Old 20-04-06, 10:00   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
On This Day In History

Sorry for continuing to bore everyone with these but, well, when you suffer from a strange mid 80s to mid 90s form of Hibernian-Asperger's syndrome..!

Anyway:
Sat 20.04.85 Hibs 1-1 Dundee Utd
Hibs hosted the Arabs who had cheered up most of Scottish football by emptying Moaning Faced Bastard Ferguson's SSBs from the Cup in a semi-replay at Swinie during the mid-week. I didn't go to this one (Faither was playing golf and wouldn't drive us through from Stra'ven) but listened to the scores coming in on Radio Clyde (I used to love James Sanderson with his comedy weegie helium accent and his penchant for using vocabulary that always had this then 13 year old reaching for the Oxford concise).

The match was also the televisual treat on Arthur 'Stramash' Montford's Scotsport the following day. Hibs were all over Utd in the first half but couldn't get the breakthrough, Willie Irvine (Mark One) having a good game. Seven minutes into the second half and a cross from Willie was headed in at the nearpost by Jukebox and Jock Brown sounded like he was going to cream himself, cue lots of catchphrase, bad English, uncolloquial (is there such a word?) bollocks such as 'the Hibs support rising to their favourites'?! What the feck was that all about? 'Rising to their favourites'? Is that mass stiffies or something?

Anyway, Stuart Beedie equalised for Utd on the hour mark with a low shot under Roughie. Thereafter the game seemed to peter out. However, we'd got as better result against Dundee Utd than the SSBs, that's how this 13 year old saw it.

Sat 20/04/91 Hibs 1-0 Dundee Utd
So, six years to the day and six years to the date, the same fixture, the same venue. Better score for Hibs though.

I was a student in Sheffield at the time, but you could get a train at 8.32am (changing at Donnie) that got you to Edinburgh for about 12.30pm, i.e. enough time to get p!shed before the game! I used to come up once a term and had met up with some Hibbies in The Albion (Big Neil Ramage, his brother Mark, Acky Neill etc). I met them again pre-match but this time was absolutely rubber-ducked, on account of sharing a carriage with a psychotic Geordie, before getting oaf the train.

Funny thing in those days, you could turn up at the turnstiles at ER, reeking like Ollie Reed, and pay at the boys gate. The crowd wasn't much more than 3,500 anyway (this was the season that we only scored more than once in a league game on two occasions all season). I can hardly remember a feckin thing about the match other than I abused Davie Bowman for being a gingerhertzkant all game and that Fellie got the only goal goin up the slope. After about 52 mins.

At the final whistle there was a sense of relief as this was only Hibs' fifth victory a long, disappointing campaign (our final tally would be six).

In time-honoured tradition, I fell asleep on the train and, as the ticket inspector (a tiny wee guy, like an Oompa Loompa wi an authoritarian Jim Farrie-esque muzzie) couldnae wake me up he got the polis on at Newcastle to arrest me. The next thing I knew was two tashes in tit-heads were readin me rights and I just reached in my pocket and pulled my return Edinburgh - Sheffield ticket out. Oh, they werenae happy with that waste of their valuable time! Some auld hector sitting opposite me was p!shin himsel laughin and then telt me I'd been snorin; so feckin what!

Oh aye, drink, trains n Hibs is a lethal combination!
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-06, 10:18   #2

tricky will become famous soon enough
Re: On This Day In History

f****n hell a winning goal by porty boy davie fellenger can't have been many of those although I do recall him scoring a glorious double at brockville, last spotted him huffing and puffing in the pitz sunday league booting young laddies up in the air