![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
What are your expectations of Hibs?
Tony Mowbray isn't good as he thinks he is and Hibs are underachieving acording to the latest mood on the bounce. I think that's pish. Lets look at Hibs in my entire lifetime or to put it another way in a generation.
Since 1982 we have won one trophy, we have qualified for Europe three times, our best league position has been 3rd and that has only been achieved three times 1995, 2000, 2005. That is our record in nearly 25 years. What do you really expect of Hibs? Do you think you are being realistic?
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
Re: What are your expectations of Hibs?
Im happy with fourth. That is the same as what i have seen and im happy with 4th. Even more now that we cant compete with hearts spending power.
I would expect to have a fairly decent season next season if we can get our full team back, I think we are the best team in the league at full flight, we've proved that with some of the results we've had this season when the full 11 have been on the field, the only thing is consistency, and of course lack of depth when it comes to injuries.
Next year will probably be Mogga's last season, so I hope it's one to remember.
The Biggest Baddest Bounciest Radge
But the difference is, we know where our club will stand financially in 5 years time.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
Realistically I expect us to achieve Euro qualification on a 2/3 yearly cycle until we actually strengthen the quality depth of the team.
I expect 1/4 finals of both cup competitions as a minimum, depending on draw,ie avoiding of Rantic. Semis of at least one per season as a wee bonus BUT at least one semi every two years. Finals are an as and when but 3/4 year cycle is acceptable. League,I expect us to be top six minimum no real excuses over the year we should have a strong enough squad to get the points in the bag. I would like to see us hold onto the coat tails of the leaders until probably after xmas it's usually then that the lack of quality and strength in depth is felt the most. I would like to think that ER is a ground that no team wants to come to and get a wee feeling that Rangers and Celtic players don't look forward to their day in the LSS especially over the last few seasons |
OK we can't compete financially with the Sisters but surely we shouldn't be the poor counterpart of the herz ? Well he did save us of sorts, but he had to get his arm twisted to do it, another thing he didn't step in until Edinburgh Hibernian went to the recievers, and there's still doubt as to what he truly thought of the Mercer takeover AT THE TIME. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
There are unproven stories that he was speaking to Mercer at that time
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
All I will say is that STF is a businessman, and a pretty good one at that......You don't get to be like that through not being ruthless. |
I expect nothing..... and receive it in abundance.
Away back to keeckback Radge
Pickled Radge
I expect to meet my mates before the match, have a few beers and a chinwag. After this i expect to proceed to Easter Road to watch the Hibees and then back to the pub to talk about the match/get pissed/stay out too late/ fall out with the wife/ crash at a pals hoose/ grovel to wife the day after etc. The result of the match is always important to me but not as important as having a team to watch and socialise around, throwing money away trying to keep up with the yams is utter folly. Anyone remember how we felt in the summer of 1990? We may not be progressing as fast as some would like but we are making progress. I followed Hibs through the Miller years and if anyone is not happy with the way the club is moving or the football we are playing then may i suggest you do one. I for one am happier at the direction the club is moving in now than i have been for many years. We're not perfect but then who is ?
Libertines Radge
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
Ach well I suppose your right. Lets all just not bother having ambition. Next time we see a shite player in the green lets not moan about it because we are obviously a club with no hope going nowhere. Why should we expect better. Next time Mogga gets no money to spend on players lets just be content with that because we shouldnt expect much from Hibs at all. Mediocre till I die, Yafuckinghoo
I think that Hibs have underachieved big-time over the last 30 years or so, since about the time of the club's centenary in 1975. It may come as a surprise to a lot of younger Hibs fans, but prior to this, Hibs were seen as a very big club, the major threat to the Old Firm, and had a decent reputation in Europe. The key thing of course was that at that time we thought big, and were run as a big club, by a man who knew how great Hibs could be. Tom Hart felt that nothing was too good for Hibs. He wanted the best manager, the best players, and importantly genuine success for the club. He was too loyal to Eddie Turnbull ultimately, and ever since that time the fans expectations have been gradually dumbed down by a succession of little men who looked upon Hibs as just another mid-table club in Scotland like Motherwell, Aberdeen, or Kilmarnock.
We are now at the stage where we feel almost embarrased when we get near to success, and we have a generation of Hibs fans who have been so conditioned to mediocrity and failure, that it doesn't seem right that we should be winning things and challenging the Old Firm. We as a capital city football club, capable of taking 35,000 fans to Hampden, have been shafted from a great height by the custodians of our club for too many years IMO. In our history, the time when we were at our most successful, we have had people like Canon Edward Hannan, Dan McMichael, Harry Swan, and Tom Hart running the show. People with a genuine love for the club, and who knew how great it was. Hibs have plugged along for the last 30 years, with various directors, chairmen, and owners taking the fans tremendous loyalty for granted. We have lacked vision for years at the top. Our great club is currently run by a guy who is no more than an appointee of a man who is not even interested in football, never mind harbours serious ambitions for Hibs to succeed. As I posted yesterday, we need new investment (btw this is the Directors job at any ambitious football club), and IMO new dynamic leadership to take us forward as a club into the next decade. It has to be the right people at the top, before it can be right throughout the rest of the club. We need people who recognise Hibs true potential, and have the drive and energy necessary to achieve that potential. Yes, we have to make sure that we never get into a situation like 1990 again, but that came about through yet another 2 numpties on an ego trip taking the fans for idiots. That must never be allowed to happen again. I believe Hibs should at the very least be a top 3 club every season. When we get to Hampden for Cup Finals and semi's, Hibs should be the team with the hunger and desire to win, not Ayr United and Livingston. That is what we have been reduced to, and we have to recognise that we as a club can achieve so much more than we have done. All it takes is real ambition, a big club mentality coming from the top, proper investment in the youth system and the first team, and hard, hard work. There is no other way to achieve the success we want IMO.
![]() Join Date: Jul 2004
#22 | |
My concern is that we look more likely to hit a snake than continue on the ladders. Mogga appears to feel the same going by his media comments in the past few days. |
#23 | |