Old 15-04-06, 13:31   #1

More Mowbray backtracking

The guys beginning to look like he's becoming economical with the truth IMHO.

Smith goes in papers saying he's away next year not being offered contract. Mowbray then counters thats not what I said.

Similar situation to Deeks. One thing becoming very clear here If Mogga takes a dislike to you yer fcuked

The 35-year-old's contract finishes at the end of this campaign and he revealed in one newspaper that the Hibs boss will not be offering him a new deal.

But Mowbray, who will lose stopper Gary Caldwell to Celtic at the end of the season, seemed to backtrack when quizzed about the former Aberdeen defender's future.

He said: "Gary Smith has done a fantastic job for me in the past two years. He is a superb professional and a great example to the young players around the ground.

"My conversation with him did not exactly go along those lines (that Smith would be leaving) but if Gary is saying that he is going to leave then we will wait until the summer and see what happens.

"Gary knows that with Gary Caldwell leaving we need to bring in a centre-half and that position needs reinforcing.

"I know Gary wants to further his career in management and coaching and he did intimate to me that if he could find a coaching post and continue his playing career that is something that he would want to do.

"I said to him that the door is not closed here and if he does not have better options then Hibs might still be an option for him in the summer.

"But if he wants to go down the coaching route then I would wish him all the best. He has a good character and a good personality for it."

Hibs travel to Celtic on Sunday in the Bank of Scotland Premier League and Mowbray, whose side have yet to beat the Hoops in three meetings this season, is looking for another intriguing battle between two like-minded sides.

He said: "Celtic, like Hibs, are a very positive team who attack and play attractive football.

"It is just the way that Celtic play and their supporters expect them to be positive and attack-minded.

"I will leave it up to other people to judge for themselves if matches between Hibs and Celtic are attractive and decent games of football.

"But it is usually an open game when we play them as we both like to play forward passes and score goals."

So no coaching job at ER for Smith.

Old 15-04-06, 13:36   #2

Re: More Mowbray backtracking

Are you saying we should make a coaching position
specially available for Smudger

I really like the guy as a player, but as TM and MV are
both still learning their trade, the last thing they need
is someone else trying to learn under them. Good luck
to Gary if he goes, but we can't afford to be too
sentimental about every player that decides he wants
to try pastures new.

Bill Oddies Beard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 13:39   #3

Originally Posted by brianmac

to try pastures new.

He couldnt be any worse than Mogga and Venus at coaching the defence

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 13:53   #4

Originally Posted by brianmac

to try pastures new.
Naw the point of my thread is IMHO Mogga lies too much.

The guy is very good at telling people exactly what they want to hear, the lemmings follow, That can be taught in a classroom.

He had a go at Riordans newspaper article when Deek said he wanted to stay at ER. Mowbray then castigated Deek for telling the fans only what they wanted to hear, that's rich from a guy who conducts all of his business in that manner.

Don't get yourself caught up in all that Mogga is a god routine like the rest of the lemmings He's not as good as he thinks he is, and not always right.

Your point on Venus, he's the man that makes the partnership work I sit behing the Hibs dugout at ER Venus knocks his pan in all day whereas Mowbray does fcukall but moan.

Mowbray will be off like a hoors knickers at the first opportunity believe me

Old 15-04-06, 14:31   #5

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Originally Posted by Greenman
Your point on Venus, he's the man that makes the partnership work I sit behing the Hibs dugout at ER Venus knocks his pan in all day whereas Mowbray does fcukall but moan.

Maybe the smell o pish is coming from him.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 16:15   #6

Archie will become famous soon enough

The guy is very good at telling people exactly what they want to hear, the lemmings follow, That can be taught in a classroom.

He had a go at Riordans newspaper article when Deek said he wanted to stay at ER. Mowbray then castigated Deek for telling the fans only what they wanted to hear, that's rich from a guy who conducts all of his business in that manner.

Don't get yourself caught up in all that Mogga is a god routine like the rest of the lemmings He's not as good as he thinks he is, and not always right.

Where are the lies? Gary Smith gives a version of events and Tony gives his - yet Mowbury lies? I don't think Mogga is perfect, but he's a breath of fresh air at our club. But you seem to have it in for him - why? Do you want to drive him out?
Archie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 17:18   #7

kev1875 is on the way to a first team debut

IMHO it should be Petrie coming out and telling us what is happening with contracts, not Mowbray. I doubt even Mowbray knows the full details of the offers made to Deek or anyone else.
Old 15-04-06, 17:19   #8

Originally Posted by Archie
Where are the lies? Gary Smith gives a version of events and Tony gives his - yet Mowbury lies? I don't think Mogga is perfect, but he's a breath of fresh air at our club. But you seem to have it in for him - why? Do you want to drive him out?
Call it as I see it, why would I have it in for him if I did, I talk about his pish signings, Williamson type substitutions and tactics,

You like many other lemmings are in awe of Moggas very cleverly contrived statements in the media the noises the believers want to hear,

Smith said in the press he would not be offered a contract.

Mowbrays response in a backtracking exercise was "thats not what I said". On the basis of probability as the judge once said to me in the Sherrif Court someones a lying bastird,

I believe that someone to be Mowbray

If he Mowbray fcuked off tommorow cest la vie that wont affect my life

Old 15-04-06, 17:34   #9

Call it as I see it, why would I have it in for him if I did, I talk about his pish signings, Williamson type substitutions and tactics,

You like many other lemmings are in awe of Moggas very cleverly contrived statements in the media the noises the believers want to hear,

Mowbrays response in a backtracking exercise was "thats not what I said". On the basis of probability as the judge once said to me in the Sherrif Court someones a lying bastird,

Well if you don't have it in for him I'd hate to see it if you did!
Old 15-04-06, 18:15   #10

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

Mowbray comes across as 100% honest to me.

Most top flight professional players on the other hand are a lying bunch of chancers when it comes to contract talks and say whatever their agents tell them to say.

The honest pro is a rarity. There's too much money involved.
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 18:23   #11

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Come back Wee Fat Boab, all is forgiven !
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 18:32   #12

The funny thing is, lemmings don't throw themselves off cliffs - it's a myth. The moral - don't believe all you read in the papers - or hear in the pub!
Old 15-04-06, 20:10   #13

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

Aye it would. It would affect Hibs, and hence have an impact on your life, surely?

It seems to me that all the snipers are coming out to pick holes in Tony Mowbray just now. Where were they last season, when the same weaknesses in his management style were apparent? Nowhere, because we were doing well ( and not that much better than we are just now, btw )

We're still the best skint team in the SPL, which is, in my opinion, mainly due to Tony Mowbray.

People are not "lemmings" because they're willing to go along with Tony Mowbray. He's earned that through his conduct since he arrived at the club in my opinion.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 20:36   #14

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

It wouldn't be the first bit of Mowbray backtracking from the man who gave us the rubbish about 'Riordan has been offerred the best ever contract in Hibs history' a statement hastily withdrawn the following day

However I can't see what he has done that much wrong here and if Gary Smith thinks he has another season left in a Top 6 club then I think he is sadly deluded.

He could easily last a season or two at one of his former clubs such as Falkirk or St Mirren might be a good shout but if Hibs want to maintain a top 6 position as a team challenging for Europe then the defence needs to be completely restructured and freeing up another salary is the best way forward.

It is worrying though that Mowbray seems to hint that another deal might be on the horizon which tends to indicate that both his hands are tied budget wise but also that he seems to have learnt very little from the exposure of the defence time and time again this season.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-06, 21:02   #15

The Smith situation is a strange one. I was not surprised earlier this week to read that he was not going to get another contract with Hibs. He is finished IMO at the top level in Scottish Football, and you only have to look at his performance in the semi against Hearts to see that.

Mowbrays comments would appear to indicate that there may still be a contract in the offing, but I would be amazed if that was the case. I can see Smith ending up back at Falkirk helping out Yogi with the coaching.

He has been part of a poor Hibs defence, and has been said already, we need to start building from the back with better defensive players if we are to make any decent progress next season.
Old 15-04-06, 22:08   #16
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Bit harsh IMO. Certainly better than the last person to sit in the dug out. Where's the evidence that he's lying & everyone else isnae?. Think you'll find "spin" works both way. But aye I suppose he must be shite. top 6 for the 2nd year on the bounce. Looking good for 4th place with only half a team left going into the split.
under 3 teams with vast resources
Expectation levels need managed I think
Old 15-04-06, 22:10   #17

Originally Posted by SlovSam
It wouldn't be the first bit of Mowbray backtracking from the man who gave us the rubbish about 'Riordan has been offerred the best ever contract in Hibs history' a statement hastily withdrawn the following day
I was surprised when I heard that (given the huge salaries before - Tam McManus on £4.000 a week anyone) but it was clearly a slip of the tongue and not, as some here would have, evidence of lies.
Old 15-04-06, 22:48   #18

Originally Posted by Billythehibby
Bit harsh IMO. Certainly better than the last person to sit in the dug out. Where's the evidence that he's lying & everyone else isnae?. Think you'll find "spin" works both way. But aye I suppose he must be shite. top 6 for the 2nd year on the bounce. Looking good for 4th place with only half a team left going into the split.
under 3 teams with vast resources
Expectation levels need managed I think
Where anywhere on the board have I said Mowbray must be shite

Dream on

Old 16-04-06, 11:13   #19

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
The Smith situation is a strange one. I was not surprised earlier this week to read that he was not going to get another contract with Hibs. He is finished IMO at the top level in Scottish Football, and you only have to look at his performance in the semi against Hearts to see that.

Mowbrays comments would appear to indicate that there may still be a contract in the offing, but I would be amazed if that was the case. I can see Smith ending up back at Falkirk helping out Yogi with the coaching.

He has been part of a poor Hibs defence, and has been said already, we need to start building from the back with better defensive players if we are to make any decent progress next season.
So must half of the other players on that day.
I'm sad to see this slagging of Gary Smith who in my opinion has been one of only a few Hibs players to show any kind of consistency this season
Old 16-04-06, 12:45   #20

Originally Posted by Forzahibs
So must half of the other players on that day.
I'm sad to see this slagging of Gary Smith who in my opinion has been one of only a few Hibs players to show any kind of consistency this season
I'm not slagging Gary Smith as a player. He has been a good professional and given Hibs excellent service in the last six years, but he is finished IMO. His performance against Hearts was that of a player no longer able to play at the top level, and i'm sure if he was being honest, he would be the first to admit that. It was the senior players who were most culpable on that day, Smith, Caldwell, Glass, and Malkowski. All four ought tio have had along, hard look at themselves after that debacle.