Old 15-04-06, 17:04   #1

OxgangsHibby is on the way to a first team debut
17 Years Ago Today .........

FROM A LIVERPOOL FANS FORUM

A Terrace Called Leppings Lane.

Check the tickets in my wallet,
Then swig my cup of tea,
7.30 in the morning,
One game from Wembley.

Out the door and on the street,
Off to meet the boys,
To sing the songs we love to sing,
When we fill the ground with noise.

The coach pulls up and we all pile on,
Belly full of butterflies,
Then off to Sheffield we all go,
The FA Cup our prize.

9.00am and the songs have started,
I talk about the game,
To a young lad that’s sat next to me,
I didn’t catch his name.

The journeys taking hours,
And we cross the Pennine hills,
But my mind drifts off to Hillsborough,
As I dream of Beardsley’s skills.

“My favourite players Aldo”
Says the boy sat next to me,
His eyes full of excitement,
And his words are filled with glee.

“I’m meeting me mate when I get to the ground”
“He’s travelling up by train”
“I’ll see you back here on the coach”
“When we’ve beaten Forest again”.

The coach pulled up and off he went,
Going to meet his friend,
I check my ticket once again,
‘THE LEPPINGS LANE END’.

It’s getting near to kick off,
And I’m getting close to the ground,
But nobody seems to be moving,
And I’m stuck tight in this crowd.

I’m just about starting to panic,
Then a bizzie opens a gate,
A red tide moves down a tunnel,
Moving closer to their fate.

I remember clearly that tunnel,
And the light that shone at the end,
And as I think back to that fateful day,
I still can’t comprehend.

That the coppers called us vandals,
And drunken loutish liars,
And the media fed us spite and hate,
When compassion was required.

But back to that day and the things I saw,
Unfold before my eyes,
The sight of grown men screaming
As the air was filled with cries.

But I was one of the lucky ones,
Because I came back alive,
I watched heroes in scarves down on the pitch,
Trying helplessly to revive -
Their friends their family and strangers,
Who’d all come to watch a game,
But their lives were crushed that fateful day,
On a terrace called Leppings Lane.

The memories still haunt me,
Every time I go to sleep,
But there is one memory that gets me,
And always makes me weep.

Back on the coach with my head on the glass,
I remember my heart skipped a beat,
When I turned to the young lad next to me,
And I noticed his empty seat.

There were 96 empty seats that day,
96 friends that we’ve lost,
And while Kelvin counted his pennies,
The families counted the cost.

So next time you are at Anfield,
Visit the eternal flame,
Feel the stone cold marble,
And touch a person’s name.

And whilst you say a silent prayer,
And your dreams are tossed and blown,
Remember those 96 empty seats,
That must never walk alone.

Justice for the 96.

You'll Never Walk Alone.

OxgangsHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:14   #2
Bad Moon Radge-ing

ECKtheHIBEE is on the way to a first team debut
Re: 17 Years Ago Today .........

Very sad

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
ECKtheHIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:16   #3
Bad Moon Radge-ing

ECKtheHIBEE is on the way to a first team debut

On that note, does anyone know where i can get any of the old news footage of the events? I was only 4 at the time and cant remeber much if anything about it.

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
ECKtheHIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:25   #4
Roots Rock Radge

Dunc89 will become famous soon enough

Were there any minute silences at any games today for it?
Old 15-04-06, 17:39   #5

dawo_c is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Dunc89
Were there any minute silences at any games today for it?
Sheffield Wednesday Vs Norwich at Hillsborough today and Liverpool will have one against Blackburn tomorrow

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:44   #6

OxgangsHibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by ECKtheHIBEE
On that note, does anyone know where i can get any of the old news footage of the events? I was only 4 at the time and cant remeber much if anything about it.
dunno of anywhere mate, but then I have'nt really looked but u can read loads on it via the internet . It makes for a shocking read.

17 years and still no justice for the 96.

OxgangsHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:54   #7

Didn't realise how much The Sun is hated in Liverpool

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
Old 15-04-06, 17:58   #8

This is the
site

Old 15-04-06, 18:38   #9
Grumpy Auld Wimmin wi ATTITUDE ya Radges

NaeTechnoHibby is on the way to a first team debut

I watched that oan telly at the time and was numbed.

Still affects so many people.

All seaters may affect the atmosphere but they have saved lives IMO.

Policing at games hasnae improved so that its just as well they are all seated IMHO.
NaeTechnoHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 18:43   #10

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by dawo_c

Didn't realise how much The Sun is hated in Liverpool
Justified too. I still refuse to buy The Sun because of what they wrote that day. It was beyond the usual tabloid nonsense.

The Sun is a paper that consistly hates Scots and anyone from north of the Watford gap. Thats why they write stuff like that.

Racist Cocknified pish where the biggest tits in it are the ones who write the articles.

And Wayne Rooney can go f*ck himself for selling his story to a scummy newspaper like that. He stabbed his local city in the back and he knows it.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 18:46   #11
Roots Rock Radge

It was the day after i was born, my mum still gets really upset about it.
Old 15-04-06, 18:47   #12
Roots Rock Radge

Originally Posted by pilrig70
Justified too. I still refuse to buy The Sun because of what they wrote that day. It was beyond the usual tabloid nonsense.

The Sun is a paper that consistly hates Scots and anyone from north of the Watford gap. Thats why they write stuff like that.

Racist Cocknified pish where the biggest tits in it are the ones who write the articles.

And Wayne Rooney can go f*ck himself for selling his story to a scummy newspaper like that. He stabbed his local city in the back and he knows it.
Good shout, The Sun is scum.
Old 15-04-06, 18:54   #13

nabser will become famous soon enough

If anyone wants to know about that day read the book Hillsborough The Truth by Phil Scraton.
nabser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 19:06   #14
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I can remember the response of the American sports media to that day's horrible tragedy. The media here placed the blame squarely on the FA for allowing a situation in the 1980's where a supporter could show up and not have a seat designated to that particular ticket. The local LA sportcaster at the time (Jim Hill I believe), went on to lambast the authorities saying it was a miracle that it actually didn't happen weekly given the state of the stadia in terms of crowd access and egress which bordered on the criminal given the amount of money being made by the clubs themselves at that time.

May the souls of those lost and their families find some comfort. RIP.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 19:15   #15

Naked Chef will become famous soon enough

Am now wishing I'd read that before I put my mascara on. Tragic
Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 19:20   #16

Halifaxfan is on the way to a first team debut

I posted that on the Halifax board last year, the guy who wrote it then sent me a pm.

I dont seem to have the pm but i seem to remember he saying he wasnt there but wrote that baised on fans that was there.

A very moving story though and i have a lot of mates that support liverpool and i will say RIP to the 96
Old 16-04-06, 06:49   #17

LeGod4 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by OxgangsHibby
FROM A LIVERPOOL FANS FORUM

A Terrace Called Leppings Lane.

Check the tickets in my wallet,
Then swig my cup of tea,
7.30 in the morning,
One game from Wembley.

Out the door and on the street,
Off to meet the boys,
To sing the songs we love to sing,
When we fill the ground with noise.

The coach pulls up and we all pile on,
Belly full of butterflies,
Then off to Sheffield we all go,
The FA Cup our prize.

9.00am and the songs have started,
I talk about the game,
To a young lad that’s sat next to me,
I didn’t catch his name.

The journeys taking hours,
And we cross the Pennine hills,
But my mind drifts off to Hillsborough,
As I dream of Beardsley’s skills.

“My favourite players Aldo”
Says the boy sat next to me,
His eyes full of excitement,
And his words are filled with glee.

“I’m meeting me mate when I get to the ground”
“He’s travelling up by train”
“I’ll see you back here on the coach”
“When we’ve beaten Forest again”.

The coach pulled up and off he went,
Going to meet his friend,
I check my ticket once again,
‘THE LEPPINGS LANE END’.

It’s getting near to kick off,
And I’m getting close to the ground,
But nobody seems to be moving,
And I’m stuck tight in this crowd.

I’m just about starting to panic,
Then a bizzie opens a gate,
A red tide moves down a tunnel,
Moving closer to their fate.

I remember clearly that tunnel,
And the light that shone at the end,
And as I think back to that fateful day,
I still can’t comprehend.

That the coppers called us vandals,
And drunken loutish liars,
And the media fed us spite and hate,
When compassion was required.

But back to that day and the things I saw,
Unfold before my eyes,
The sight of grown men screaming
As the air was filled with cries.

But I was one of the lucky ones,
Because I came back alive,
I watched heroes in scarves down on the pitch,
Trying helplessly to revive -
Their friends their family and strangers,
Who’d all come to watch a game,
But their lives were crushed that fateful day,
On a terrace called Leppings Lane.

The memories still haunt me,
Every time I go to sleep,
But there is one memory that gets me,
And always makes me weep.

Back on the coach with my head on the glass,
I remember my heart skipped a beat,
When I turned to the young lad next to me,
And I noticed his empty seat.

There were 96 empty seats that day,
96 friends that we’ve lost,
And while Kelvin counted his pennies,
The families counted the cost.

So next time you are at Anfield,
Visit the eternal flame,
Feel the stone cold marble,
And touch a person’s name.

And whilst you say a silent prayer,
And your dreams are tossed and blown,
Remember those 96 empty seats,
That must never walk alone.

Justice for the 96.

You'll Never Walk Alone.

RIP

One footnote...what about Justice for the 39 fans who were killed at Heysel.

LeGod4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-06, 09:28   #18
Ich bin ein Radge

Dr.Gonzo has a spectacular aura about

Yeah I'm the same age. It's hard to find anything, and on the BBC 'On This Day' website yesterday they never had the usual video reports or anything like that. It's probably been blocked by the courts due to the ongoing legal preceedings.

There was a 'reconstruction' done back in the late 90s by the BBC though IIRC. I think the programme was simply called 'Hillsborough'.

From what I can gather, the Sun summed up what they were all about the day after. They forgot that it is a shit redtop rag, and they stabbed the readership they claim to represent in the back in reporting on that issue. ****s.
Old 16-04-06, 09:32   #19

CCTV/Media footage - no sound but you can see the struggle happening before your very eyes