Old 16-04-06, 20:36   #1

Casino cash: £260
vCash: 255032706
Mowbray's comments!

I read the News of the World (I bought it for the train, I don't normally read that shite) and they had an interview with Mowbray saying that he didn't want to be at Hibs in 4 years time!

Here is my reply - GOOD!!! I don't want a manager at my club who's ultimate goal is to manage Hibernian!!! I want a manager who is aiming for the very top!!! This can only be good for Hibs as Mogga will be trying 110% to do something at Hibs (i.e. win something or have a great run in Europe) in order to get him noticed by bigger clubs!!!

I want ambitious managers (and players) to manage (and play for) my team, as ultimately it's only going to benefit Hibs as they will try even harder to make Hibs more successful!

And if the West of Scotland press have a problem with this then they can suck my balls!!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 20:40   #2

Re: Mowbray's comments!

Originally Posted by bumblebee
I read the News of the World (I bought it for the train, I don't normally read that shite) and they had an interview with Mowbray saying that he didn't want to be at Hibs in 4 years time!

Here is my reply - GOOD!!! I don't want a manager at my club who's ultimate goal is to manage Hibernian!!! I want a manager who is aiming for the very top!!! This can only be good for Hibs as Mogga will be trying 110% to do something at Hibs (i.e. win something or have a great run in Europe) in order to get him noticed by bigger clubs!!!

I want ambitious managers (and players) to manage (and play for) my team, as ultimately it's only going to benefit Hibs as they will try even harder to make Hibs more successful!

And if the West of Scotland press have a problem with this then they can suck my balls!!!

Brilliant post which makes a good point...thats really cheered me up cos i was quite gutted after reading that report this morning. That's a good way of looking at it and is 100 percent true as far as im concerned
HibeePaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 20:50   #3

Rep Power: 4 colintonhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Whilst i agree Bumblebee about his ambitions. You still dont go in the paper and slag off the quality of players he has in his team like he was today.

That has really pissed me off what will that be like for dressing room morale when players are saying that they are not good enough for the mighty Mogga to manage.
colintonhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 20:53   #4

Casino cash: £2790

Spot on.

It's not a nice thought to think that your club is essentially a stepping stone for those with talent, but we've got to face facts - if someone is doing a good job at Hibs, then a bigger (and by "bigger", I basically mean "richer") club will take them on.

Look at Bobby Williamson - Hibs is the biggest club he's ever going to be in charge of, he seemed to think he'd made it when he took over here...and look at the results that followed.

If Tony Mowbray can get us into Europe regularly during his time here, and (you guessed it) win the C**, then he can feel free to go on to pastures new with the support of all at Hibs. Or I'd hope so, at least.

Last edited by *chops; 17-04-06 at 01:12.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 21:01   #5
Big Jessie Radge

I would've hated to have seen the reaction if a player had said a similiar thing and not Tony"The God"Mowbray.
Old 16-04-06, 21:04   #6

Originally Posted by colintonhibby
Whilst i agree Bumblebee about his ambitions. You still dont go in the paper and slag off the quality of players he has in his team like he was today.

That has really pissed me off what will that be like for dressing room morale when players are saying that they are not good enough for the mighty Mogga to manage.
maybe the players needed that tho!

Apart from a couple, they,ve hardly been great recently!!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
Old 16-04-06, 21:05   #7

Originally Posted by Proclaimers
I would've hated to have seen the reaction if a player had said a similiar thing and not Tony"The God"Mowbray.
I would feel tha same about a player (as long as his ambitions were not along th M 8!!!)

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
Old 17-04-06, 00:20   #8

I think what he said was utterly correct: if in 4 years time we're stilll struggling for 4th spot then we won't have improved in half a decade under him, in which case surely he would have been sacked. Alternatively, we will have moved up to challenge for the champs league and be working with a higher budget, in which case I don't think Sir Tony would leave, in fact I think his comments today suggest this is what he's striving for and feels it is acheivable. What's everyone's problem with a bit of ambition?
ACHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 00:49   #9

Casino cash: £5034

Well said bumblebee. I hadn't really thought of it that way before. I was really pissed off when I read it, but I suppose it can be a good thing too. However, Mowbray saying the midfield is crap without Boozy is a bit extreme, and is the kind of thing left unsaid.
Old 17-04-06, 00:54   #10

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

And you tell the whole wide world, via the press, on the day of a visit to Parkhead?

Mowbray has lost it. (Hopefully only at the moment..)
Old 17-04-06, 01:36   #11
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10410
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Smurf
And you tell the whole wide world, via the press, on the day of a visit to Parkhead?

Mowbray has lost it. (Hopefully only at the moment..)

Exactement my blue skinned chum, his 'interview' was, as we PR experts call it.... a pup.

Pure unadulterated pish

Let's hope he gets his life back on track and refers to himself as "I" rather than "Tony Mowbray"............. the twat.

Knees still jerking.............................

Shrink

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-04-06, 10:59   #12

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink
Exactement my blue skinned chum, his 'interview' was, as we PR experts call it.... a pup.

Pure unadulterated pish

Let's hope he gets his life back on track and refers to himself as "I" rather than "Tony Mowbray"............. the twat.

Knees still jerking.............................

Shrink
Is Tony Mowbray wanting out? Is he publicly airing a disagreement with Rod Petrie?
Old 17-04-06, 11:15   #13
Radge Against The Machine

Casino cash: £326
Rep Power: 7 Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut

Pure unadulterated pish
Au contraire. He has exposed the limitations of our club. He's got ambitions beyond being outspent into third place, relying on Bosmans and training in the local park. And guess what? So do I and, I suspect, so do most Hibees.

He didn't say he doesn;t want to be with Hibs four years from now. What he said is he doesn't want to be battling for fourth place in the SPL four years from now. Quite bloody right.
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 11:23   #14

Casino cash: £3636
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Cowshed Graffiti
Au contraire. He has exposed the limitations of our club. He's got ambitions beyond being outspent into third place, relying on Bosmans and training in the local park. And guess what? So do I and, I suspect, so do most Hibees.

He didn't say he doesn;t want to be with Hibs four years from now. What he said is he doesn't want to be battling for fourth place in the SPL four years from now. Quite bloody right.
I agree, Mowbray has ambitions, if the club cannot meet them, why should he continue to fight a losing battle? Whether he is good enough to make good his ambtion is another matter altogether...
southfieldhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 11:38   #15

Casino cash: £2052

Originally Posted by southfieldhibby
I agree, Mowbray has ambitions, if the club cannot meet them, why should he continue to fight a losing battle? Whether he is good enough to make good his ambtion is another matter altogether...
And whoever replaces him will still have to deal with the financial constraints.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 11:38   #16
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10410
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Cowshed Graffiti

Not much of an exposé though was it? Shock horror there are no hidden millions...
We are pretty quick to lambast the gutter press for their 'unsettling' stories on the eve of games against the Twisted Sisters. Looks like Tony played right into their hands with this one.

You know what these journos are like............

Still sounds like petted lip stuff to me.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 17-04-06, 11:43   #17

Casino cash: £3636
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Pilrig
And whoever replaces him will still have to deal with the financial constraints.
Correct. I'd like to see big Mixu at ER after Mowbray..another young manager who would hopefully play decent football within tight financial constraints. If after 4 years, Mixu thought he could improve himself as a manager at a so called bigger club, good luck to him...the grass isnt always greener etc
southfieldhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 11:57   #18
Radge Against The Machine

Casino cash: £326
Rep Power: 7 Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut

Still sounds like petted lip stuff to me.
Agreed. But maybe it's a good time for him to pet his lip. Negotiations about next season's budget will be ongoing within ER as we speak.
You know what these journos are like............
Gutless, amoral, untrustworthy curs, every single one of them.
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 12:02   #19

Casino cash: £13288
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

God bless Tony Mowbray. The man is obviously so dedicated to his work that he doesn't pay any attention to papers telling him that Hearts are paying £18k per week for a keeper, so he obviously doesn't realise they'll be doon the swanny well before the next 4 years are up. I admire that :

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 17-04-06, 12:33   #20

Casino cash: £4747

Just moved this to a better thread

So an ambitious man is looking for an exit clause cos the puir wee soul is getting outspent for 3rd/2nd/1st place

Awwwww diddums Tony that just the facts of football life unless you are the manager of Chelsea ,Barcelona or Bayern Munich and if you happenned to become the manager of Middlesboro then where exactly do you think you will be come the last game of the season.?

Jousting with Mourinho and Fergie for the Championship or battling with Bolton,Blackburn or Charlton for maybe at best a UEFA Cup place in 7th.

Mowbray seems to be believing his own press which touts him as a totally outstanding young manager who has brought great success to Hibs when in fact all he is is a very good manager who hasn't won a thing or even been close to it.

He has however been responsible for some fantastic results and some shocking defeats but who is now tactically culpable for failing to understand the need for strong central defenders or defensive midfield players but who redeems himself through his refreshing belief in attacking football.

Once he gets his dummy tit back in maybe he could concentrate on rebuilding the team for next season as he has to build a whole defence and shuffle around his new strike force into a cohesive unit.

I admire his honesty and he is only saying (about being 4th) what most of us know though some aren't able to handle but his timing is breathtaking as he knows it's a 50/50 call for Mclaren for England and he is so painfully obviously touting himself for the Middlesboro job while still contracted to Hibs for which he should be ashamed

Ariggo Sachi.

Last edited by SlovSam; 17-04-06 at 12:48.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 13:00   #21

Casino cash: £5432

Good post Sam.....agree with that.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 13:12   #22

Casino cash: £33363
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by colintonhibby

It may be the motivation they need to improve and work on their game - constructive criticism is part of the managers arsenal.

He's back them up plenty times as well so its not browbeating.