Old 16-04-06, 10:16   #1

Its about time Petrie put his cards on the table

Its all becoming clearer why is some quarters within the upper echelons of the club Deek Riordan has become a pariah.

He cost them a potential million pounds not moving to Cardiif

He cost them a potential million to 1.5 million not moving to Lokomotive Moscow.

How much for the Frankfurt knockback.

Come clean now Petrie tell the story how it is. Deek has had stacks of opportunities to rake in cash and has'nt taken them so whats the deal.

IMHO Hibs are saying dont fcuk with us Deek we aint signing you at any price, and trying to make an example of the laddie.

Riordan a Happy Hibee

By Iain Collin

DEREK Riordan last night told how he rejected the “life-changing” £18,000 per week salary offered to Scotland team-mate and childhood friend Garry O’Connor by Lokomotiv Moscow. In a rare interview, the Hibs striker – not out of contract until October – also insisted he will play Intertoto Cup football for the capital club even though that would mean being cup-tied in Europe for a new team.
The darling of the Hibs crowd re-stated his love this week for the team he grew up idolising from the Easter Road terraces, offering up a glimmer of hope that the 23-year-old could be ready to pledge his future to the club he also supports. Tony Mowbray quickly dashed all such thoughts on financial grounds, however Riordan’s decision to turn down the Russians suggests his eventual destination will be chosen for footballing, not money reasons.

Riordan, famed for his feints and shimmies, his dribbles and swerves, was nothing if not direct in his response to the Russians in January.

“I'm happy playing here and I’m still contracted here until October,” he said. “I’m enjoying it here, obviously being a Hibs fan and doing well with Hibs. I didn’t fancy going to Moscow, I’m having a decent season here again, so I’m happy playing here. I just didn’t fancy Moscow at all and didn’t look into it much.

“We’ll see what happens at the end of the season. I’m still contracted until October but it’s not all about money.”

Riordan is adamant he will play every game, including the possible Intertoto Cup ties in early July should Hibs fail to make it into the UEFA Cup through their league placing. Potential suitors may not be too happy at the prospect of their new recruit being cup-tied in Europe but it does not seem to bother Riordan.

“I would play in the Intertoto,” he added. “I want to play in every game I can and I’m happy doing that. I think every player wants to play in every game they can.” Including Scotland’s trip to face Japan and Bulgaria in next month’s Kirin Cup. “Everybody wants to play for their country so I would be delighted to get into that squad.”
Old 16-04-06, 10:19   #2

greencol will become famous soon enough
Re: Its about time Petrie put his cards on the table

Originally Posted by Greenman
Its all becoming clearer why is some quarters within the upper echelons of the club Deek Riordan has become a pariah.

He cost them a potential million pounds not moving to Cardiif

He cost them a potential million to 1.5 million not moving to Lokomotive Moscow.

How much for the Frankfurt knockback.

Come clean now Petrie tell the story how it is. Deek has had stacks of opportunities to rake in cash and has'nt taken them so whats the deal.

IMHO Hibs are saying dont fcuk with us Deek we aint signing you at any price, and trying to make an example of the laddie.

Riordan a Happy Hibee

By Iain Collin

DEREK Riordan last night told how he rejected the “life-changing” £18,000 per week salary offered to Scotland team-mate and childhood friend Garry O’Connor by Lokomotiv Moscow. In a rare interview, the Hibs striker – not out of contract until October – also insisted he will play Intertoto Cup football for the capital club even though that would mean being cup-tied in Europe for a new team.
The darling of the Hibs crowd re-stated his love this week for the team he grew up idolising from the Easter Road terraces, offering up a glimmer of hope that the 23-year-old could be ready to pledge his future to the club he also supports. Tony Mowbray quickly dashed all such thoughts on financial grounds, however Riordan’s decision to turn down the Russians suggests his eventual destination will be chosen for footballing, not money reasons.

Riordan, famed for his feints and shimmies, his dribbles and swerves, was nothing if not direct in his response to the Russians in January.

“I'm happy playing here and I’m still contracted here until October,” he said. “I’m enjoying it here, obviously being a Hibs fan and doing well with Hibs. I didn’t fancy going to Moscow, I’m having a decent season here again, so I’m happy playing here. I just didn’t fancy Moscow at all and didn’t look into it much.

“We’ll see what happens at the end of the season. I’m still contracted until October but it’s not all about money.”

Riordan is adamant he will play every game, including the possible Intertoto Cup ties in early July should Hibs fail to make it into the UEFA Cup through their league placing. Potential suitors may not be too happy at the prospect of their new recruit being cup-tied in Europe but it does not seem to bother Riordan.

“I would play in the Intertoto,” he added. “I want to play in every game I can and I’m happy doing that. I think every player wants to play in every game they can.” Including Scotland’s trip to face Japan and Bulgaria in next month’s Kirin Cup. “Everybody wants to play for their country so I would be delighted to get into that squad.”
Yer in for a long wait Paddy
Old 16-04-06, 10:26   #3

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Aye, don't hold your breath. You may, just may, get a sort of an answer at the next AGM, but it'll be buried in a mountain of computerised number-crunching.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 10:26   #4

Originally Posted by greencol
Yer in for a long wait Paddy
Yep but bet your bottom dollar he's seriously fcuked off at Deeks reluctance to move hence fcuking up his personal 10% bunce in the club. Petrie will continually tell the fans he's keeping the club on a sound financial footing what he does not tell the fans his 10% bunce keeps being banked and making interest.

Oh and one for Archie I'd rather see Petrie fcuk off than Mowbray
Old 16-04-06, 10:37   #5

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
is there a petition for that?
how you not signed the deek one?
Had a look bleary eyed canny find it jimmy where is it
Old 16-04-06, 10:38   #6

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Oh and one for Archie I'd rather see Petrie fcuk off than Mowbray [/quote]

I'm sure 99% of the support would agree with you there. I'd tolerate RP there, cos all said and done, we wont get into financial troubel while he's at the helm, but c'mon Rod show a bit of inmagination. C'mon Sir Tom, have a word with your amigo.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 10:42   #7

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
is there a petition for that?
how you not signed the deek one?
Signed 255
Old 16-04-06, 16:25   #8
An Uncle Radge who knows Uncle Stretch (Heavyweight Version of the Cellic hating Version)

Bukta will become famous soon enough

That'll put a spanner in the works of those who were quoted on here and other sites stating "play him in the Inter-Toto to spite him"....

Seems he's happy enough to do so anyway and forsake European football for another club if it means actually getting to play in Europe for Hibs again.
Old 16-04-06, 20:04   #9

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by James Riordan
That'll put a spanner in the works of those who were quoted on here and other sites stating "play him in the Inter-Toto to spite him"....

Seems he's happy enough to do so anyway and forsake European football for another club if it means actually getting to play in Europe for Hibs again.
James I hope you are passing onto young Deek that the fans are pretty well behind him. It is a pleasure watching the likes of Deek and Broonaldo who have the ability and talent to do the unexpected. That's what puts bums on seats..........And oh aye, wins you games. We have the best young talent at Easter Road for decades who in the case of Deek is a self professed Hibs fans. The board should be bitting his hand off to agree a decent contract that rewards him for his talent, gives him time to develop and means everyone would be a winner when it is time to move on.

It just seems so simple really.
Old 16-04-06, 20:39   #10
An Uncle Radge who knows Uncle Stretch (Heavyweight Version of the Cellic hating Version)

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs
James I hope you are passing onto young Deek that the fans are pretty well behind him. It is a pleasure watching the likes of Deek and Broonaldo who have the ability and talent to do the unexpected. That's what puts bums on seats..........And oh aye, wins you games. We have the best young talent at Easter Road for decades who in the case of Deek is a self professed Hibs fans. The board should be bitting his hand off to agree a decent contract that rewards him for his talent, gives him time to develop and means everyone would be a winner when it is time to move on.

It just seems so simple really.
Oh but they cannae dae that & ehm.......

It's a lot simpler than people think. Except Hibs it would appear.
Old 16-04-06, 21:20   #11

The Dandy Highwayman will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by James Riordan

Forsake???

The only chance he has of playing in Europe next season is by moving to Glasgow as there's no danger any premiership or top european teams will be interested in him.

Great player for Hibs but the championship or the weedge is as good as he'll get.... especially if he's not willing to better himself (career and lifestyle) in Europe.
The Dandy Highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 22:04   #12

madhibee is on the way to a first team debut

I really i'm fed up with this whole stupid scenario. Here we have one of the most talented players to be seen at Easter Rd for many a year, and a die hard Hibby to boot. Who seems to be saying he wants to stay at Hibs, yet we won't sign him. It's become pretty obvious that it's not all about money for Deeks as he could've been off earning mega bucks by now. So why hasn't he signed? I hate having to think thisbut I really think it has something to do with a personality clash between thoses behind the scenes (ala Petrie and Mowbray). I have the utmost respect for Mowbray (apart from some of his recent comments) but I think that is why. Pains me to say it, really does.

Deek was all set to sign a contract when Williamson left( ) and Mowbray came in, this was then stalled by Mowbray because he hadn't had a chance to assess him. Now surely all that needed to be done was look at a couple of videos and watch him in training a few times, and Deek's talent would be clear to see. But no. It then seemed to go quiet for a few months, and then the contract Deeks WAS going to sign turned out not to be good enough. Had it been changed as Mowbray thought he wasn't worthy of it? Or had Deek's estimations gone up? Or was there a falling out between Deeks and Mogga? This I reckon could be the most likely scenario. There was a point when Mowbray was constantly praising Deeks then all of sudden his workrate ain't good enough and he's gettin subbed. Most likely we'll never find out the real story. Sad to see such a talent being (or looks to being) treated as he is.

Think all my facts about contract were right?

A wee Deek must stay chant for ER on sunday?
By Hibees in thier Arcady!

Glory, Glory..
madhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 11:27   #13

Johnpoland is on the way to a first team debut

Heard at the time that there was a "heated exchange" between Mowbray and Riordan in the dressing room at half time in the third derby. (Mowbray was reading the riot act to all the players, Riordan told him to ***k off). Suggests a certain personality clash.

Question I'd ask is, what is the origin of this, and what could Riordan have done/do to bury the hatchet himself? He's fully entitled to protect his own financial and footballing interests, but as a Hibs player/fan, should he be more prepared to give and take with the manager in place?

I ask all this without knowing the whole story, but if it is a non-financial/non-footballing issue, surely it's up to both parties to deal with it in a more constructive way. Ultimately too, Mowbray's his boss, and all of us in more conventional lines of work know that it's the one further down the pecking order who generally has to tolerate the "superior", rather than the other way round. Guess it can't really be that different in football.

Without wanting to invade anyone's privacy, I think it would make a lot of Hibs fans a lot happier to know what's really going on, rather than leaving everyone to speculate.
Johnpoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-06, 12:17   #14

Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Johnpoland
Without wanting to invade anyone's privacy, I think it would make a lot of Hibs fans a lot happier to know what's really going on, rather than leaving everyone to speculate.
There was "paper talk" a while ago saying that deek only wanted to be paid the same as the other highest earners at the club but that because a contract had been more or less agreed the club wouldnt alter it to increase the money to him. If (and I emphasise if) that is the case then it is a disgrace. Nobody can deny deek is a special talent and should be paid as much as anyone at the club but it would seem that the boards intransigence is going to drive him away. TM should be sticking up for Deek, he is after all the mans mentor now and should be there for him.

Rumours abound about differences between deek and TM, personality clashes perhaps and whilst both should know better its the older and wiser one of the two who should bite the bullet and sort this out, hes supposed to be looking after deeks interests at the club not the other way round.

I'm with you on this one, we can speculate until the cows come home but we need the real truth from someone inside ER to set the record straight on this, as it is, it looks like no-one inside ER gives a toss about Deek or indeed the wishes and desires of the Hibs faithful.

Old 17-04-06, 12:28   #15

Originally Posted by Johnpoland
Heard at the time that there was a "heated exchange" between Mowbray and Riordan in the dressing room at half time in the third derby. (Mowbray was reading the riot act to all the players, Riordan told him to ***k off). Suggests a certain personality clash.

Question I'd ask is, what is the origin of this, and what could Riordan have done/do to bury the hatchet himself? He's fully entitled to protect his own financial and footballing interests, but as a Hibs player/fan, should he be more prepared to give and take with the manager in place?

I ask all this without knowing the whole story, but if it is a non-financial/non-footballing issue, surely it's up to both parties to deal with it in a more constructive way. Ultimately too, Mowbray's his boss, and all of us in more conventional lines of work know that it's the one further down the pecking order who generally has to tolerate the "superior", rather than the other way round. Guess it can't really be that different in football.

Replace all the players with Riordan and you're getting there.