Casino cash: £250 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
hertz - the 'BIG' team?
I don't live in Edinburgh any more, but I used to and I still pop up frequently enough and, invariably, bump into some Jambo acquaintances of mine. Most of them, it has to be said, are alright, they just support their team, however, one or two are grade A vulvas who delude themselves about their club's significance. They believe in this myth that 'hertz are a big team' in the way that a five year old believes in Santa Claus. As I've mentioned on another post, otherwise intelligent, bright, articulate individuals believe that the Pied Piper is some kind of Robert Owen. Sad, deluded muppets.
Anyway, let's consider the proposition 'Heart of Midlothian Football Club: Are They Big, Or Is It Just Another Stool From The Sphincter of Jambo Delusion?' as if it were, say, a higher history essay (I used to be a history teacher, many moons ago). I'm going to write my answer as if I were a nervous spotty seventeen year old virgin again (oh, but i'm sh!te wi burdz, no had my lemon sole since October!) and I'd like everyone else to do the same. When considering the proposition are HMFC a 'big' club (or is it just another stool from the sphincter of jambo delusion) it is necessary initially to define both what a 'big' club is, i.e. the traits you would associate with a truly magnificent institution of sporting excellence and, also, what exactly a 'stool from the sphincter of jambo delusion' is. In terms of objectivity a 'big' football club is a club that not only is located in a major conurbation, such as Edinburgh, but also has the support of a majority of the football going public of that town and attracts, in droves, supporters from other villages, towns and cities in the land. When you consider that only last season the skates' average attendane of approximately 13,400 was actually less than that of their nearest local rivals, Hibernian FC of Leith, a team that the hertz support like to mock as the 'wee team', then this would suggest that HMFC are not as 'big' a club as they like to think they are. Also, when you remember that both major Glasgow clubs, actual 'big' teams, i.e. Rangers and Celtic attract literally thousands of season ticket holders from Edinburgh and its environs, and have club stores located in Auld Reekie's expensive city centre (neither hertz nor that wee team fi Leith do) then this begs the question why do these people give their money to Glasgow clubs when there is such a big, significant team on their doorstep? Another crucial factor in a football club's 'bigness' is of course sporting success on the pitch. Any team that is 'big' surely collects trophies like a philatelist collects stamps? Let us assess hertz record for trophies since the early 60s (I accept that hertz had a period of success in the late 50s but when you remember that that two bit team of ex-cons and junkies near Lochend won three titles and were Britain's European pioneers at the same time then I think you'll agree that the 50s don't really count); since 1960 hertz have won four trophies. Yes, a veritable fab four for the Gorgie boys! The league cup in 1962, the Scottish Cup in 1998 and don't let's forget the two Tennent's Sixes campaigns of 1985 and 1991. Success in football, as in life, is relative so how does this glut of trophies compare with hertz major rivals? Unfortunately I didn't bring my calculator today (this is the history higher, not the Maths one) so I can't work out how many prizes either of Rangers and Celtic have won during that timescale. Suffice to say it's more than four. What of the other lesser fry that the supercilious hertz support rightly disparage? What of them? Well, Aberdeen won twelve domestic trophies and a European one. So that makes thirteen. They also, in 1986 (a year of significance for hertz supporters for some reason, the author of this essay is baffled as to why, I mean, it's not as if they won anything that year!) succeeded hertz as Tennents Sixes Champions, beating St Mirren 3-0 in a classic final. What of the other sides? Well, that small side in green from the east of Edinburgh have won three trophies over the same period, if you include 1990's Tennent's Sixes. In fact, four if you include 2002's Soccer Masters for the over-35s, when they actually beat hertz 3-2 in a section game. So Hibs (an admittedly 'wee' team) have actually won as many trophies as hertz since 1960! Surely then hertz are 'wee' too? Having established that hertz are not actually 'big' because of the reasons cited above (not very large crowds, infrequent trophy success compared with four other clubs in Scotland in the modern era - Dundee Utd have won four proper trophies since 1960) it is now imperative to define 'another stool from the sphincter of Jambo delusion'. Clearly, the usage of the terms 'stool' and 'sphincter' are crucial here; they are not being used literally (however, the aroma that pervades Tynecastle has more than a hint of effluence to it), they are being used as metaphors as, in colloquial terms, most unbiased observes would describe the assertion that hertz are 'big' as a 'bigpileaekeech'. Why is it a 'bigpileaekeech'? Let's consider the various ignominies that have befell hertz over the last 46 years: they have gone into the last day of the season in pole position to win the title twice (in 1965 and 1986) and on both occasions it's ended in tears. They have conceded seven goals at home twice (Dundee won 7-1 during the 64-65 season and the wee team defeated them 7-0 in what was then known as a local derby in 1973). They were relegated three times in five years (1977, 1979 and 1981), the last time it took them two attemps top regain their 'rightful' place in Scotland's elite. They have regularly been knocked out of cups by lower league opposition (Forfar 1981, Montrose 1986, Airdrie 1991). What of Europe? Is that a 'bigpileaekeech' as well? When you consider that, most recently, they couldn't even play their home European games at their matchbox, pink bus shelter of a theatre of stools, but, instead, had to hold their matches at a rugby stadium nearby I think that provides conclusive proof that hertz are 'big' only when their supporters have one hand on their John Thomases and one on a box of Kleenex. To conclude, the writer of this disagrees with the assertion that hertz are a 'big' team and contends that it really is just another stool from the sphincter of Jambo delusion. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
Casino cash: £300 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Re: hertz - the 'BIG' team?
i hate to say it, but they are a bigger team than us, no matter what you look at it
doesn't mean they're better people, though! |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Casino cash: £8160 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
The Jambos obession with size points one thing IMO.
Casino cash: £30563 vCash: 10000
Casino cash: £19304 vCash: 10000
there are two big teams in scotland; celtic and rangers.
the rest is a debate amongst plankton, as two sharks circle amongst us. |
Spooky Admin Radge
Casino cash: £2974 vCash: 10000
I agree with hibadelic. I'm confused as to why scummers are sooooo obsessed with size.
Casino cash: £260 vCash: 255032706 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
Casino cash: £591 vCash: 10000
Size does matter, just ask Linda Lovlace or John Holmes or Paul Hartley because that is why he signed for Hearts because someone told him " Some of the biggest pricks in Scotland play at Tynecastle" ![]() |
Two big fat and ugly sectarian organisations, thirsty for more blood from intolerance and bigotry, who masquerade as football teams.. |
If that's your aspirations jambos then you are welcome to them!!
Illegitimate Yam Feckwit
Inter-toto =WEE Simple really ![]()
Casino cash: £19304 vCash: 10000
Oooooooohhh, Edmund Maroonbladder! Back for some more internet jousting with us lesser 'Hobos' (where the phuck does that come from byt the way? neither am I enamoured with 'yam')?
How long did it take you to mentally formulate that rapier sharp riposte? Do you really believe that one season in the Champions League (cos were it not for the points gained when you were 'Burley's Bufties' as opposed to 'Romanov's Rentboys' no way would you be in contention for second) makes you a 'big' team? Firstly, you have yet to secure that position and, after two successive draws and the fact a defeat would leave them open to accusations of throwing the game, Celtic are likely to be the second team in green to put you to the sword in nine days. Secondly, it is not certain that we'll be particpating in the Inter Toto. We lost to them only a couple of weeks ago but three points at the SSBs on Saturday and 4th place is virtually ours. Do you really think that in a winner takes all showdown at The Lodge on the last day of the season that hertz would secure the necessary result? Do you? No, take your heed out the gluebag before you answer that question? Face facts: hertz are a bigger club than Hibs and therefore bigger than any other club in Scotland, with two very obvious exceptions. However, due to the lop-sided nature of the Scottish league that really means very little. A club whose trophy tally since the early 60s will equal its relegation figure on 13/05/06 thinks that the possibility of runners-up spot this year makes them big? I'm gonnae have to change ma incontinence knickers cos I'm literally pishin masel laughin at your ludicrous, pathetic, short-memory, short-sighted, deluded argument. hertz aren't even a Gulliver in the Scottish game. That's left to the Weegie Terrorists (despite their latest PR exercise, I'd be interested to know how many hospital admissions there were in the west of scotland yesterday). If hertz are a big team then anorexia can be equated with obesity. |
Casino cash: £5390 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Leaving aside Tennent's Sixes which is fitba for lassies here's the count since 1962... Hearts League Cup 1962 League Cup Finalist 1997 Scottish Cup 1998 Scottish Cup Finalists 1968, 1976, 1986, 1996 Hibs Summer Cup Winners 1964 League Cup 1972 & 1991 League Cup Finalists 1969, 1974, 1985, 1993, 2003 Scottish Cup Finalists 1972, 1979, 2001 Drybrough Cup Winners 1972, 1973 Hearts 2 Cups Hibs 5 Cups Hearts 7 finals Hibs 13 finals I think the most telling statistic of all is for all their spending and crowing and headlines and a succession of 'world class' managers - they've still only won 3 more league games than Hibs this season! |
![]() Join Date: May 2003
Casino cash: £694 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
still cant agree with them being the bigger team
yes this season as they were challenging for the league,but what about last season??? hibs had the bigger average gate and dont forget hearts spawned a lot of glory hunters in the 80`s who thought they could support the league winners hibs have never had that as we were shite in the 80`s.Hearts are the same as aberdeen as in that they have held onto some of the fans from the 80`s. they at present are watching internationals and going for qualification for the champions league thats why their crowds are good,but lets go back to even last year when we were both at home in the scottish cup and our crowds v brechin and st mirren blew their crowds out of the water and remember numerous derby games at ER,with hearts selling 1500 tickets,coz they knew we were going to hump them,6-2 etc and trying to say the tickets are too dear well they dont seem to be too dear now do they?? lets try and remember the last time we failed to sell our end at tynie in the league,even though we were expecting defeats,no it hasnt happened since the new tynie was built,there lies the difference we will turn up and support our team regardless of what the result might be,we wont shit ourselves and come out with poor excuses for not going.Put it this way if hearts had our record in the premier league,often finishing bottom half etc and fighting relegation no chance would they have had the support we have managed to hold onto,now scumbos remember"be very careful what u wish for" no hearts in gorgie |
How many of their Season Ticket holders are in heavily subsidised seats..
Well done Firework Phil.. Oh my Counter Sue's.. ![]() |
Big Baldy Radge
Casino cash: £900 vCash: 10000
Anyway, let's consider the proposition 'Heart of Midlothian Football Club: Are They Big, Or Is It Just Another Stool From The Sphincter of Jambo Delusion?' as if it were, say, a higher history essay (I used to be a history teacher, many moons ago). I'm going to write my answer as if I were a nervous spotty seventeen year old virgin again (oh, but i'm sh!te wi burdz, no had my lemon sole since October!) and I'd like everyone else to do the same.
I wrote an essay in reply but the dog ate it. |
Ich bin ein Radge
Casino cash: £396 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Gravy Loving Northern Radge
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Casino cash: £260 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Whats the betting the minute he gets the developers in to redo the main stand and has brought it to the ground, he decides to walk.... and since it's resembling a building site, what do you reckon will be built....
<hr><div style="font-family:Arial;font-size:10pt"><b>Sponsor my 'Tache!</b><br> I am currently taking part in “TacheBack 2006” which means that throughout September I am growing a moustache for charity!<br> This is part of the Everyman campaign, which was founded to raise awareness and money for research into Prostate and Testicular Cancer, the two most common forms of cancer in males aged between 15 and 45.<br> For more information, pictures of the progress being made and to make donations securely online, please visit <a href="http://www.bmycharity.com/V2/tachebank">TacheBank's charity page</a>.<br><hr> </div> |