Delusion Number Two
Their superior derby record. To read the posts on Keechback today you would think some freak aberration occurred at the Leith San Siro two days ago. They honestly believe their derby record means they are supreme, that it gives them a divine right to eternal success. This, of course, is all the more ironic because of the moronic maroons who claim that this fixture is now as worthless as a run of the mill clash with Motherwell.
I know my club's history and I know they have won more derbies than us. I know that our greatest victory over them was 7-0 at their ground in a league game in 1973. I also know that they beat us 10-2 in a friendly in about 1890. Quite why any rational adult in the twenty-first century would want to dredge up a non-competitive fixture from an era when Queen's Park (that's not Paul Hartley's amusement park by the way!) were a 'big' (to use their preferred adjective) club is beyond me. Hertz superior victory tally compared to ours owes largely to the period from 1983 - 1994 (of 45 derbies we won only three) but since then, i.e. twelve years there really hasn't been much in it. Before looking at the scores from those eleven seasons since, it should be pointed out that from 1968 - 1983 Hibs lost just two derbies and the only reasons we did not boost our victories tally more is that: (a) we only played the skates twice a season for the first seven of the those fifteen years (b) during the eight years from 1975 - 1983 there were four derbyless seasons, three due to the skates having found their real level, i.e. a 'big' team in Scotland's second footballing tier. The full list of derby results since 1994 is: 1994-95 A 1-0 (Hunter), H 2-1 (Jackson, O'Neill), A 0-2, H 3-1 (Weir, Wright, Harper) 1995-96 H 2-2 (Donald, McGinlay), A 1-2 (Chris Jackson), H 2-1 (O'Neill, Harper), A 1-1 (Dow) 1996-97 H 1-3 (Jackson pen), A 0-0, H 0-4, A 0-1 1997-98 H 0-1, A 0-2, A 2-2 (Walker, McGinlay), H 2-1 (Lavety, Harper) 1999-00 H 1-1 (Latapy pen), A 3-0 (Lehmann, Sauzee, Miller), H 3-1 (Latapy, Sauzee, Paatelainen), A 1-2 (Paatlenainen) 2000-01 A 0-0, H 6-2 (Paatelainen 3, Zitelli, O'Neil, Latapy), A 1-1 (Lovell), H 0-0 2001-02 H 2-1 (De La Cruz 2), A 1-1 (O'Neil), H 1-2 (O'Connor) 2002-03 A 1-5 (Murray), H 1-2 (Paatelainen), A 4-4 (McManus, Townsley, James, Brebner) 2003-04 H 1-0 (O'Connor), A 0-2, H 1-1 (Riordan) 2004-05 A 1-2 (Riordan), H 1-1 (Riordan), A 2-1 (O'Connor, Shiels), H 2-2 (O'Connor, Riordan) 2005-06 A 0-4, H 2-0 (Beuzelin, O'Connor), A 1-4 (O'Connor), H 2-1 (Riordan, Benji) So, of 41 league games, we have won thirteen, they've won fifteen with the rest drawn. Yes, that means they've had more success than us in this fixture over the past decade or so. But not by much. Certainly not to the extent that they expect a win. Saturday's win (while clearly not making up for the semi capitualtion) was so significant because it demonstrated that while the dreamers on Lithuanian Lithium delude themselves about Barcelona and AC Milan they still can't get the better of the boys from the Leith San Siro. At the Leith San Siro. And that's the only San Siro they'll be playing at. Ever. |
Casino cash: £5669 vCash: 17000
Re: Stools From The Sphincter of Jambo Delusion Number Two
Casino cash: £30573 vCash: 10000
Great post mate.
Sorry to be pedantic but I've just remembered that there were five derbyless seasons between 1975 and 1983. And four of these were due to the skates being demoted.
Casino cash: £260 vCash: 255032706 Thanks: 0
Liking your stuff tho!!
BumbleBee - I'm writing this from my desk at work. Over the road from the Millennium (always hated that feckin song by Jobbie Billiams) Stadium. All done from memory mate. I wish to God my memory was as good for remembering to pay bills and such like but I like to think I'm pretty good at Hibs scores, although I know there are several others (such as GunnerHibby) who could put me to shame.
On Saturday I managed to finish work early and so went along to Ninian Park and stood on the Grange End, right next to the away support and favoured area of a lot of scary looking psychos. Earnshaw had just put Norwich a goal up when Alan 'Zondervan' Craven phoned to say the Hibs were a goal up. I couldnae stop masel fi leapin about like an electrocuted salmon. Unsurprisingly, this provoked a few perplexed responses: cue the tattoos! At full-time I phoned Tin Foil to get confirmation that we'd won and did another ecstatic, epileptic moonwalk along Sloper Road. Even got some Bluebirds joining in with 'We Are Hibernian FC' and 'Champions League You're Having A Laugh'! Think I told the whole of Cardiff that 'Hibs beat hertz 2-1 the day, ya phuckin byooteeeeeee!' (cue tattoos again, cue nae bag-off again). Moral of the story, stay away from Cider and amphetamines. It's not big and it's not clever. |
A Radge Private Member
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Casino cash: £1990 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Magic Post. GIRUT
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £300 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Top post, love the bit at the end....GIRUY Yam Fuds ![]()
Casino cash: £6205 vCash: 10000
..."I am the Shape Of Things To Come, the Lord of the Flies, Holder Of The Sword Sinister… The Death-Bringer… I am the one who waits on the edge of your dreams… I am all these things and many more…" |
Van Zanten Ya Radge
Casino cash: £6705 vCash: 24000
I'm pretty curious how they can justify calling us the "Wee Team" when the facts state that over the past decade or so they have won just 2 more games than we have.Is it me or do Hearts fans have an inferiority complex when it comes to us![]() |
Radgesaurus
Casino cash: £276 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Fantastic post. It's great when just bare facts stick it right up them...
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Casino cash: £1464 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
For my sins, I have previously posted a version of the comments which follow in the Other Place, mainly to wind up the aggravating Yams who for reasons best known to themselves choose to lurk there rather than on Sickbag where they would be with their own deluded kind. Thought I might repeat them here... I reckon that far from going on to greater things, this season may well turn out to be the high water mark for Mad Vlad and the Lithuanian mercenaries. It may be all downhill from now on. God knows how many millions have been added to the Yams' overall debt, they have built up the largest first team pool in the SPL, they top the SPL crime table for fouls and cheating, and all for what exactly? The Yams' achievements thus far amount to coming a poor second to a pretty average Sellick team which was nevertheless still good enough to be 17 points clear and uncatchable before the split. They are currently struggling to stay ahead of the worst Huns team in living memory. They were unceremoniously dumped out of the Numpty Cup by relegation-bound Livvy. Admittedly they are going to a Scottish Cup final in May 2006, but against a 2nd Div side and then only courtesy of drawing all their ties at home and having relied on other teams to take out both sides of the Old Firm for them. All season, they have shown themselves once again to be incapable of beating either of the OF teams in Glasgow (a prerequisite for any Scottish team with serious title ambitions). Now, taking all of that into account, which team should we reckon, pound for pound, delivered the better value for money this season - those heavily-subsidised Hodcarriers of Midlithuania or the Wee Gay Dockside team which cost £10K to put together? And which team, by common acclaim, delivered on the entertainment front? Answers on the back of a 32p stamp please to Mad Vlad the team selector, c/o Megalomania Mansions, PBS, Edinburgh.
Loves the Bevy Radge
![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
great post mate